Mitch Clark Return..

Do not believe the joker will play AFL again and if he manages to it won't be for Freo for a small number of reasons which have sufficient gravity to amount to a resounding and laughable ''So sorry Jose just can't see a way!!":oops::confused:

Yep. This was a multi-million dollar deal, and some here are treating it like a second-hand lawnmower negotiation on Gumtree.

I mean, really?

I don't know what the big deal is.

All this bullshit about him spurning Freo's advances and taking a bigger offer at the last minute does leave a bad taste in your mouth but surely that and the fact that he has been injured / depressed and unavailable all contribute to his overall value.

It has to be a commercial decision and **** me he would be a valuable addition. Bottom line is that NONE of our up and coming tall forwards are anywhere near AFL ready.

Gumby can't get on the park. Pav is a champion but he needs help and a successor. Taberner and Apeness both show something at WAFL level but they aren't showing definite signs by any stretch of the imagination.

I'd have him in a heartbeat if it took up the last spot in the ND or our PSD pick. We could still get 4 years out of him.

I'd like to know who other posters could recommend as an alternative that we could actually get. Honestly, Hawthorn would be able to get Westhoff but we wouldn't have buckleys. I wish we tried for Crameri last year tbh.

I don't know what the big deal is.

All this bullshit about him spurning Freo's advances and taking a bigger offer at the last minute does leave a bad taste in your mouth but surely that and the fact that he has been injured / depressed and unavailable all contribute to his overall value.

It has to be a commercial decision and **** me he would be a valuable addition. Bottom line is that NONE of our up and coming tall forwards are anywhere near AFL ready.

Gumby can't get on the park. Pav is a champion but he needs help and a successor. Taberner and Apeness both show something at WAFL level but they aren't showing definite signs by any stretch of the imagination.

I'd have him in a heartbeat if it took up the last spot in the ND or our PSD pick. We could still get 4 years out of him.

I'd like to know who other posters could recommend as an alternative that we could actually get. Honestly, Hawthorn would be able to get Westhoff but we wouldn't have buckleys. I wish we tried for Crameri last year tbh.

Boy, do I have a deal for you!!

Just how many commercial decisions have you been involved in, (multi-million dollar ones), got your arse handed to you, and then went back for another bite?

This whole, Clark is a need, despite the circumstances, is horseshit.

Good luck with your business life.

Boy, do I have a deal for you!!

Just how many commercial decisions have you been involved in, (multi-million dollar ones), got your arse handed to you, and then went back for another bite?

This whole, Clark is a need, despite the circumstances, is horseshit.

Good luck with your business life.

You are so typical with this sort of an argument.

Just like you couldn't put forward a reasonable player that is outperforming Sheridan at his age, I bet you won't be able to put forward a reasonable tall forward option that is actually gettable for us.

Considering it took us years to get a half dead Gumby over here after chasing every man and his dog over the past 5 years I'm amazed it hasn't become obvious that he would fit a need. Podsiadley turned us down after we made a grand final for ****s sake.

By the way, I never said we should throw the farm at him, I think that he would probably be on about the same coin as Sylvia would be on. I'm also not in the camp that thinks Pav will definitely be gone next year and I do think that Clarke MAY make it as a forward.

Just like you couldn't put forward a reasonable player that is outperforming Sheridan at his age, I bet you won't be able to put forward a reasonable tall forward option that is actually gettable for us.

Spurious argument 101.

None of us know who will be on the market at years end, but yeah, let's all jump at shadows as usual. Typical BF logic.:rolleyes:

Buggered if I know what Sheridan has to do with it, but I would be happy to see Grey have a run and have advocated such for some weeks.

Please show me where you specifically asked me that question in the past.

Considering it took us years to get a half dead Gumby over here after chasing every man and his dog over the past 5 years I'm amazed it hasn't become obvious that he would fit a need. Podsiadley turned us down after we made a grand final for ****s sake.

By the way, I never said we should throw the farm at him, I think that he would probably be on about the same coin as Sylvia would be on. I'm also not in the camp that thinks Pav will definitely be gone next year and I do think that Clarke MAY make it as a forward.

Like I said, good luck with your business future if you are happy to be bent over again so easily.

Have a walk down St Georges Terrace and ask a few suits how they would react in the same circumstances.

Not sure how analogous the business world is to managing an AFL list tbh. Top level football is a pretty closed shop and we don't have 100 equally qualified candidates applying for the position.

Say Clark chops up in the WAFL next year - it would be a little disappointing if Bond and co let their personal feelings cloud their judgement if we're in a position to pick him up cheaply. I can imagine Lyon saying we don't have the luxury of holding grudges; it's just business after all, nothing personal.

We're lucky Peter Bell didn't hold as much of a grudge as some of you guys.

Not sure how analogous the business world is to managing an AFL list tbh. Top level football is a pretty closed shop and we don't have 100 equally qualified candidates applying for the position.

Say Clark chops up in the WAFL next year - it would be a little disappointing if Bond and co let their personal feelings cloud their judgement if we're in a position to pick him up cheaply. I can imagine Lyon saying we don't have the luxury of holding grudges; it's just business after all, nothing personal.

