Social Science Missed connections

Silent Alarm

sack Lyon
10k Posts
As an optimistic, romantically tinged boy and teenager, some of the most profound memories I have are of seeing cute girls in shopping centres, restaurants, or walking down malls. Looking at some babe alight at West Leederville on a Sunday night after a Freo flogging, packed train, was probably one of the things I looked forward to most about going to the footy... before she inevitably got off at Claremont before a day at MLC, or to a parked car at North Fremantle, I'd spend the rest of the night remembering her.

I always used to love that and as I got older, it inevitably seeped into more tangible forms of success.

Of course in your pissed haze, inexperienced at 18, when some girl tells you to "wait right here!" for her at a nightclub, you think that's of the same ilk. Well yeah nah it's not.

In the same vein is travelling. Of course facebook tracks their life too, but plenty of times you have a night out with someone and they leave the next morning, and you can't even remember their name.

Have you ever met a girl you never saw again? Have a good night out o/s with someone whose face you can't remember? Ever had a nice stranger do something for you that you still recall? Do you still remember being a kid and making eyes with a girl for the first time, or being older and being too shit-scared to run up and ask her number?

Met a very attractive American chick in Korea, we talked for a bit and danced a bit at a club afterwards. I remember, one time, she lent out to grab my hand to dance but then afterwards I stupidly bitched going in for the kiss as I thought I'd see her again next week, as we were going to organise going out next weekend again. We did end up organising something with the group of American girls, but she didn't end up going. No idea what happened to her. This is my biggest regret.

My piercer at Westfield is a straight 10/10. I went there yesterday, to get something repierced, but she was unfortunately not working. She has her name on a plaque like thing, so I know her name, and do admit to facebook stalking her....

I enjoy the longer-than-normal-glances you share with attractive women on the tram/train. Although, this may just be due to my narcissism.

Had a girl come into work last night, solid cutie: black 501s and a light blue cord top with a mesh one underneath, so she was bonafide #trendy.

She sort of looked like a cross between Debbie from the newest Puberty Blues series, and like... some actress I can't remember. Could have passed for a little bit of Asian, but I don't think so: dead straight black hair, a nice caramel skin... good head.

Clocked her immediately, told her we have that white cold if she wants. She wants. My pretty gross trick is asking for the ID of a cute girl and remembering her name in case some chat sparks up. Suddenly, two male friends and a girl mate come up and I get nervous and just verify the '96 and don't get the name. We spend a good two minutes chatting and her two male friends, who are quite clearly intensely keen on her but get nothing back, start ripping in to her saying "don't flirt with him!" and "you do have a boyfriend!" and all this sort of stuff. I hold it together, laugh and turn up the charm, and she just keeps chatting: spend a good two minutes talking and she barely interacts with anyone else, she's just too busy chatting to me.

She walks out, hits her bloke friend with a bag, and waits outside in this big group.

Anyway I'm serving people and I look outside and bang, she's staring right at me.

Look back a good two, three times and she's still there smiling.

That arrogant, cheeky, adrenaline-y smile is so ****in good. Wish I got her name.

As a 16 y/o walking from Richmond station to the MCG in 2010 to watch the Prelim, a girl selling records at the bottom of the gate 6 steps (maybe a year or two older than I was) caught my eye and asked politely if I wanted to buy one of those overpriced finals editions. I obliged, and upon handing me my change she asked who I thought was going to win - "Geelong" I responded - she smiled and said "Yay go the Cats" as she flicked her hair. My impatient mate hurried me on and I never laid eyes on her again. She was probably just being friendly but at that age I felt like I'd found the one. For a few years after that, I'd casj look out for her whenever entering the stadium - still vaguely crosses my mind every now and then as I journey from a Swan St watering hole to the famous ground.

Girls are always way more forward with this sort of stuff. They know what small talk means... a polite girl is usually ugly: a cute being polite means she's into you.

Yet as Billy Chrystal said in the movies:

"Ugly Girls. Yeah you pretty much want to nail them too."

Small talk is small talk. You are not a mind reader. Who knows what people think. The thing with the young who have been bought up on Instant Messaging and Tinder is that every interaction is potentially a go that you have lost the art of what is a come on and what is polite chat.

Seriously some people are just being nice and not really into you at all.

As to the thread where do I start? Heaps. But I regret none.

I have moved when I thought she was interested, I have also held back when I thought nah she barely notices me only to find out later she did. So who knows?