Mick Mcguane to Richmond?

Has anyone heard whether or not Mick has been appointed as an asistant at tigerland? I know his coaching job at Balwyn has ended as they have just appointed Daniel Harford. After seeing that today, I remember hearing a while back that the tiges were looking to gain his services.

He could go alright, he's a bit of a nutty professer, he does know his stuff. Can't we get Terry Daniher in to teach these blokes some good old fashion country discipline. I played at Wagga Tigers under him for 6 years and know matter how big the function he was out on the track first thing next morning. The guy was a freak. I think he'd be a great influence on guys like the steamer who need to learn how to balance football annd the good life.

i think his links to undergound figures may have killed that off

There's probably some witty comment surrounding your post tx2 that's just dying to come out, but I've got the flu and am a little slow, so here's just a random photo of Alphonse Gangitano.

0540387900ar2.jpg

Has anyone heard whether or not Mick has been appointed as an asistant at tigerland? I know his coaching job at Balwyn has ended as they have just appointed Daniel Harford. After seeing that today, I remember hearing a while back that the tiges were looking to gain his services.
I herd Greg Miller on monday saying it was hard for Mick to be on the radio and be at richmond going by what he was saying Mick won't be at richmond which is a pity

It cant be argued that McGuane has left Balwyn to go to an AFL club. My sources tell me that he will infact take over Rawlings' assistant coach position.

watch this space

Gday guys, first time poster, jus want to say i actually played with balwyn this yr under mick...the guy is a freak of a coach...has the best footy brain ive come across...im a richmond supporter and the tigers wud b lucky to have him...great bloke aswell, would be very valuable around the younger guys at the club

:thumbsu: Great to hear.

I too think he'd be excellent.

Indeed, he coached Burnie which isnt far from me, to a premiership or 2 from memory.

No complaints about him. Seemed like a good bloke.

Would be a good choice.

He was on our coaching board part time. i believe it was last year but left for the stKilda job. Like said earlier has a very good football brain.

Was well regarded in the 12 months he spent with the Saints, especially by the players for his practical knowledge and work on the training track.

Would be a good pickup for the Tiges, as he would work well with the young list.

Has slowly been building his coaching resume:

2000-01 - coach of Burnie (NTFL) in Tasmania; won a premiership in '01
2002-04 - coach of Gisborne in Victoria (Bendigo League); won premierships in '02 and '03
2005 - part-time assistant at Richmond under Terry Wallace
2006 - assistant coach at St Kilda (midfield) under Grant Thomas
2007 - coach of Balwyn (EFL Div 1) and media work with Sport927

Has clear senior coaching ambitions at AFL level, and wants to coach his own AFL club at some stage.

Wasn't all that impressed at first as I see Mick as pretty old school.
I am coming around though, as I think Mick's "contacts" could come in handy.

"Danny Meyer you'd better pull your finger out or I'll get Alphonse Gangitano to measure you up for some concrete boots."

Wasn't all that impressed at first as I see Mick as pretty old school.
I am coming around though, as I think Mick's "contacts" could come in handy.

"Danny Meyer you'd better pull your finger out or I'll get Alphonse Gangitano to measure you up for some concrete boots."
Does Mick run seances?

Just a bit of a giggle mate, never intended to be an accurate observation - plus it's harder to offend those who have departed, unless you believe in that sort of thing of course.