That is my point exactly. It's not like players his size with goal sense and marking skills are growing on trees. There are literally thousands of kids nominating for AFL drafts each year, the majority don't get drafted. Tall forwards are in the smallest percentage of players drafted each year and then the small percentage of those that actually make it means its borderline negligent to overlook him because he took a better offer 4 years ago.

Also nobody ever seems to think it is arrogance on Freos behalf to publish an article on its website saying that Clark is going to be here next year and wants to be here etc. when Brisbane were openly saying that they were exploring any option they could and weren't happy with our trade offer.

James Frawley is that player, people laugh it off, but he's going ok up forward thus far.

James Frawley + Mitch Clark via psd on minimum wage/performance based contract would be what i'd be gunning for. I reckon we'd be in a real good position to put the squeeze on Mitch contract wise.

Depending on how pessimistic I am feeling at the time, I reckon we have 1 more year in 'the window' and as they say fortune favours the brave.

If all it costs is a spot on the list and minimum wage, I'm all for giving him a spot, he's too good, his upside is too high not to be considered.

Play Frawley forward for a season, beg McPharlin to go one more, Pav and Sandi should be right, have Clark in the WAFL for the year. Season 2016 = Frawley take McPharlin's (retired) spot and Clark/Ape/Tabs takes Frawleys spot up forward. Big Griff main ruck, Zclarke secondary.

Would be great, but I fear that I am dreaming.

James Frawley is that player, people laugh it off, but he's going ok up forward thus far.

James Frawley + Mitch Clark via psd on minimum wage/performance based contract would be what i'd be gunning for. I reckon we'd be in a real good position to put the squeeze on Mitch contract wise.

Depending on how pessimistic I am feeling at the time, I reckon we have 1 more year in 'the window' and as they say fortune favours the brave.

If all it costs is a spot on the list and minimum wage, I'm all for giving him a spot, he's too good, his upside is too high not to be considered.

Play Frawley forward for a season, beg McPharlin to go one more, Pav and Sandi should be right, have Clark in the WAFL for the year. Season 2016 = Frawley take McPharlin's (retired) spot and Clark/Ape/Tabs takes Frawleys spot up forward. Big Griff main ruck, Zclarke secondary.

Would be great, but I fear that I am dreaming.

I don't have a problem with Frawley, I just don't think we will be a realistic chance to get him. I think there will be a couple of Melbourne clubs in or close enough to finals with as much on offer that will beat us.

I don't agree we only have 1 more year in the window but it will probably close a bit (ie: not completely) for a few years after Pav, McPharlin leave.

3 hammy injuries in a preseason, unfortunately Clark has spent more of his career in a hospital bed then on the park. We can only take fit blokes into a GF. Everyone remembers Clark having a few incredible games, distant memories.

Well that's a different argument altogether. I wouldn't be too keen on taking him until he'd put a year of football together in the lower leagues anyway, both from a physical and psychological perspective.

Mitch Clark will not return to AFL footy.
Belly understood admin had changed and therefore everything was changed.
Half-dead Gumby:I'd be thinking there's a strong pulse.
Without business management skills our club doesn't exist;or only just exists.

I don't have a problem with Frawley, I just don't think we will be a realistic chance to get him. I think there will be a couple of Melbourne clubs in or close enough to finals with as much on offer that will beat us.

I don't agree we only have 1 more year in the window but it will probably close a bit (ie: not completely) for a few years after Pav, McPharlin leave.

I think Melbourne have already shown enough for him to stay personally. I think the best bet for Freo is to start tunnelling games into Tabs, Ape, Tanner and Pearce as much as is practicable.

Mitch Clark will not return to AFL footy.
Belly understood admin had changed and therefore everything was changed.
Half-dead Gumby:I'd be thinking there's a strong pulse.
Without business management skills our club doesn't exist;or only just exists.

Apparently a multi-million dollar player contract system, within the largest sporting competition in the country, is not analogous with the real world business.

Sorry estibador , but you are fair dinkum kidding yourself.

The recruitment of Scott Gumbleton indicates to me that we are now willing to roll the dice. I think Clark and Gumbleton are actually quite similar in terms of risk. Gumbleton didn't burn bridges before he got here though....
He also spent a year at the bombers and performed well whilst passed over for the youth brigade when available. His selection was a no brainer, cost nothing, low risk, possible medium reward.

Do you reckon Clark would have the gall to squeeze us for higher coin. If anything he should be begging to be given a chance. Knives in backs aside, i view Gumby and Clark similiarly.

If we could get a gumby-esque deal, I'd look very hard at it.

Do you reckon Clark would have the gall to squeeze us for higher coin. If anything he should be begging to be given a chance. Knives in backs aside, i view Gumby and Clark similiarly.

If we could get a gumby-esque deal, I'd look very hard at it.
Think he and his missus are settled in Melbourne. He'll jump back in for low coin, but I doubt he'll have the nuggets to go as hard at it as he used to now. He is a competitor, but he's not bulletproof anymore.

Agreed, highly unlikely he'll end up here, or anywhere else for that matter. Damn I love a good hypothetical though, they get me every time.

Should he grovel sufficiently, I'm happy to go on record as saying I hope we'd at least consider it.