Mick's last chance!!

Collingwood_Forever

Dec 9, 2004
How Much more can Mick get out of this list?

I don't want to be pesimistic about the season ahead, because I have nothin less than big expectations of a top 8 berth for Collingwood this year, however I do want to address a few points on Mick Malthouse. Mick has made many mistakes if you really look at it. I admit he took an average list to 2 consecutive GF's, however from the day of the 03 GF, he's really lost me. Saying that Jason Cloke had a better GF in 02 when he wasnt playing was really a disgrace. Especially when he played him up forward all day, and we all know he can't play there. Mick won't die until he succeeds in turning Jason Cloke into a CHF. But there's one problem, HE'S NOT!!!!!!!

Also to look at the West Coast recruiting we have got. You look at Williams and Morisson. OK they have both had positive starts to '05 with desent pre seasons, but how bout a bloke that has slipped under MM's guard. I speak of none other than Callum Chambers. Surrely this kid having been drafted in 97 shouldve been on our list of players to chase. And look at wht the Blues had to give up for him. A late draft choice. We should've given McGough for him. Just little things that annoy me and really makes me wonder why we're paying this guy such big dollars.

For me this is his last chance and if the Pies can't make the 8 this year, we should get a new coach in there as this will be his 6th season. He's taken this list to 2 consecutive GF's and we have fallen short once by a little and second time round, we were embarassed. I don't think Mick could do much more after this season unless we make some positive steps forward, and I mean making the top 8, nothing less!!!!!

simo said:
He dose is best work the first five years,but not much the next five. :D

True, but he is a top quality coach, who can make it happen. I had a big go at him last year, but that was last year. He has developed Walker and Maxwell as good defenders, while Davis is looking good through the midfield, and expect the rise from young gun Julian Rowe.

Please..........some sanity is required here !

What, you reckon MM should get the bullet after 1 below par season.....for christs sake the club didn't implode in 2004 and got more game time into players than expected due to the higher injury count than in previous years !

Sorry for being a slight optimist, but we are far better placed than some of you give us credit for....I'm personally very happy with our stocks of KPP.....lively flankers cum midfielders take less time and can bloom in less than half a season as witnessed by Rowe efforts in the last few rds of 2004.

MM is a master teacher and has a shrewd assistant in McKenna. Brown, enuff said, and Fletcher who never left anything on the ground !!

They will ensure a far more competitive & prepared unit for 2005 !!

silverphoenix said:
Yakka, Rusling and here's the smokey for ya'll Dal Santo...

Now there's optimism. Last time I checked Dal Santo played for St Kilda and our recent track record of luring 'name' recruits doesn't exactly fill me with any sort of belief that he'll ever play for Collingwood.

Pedro said:
Now there's optimism. Last time I checked Dal Santo played for St Kilda and our recent track record of luring 'name' recruits doesn't exactly fill me with any sort of belief that he'll ever play for Collingwood.

But now we have the competition HOOK, line and sinker... ;)

I'm not saying that we should get rid of ihm for one bad season. We have to look at what he has done in terms of recruiting and letting good players go for virtually nothing. I'm telling ya, if the Pies aren't in the 8 this year. He's lost me, we should go and get Blight or Pagan.

I cant imagine pagan leaving the blues for the pies, hes been their a few years and done the hard work at the bottom of the ladder and now is just the beggining of the rise back up, this would be pagans most exciting time, i couldnt imagine him ditching that group.

As for blight well im not 2 sure, he didnt exactly do anything special with the saints.

MM deserves another 2 years i say, he took an average team and turned them into grand finalists in consecutive years, not many coaches would have been able to do that, also last year you guys were murdered with injuries and still it wasnt a horrible year their were glimpses of 2002-2003 Collingwood, with some luck on the injury front MM will have this team back up their, however your depth is a concern.

leonmagic said:
Show me Burns and Buckley's replacements, and I will show you optimism.

Buckley is the best player in our history. There is no replacement.
Burn's replacement is Richie Cole, no problems.

MM needs two years to turn this list around, and he'll get two years, and he deserves two years. He's only half way to getting the most out of Didak Fraser Walker Cole Lonie and Tarrant, and needs more time to develop the Clokes, Shaws, and Maxwell,Rowe Fanning Richards and the 2005 draftees.

Collingwood_Forever said:
Blight only coached for 15 weeks. What did MM do in his first 2 years at collingwood

Obviously rebuilding the team, what did you expect in his first 2 seasons, a prelim?? Side couldnt make a finals series for the best part of 8 years before that.

He turned some middle of the range players who had potential into quality players, which needed to be done.

MM was just unlucky that he had to playoff in 2 g/f against arguably the greatest side ever, any other opponent, and 1 of those 2 g/f are going your way i think.

I'm stating the facts. The other bloke sed that Blight did nothing in his first year at St KIlda, he only coached 15 games for chrissake. I think MIck did a great job to get our average list to 2 GF's. I'm simply stating the facts. And this is, he'll be under the pump if we don't go anywhere this year. I'm confident Mick has the samrts to get Collingwood playing finals footy, where we deserve to be.

I will go to every match like I have for the last 13 years and I will continue to be passionate about the Blac and White in our season of 2005.

Floreat Pica (May the Magpie Prosper!!!)

he did a sensational job to get us to 2 GF's......but i dont think our list is anything special and if we have another season injury-wise like last year then it doesnt really matter where we finish....but if injuries are minimal and we still finish bottom 4 that would be disappointing

bottom part of the 8 most likely....hopefully

One bad season's not necessarily any reason to sack the bloke, but two good seasons out of five is not necessarily any reason to keep him either.

It's more important to look at what's happened to the list - and if you look at the fact that we have no ready made replacements for Buckley & Burns, the 4-5 year players have stagnated (Cole, Lonie, Fraser, Didak etc) and the same blokes keep getting picked almost every week in spite of not actually doing much (Williams, Lokan) that you'd take into account.

It's not so much much a case of "miss the eight, sack MM". It's the reasons that we'd miss the eight - for us to not make it, the same blokes that have stagnated the last couple of years would have to not improve again. If this happens this year then you'd have to look at getting someone fresh in there, someone with a prior history of getting the most out of those kind of players, like a Pagan or a Blight.

Malthouse can coach, but he's better with a side that's already there. Like an Eagles state side, or the PIes of 02-03 that were, for the most part, established senior players, with the odd young bloke re-invigorated by a new environment.

I'm not suggesting for a second sacking Malthouse for anyone. The replacement would have to be of a Blight or Pagan ilk,

Mick's last chance!!