Opinion Midfield Group

• Thread starter Thread starter Punts

My thoughts is that the midfield is no doubt the best I have seen at the swans and far better than last year.
McGlynns addition has added pace and can do a lock down role , plus play small forward.
Cunningham ( see above ) and has taking big scalps in Suckling , Harvey , Stanton , Hill.
Bird spent far more time in the midfield this season and has no doubt stepped up after a big pre season.
McVeigh back to playing HFF/Mid is were I think he plays his best footy. ( adds another rotation from last year ).
Lloyd adds outside class and knows how to find space.
Parker has stepped up from last season and become a GUN.
Hanners , Kennedy , KJ all guns as we know.
Jetta , no doubt has a new role this year and has stepped up his inside work and work rate around the ground.
From what I have seen from Hewett , Robinson they will be very good players ( understand they have yet to show at AFL yet ).
The scary thing is the depth and how young the group is
McGlynn - 28
McVeigh - 29
Jetta - 25
KJ - 26
Parker - 21
Bird - 25
Kennedy - 25
Hanners - 23
Cunningham - 20
Lloyd - 20
Mitchell - 21
Perris - 19
Robinson - 19
Hewett - 18
Also have Heeney coming in and by reports he is in the top 2/3 mids in this years draft , so seeing that list there is some serious talent there and a big future.
Thoughts ?

Good list mate. Perris is a mid as well is he not? How is he going?

Which is why we should seriously look at trading someone while they have value to get some improvement in other parts of the list.

Terrifying to think JPK is only 25. Drooling at the thought of so many good years to come. Imagine what he will be like when he grows up!!

When he gets sick of bashing the crap out every pack on the field he will probably retire to the CHF armchair and kick a lazy 60 a year.

Good list mate. Perris is a mid as well is he not? How is he going?

Which is why we should seriously look at trading someone while they have value to get some improvement in other parts of the list.

Terrifying to think JPK is only 25. Drooling at the thought of so many good years to come. Imagine what he will be like when he grows up!!

When he gets sick of bashing the crap out every pack on the field he will probably retire to the CHF armchair and kick a lazy 60 a year.
Perris the last few weeks has been in the best by reports but the one I really rate is Hewett as his skills are top notch on both sides and he moves why people stand flat footed ( amazing awareness ). Plays inside and out like Hanners.
Also Robinson will be another goal kicking mid

Best midfield in the comp, no doubt about that

True - and backed by an A-Class defence (Richards, Grundy, Mal, Smith, Laidler) and a forward line from heaven.
Pressure from depth players means players will keep focussed AND we can rest some guns in lead in to finals.
If Mal can take out a few more umpires (e.g Razor), we could be unbeatable.

Could be a sick twist of fate that we suffer what Hawthorn did with Kennedy. One of these guys on the brink might get traded in a win-win deal at the time and a few years down the track become elite.

It's definitely a great position we find ourselves in right now.

Theres a lot of a grade talent in the middle and the best part is i dont think any our looming out of contract

The best part is i would say only mcveigh and mcglynn are at their peak

Add to the list goodes if he can get a bit fitter as a pinch hitter, okeefe is a backup if injury hits

Rohan could develop into at least some sort of mid/fwd hybrid and of course jones could be on the list for the future.

Nick smith could play midfield too.

Of the op list though kennedy to me is the clear superstar of the mid group

I think kennedy jack hannebery parker and maybe mcveigh are A graders.

Parker could end up the best of the lot

Tom mitchell would be considerd for senior selection in a lot of other teams

Is it the best mid group in the comp? Thats a big call, dont know about that

Sometimes i think we lack an elite kicker in our midfield group now goodes isnt there

That suns midfield group will be super stellar if it holds together

It is a very good midfield, but it is only Round 9. Remember what happened after the bye last year :drunk:

Let's not forget the improved input of Jetta this year. So many times he'd found a path through congestion and shot a long kick or long handball out to space. He's gone from a ball receiver to a ball getter. He's also covering more of the ground and giving us even more drive off half back.

The fact that guys like ROK, Mitchell and Rohan, not to mention a host of 2s players, can't break into the team speaks well of our depth.

Still think the pies have the best

Yup

Hawks, cats

Power- underrated mid group there is so much talent there

We rely on the two way running and work rate more than class at times, lets go back a few weeks we were looking woeful and slow

You left jetta out punts

Yup

Hawks, cats

Power- underrated mid group there is so much talent there

We rely on the two way running and work rate more than class at times, lets go back a few weeks we were looking woeful and slow

You left jetta out punts
Hawks and Cats are much older and nearly finished were ours is young and has huge upside

I would say we have the best midfield if you measure both current level and upside combined

what concerns me is that the vultures will start circling to pick our young, also snag one of our core players

jpk is a must keep, and i wouldnt want to lose Parker, he's taken every step in his development ahead of schedule and will continue to do so until he's elite. GUN

I think we can afford to lose someone for a high pick and use that pick for outside/inside all round speed. I would like to see a high end finisher with speed to burn and would like to see that talent arrive at the club. I'm thinking a James Aish type.

This opinion has been brought on by that awkward feeling Tom Mitchell getting 64 disposals on the weekend caused in me, and knowing he's worth a top 3 pick yet really doesn't fill much of a need for our club.

what concerns me is that the vultures will start circling to pick our young, also snag one of our core players

jpk is a must keep, and i wouldnt want to lose Parker, he's taken every step in his development ahead of schedule and will continue to do so until he's elite. GUN

That's ok though as long as we extract above fair value. You ain't going to keep them all.

2nd point is spot on

I think we can afford to lose someone for a high pick and use that pick for outside/inside all round speed. I would like to see a high end finisher with speed to burn and would like to see that talent arrive at the club. I'm thinking a James Aish type.

This opinion has been brought on by that awkward feeling Tom Mitchell getting 64 disposals on the weekend caused in me, and knowing he's worth a top 3 pick yet really doesn't fill much of a need for our club.

missed a few weeks give him time

Lets just enjoy the form for now i reckon, no need to discuss who goes surely :p

Its not mitchell tho :p

It's probably not, and I'm sure the club wouldn't push it BUT...he's worth a lot and is slow.

Im a romantic dont want to lose our precious father son

Toms time will come

Only knock on Tom is he does lack leg speed but his in and under work makes up for it. His kicking will get better as time goes on.
With the way there rotating mids in the forward line maybe they want him to develop his forward game more before he returns because he needs to be able to hit the score board at times while resting because otherwise you become a liability resting forward. We all he can hunt the Footy