Official Team Thread Mount Buller Demons | Season 30 Team Thread | B&F 17/12 19:30 AEDT

Hey corndog any chance you have seen him around, not many team threads on page.1 and I'm not sure if he is active anymore
Who’s that mate?

I'm busy watching the cricket. That bloody snail Pujara is batting and we're still no closer to dismissing him than we were last series out here.
Didn't even know it was on 🤣

Introduction...

Hello everybody and welcome to this most prestigious occasion – the Season 30 Mt. Buller Demons Deestroy Medal count.

Season 29 was one of great hope but subsequent heartbreak for us, so thank qod for Season 30 being a s**t season from almost the very beginning. COVID-19 struck and really took its toll on all of us. I reckon the SIM got some COVID too because it was an a-hole to us this season.

In spite of our results being awful and our posting being a little flat compared to last season, I’m still incredibly proud of our club and our posters. You all showed up as much as circumstances would allow and I know that we remain the strongest and most enjoyable club in the whole comp.

Our spirit remains strong and we've got the best bunch of weirdos in this whole league.

This season, we welcomed a new face in Toump Ass , who in spite of his shy and retiring nature made a good impact with his posting when he was present. We also enjoyed strong match thread contributions from our experienced leaders, including Callums_Guns , cooney and Tarkyn_24 .

jmoo wan and Dero joined us from the Gumbies and brought an immediate positive impact for us.

A lot of work was contributed by the likes of DemonJim, Headless , Proper Gander and Yakker , while sausageroll continued his quest in earnest for that elusive EKA.

Season 30 was our 30th season in this league – a remarkable accomplishment. This longevity is in only made possible by the ongoing commitment of our club’s posters and leaders – past and present – so we did our best to recognise our history through the season.

We had some major player milestones along the way – Tarks hit his 450th game, Headless his 400th and Proper Gander notched up 100 games.

While it would have been a fairytale to snag a premiership in a milestone season, it doesn’t matter. I hate fairytales anyway – they’re full of false hope and bullshittery.

Didn't even know it was on 🤣
It was a good first session but they are slowly grinding us down this session. Hopefully we can take advantage in the next one.

Tonight is all about the players at this great club of ours. Some might say it’s the greatest club in the land of sweet, and the people who say that would be right. The measurability of that isn’t so much in premierships, you understand, but in the great personalities we gather together like a collection of limited edition Tazos.

As well as the B&F award, we’ll be awarding the following coveted prizes this evening:
  • The cats2rise Medal (Leading Goalkicker)
  • Best Defender Award
  • The Coaches Award (hopefully Richard_Cranium will be along to present this)
  • The Eth Award (Player’s Player)
  • Poster Of The Year Award
Good luck to all.

Grab yourself a small glass of milk, a packet of salt-free crisps and a sense of positivity, and settle in for some FUN.

While we wait for the ceremony to commence, it’s a great time to reacquaint ourselves with a fine piece of music, written and performed for you tonight by Proper Gander and Headless .

This has become a club anthem of sorts, so feel free to SING ALONG…

Round 1
Round01.gif

After our really unexpected 1-point Grand Final loss in Season 29, we took some time to soul-search over the off-season. By the time Round 1 came around we were ready to host the Bears and try to forget how gosh darned unlucky we were.

The Bears seemed to make up for a lack of S29 activity with a posting blitz in Round 1. It was a tad overwhelming at times, and I think _Cayz_ summed it up well…

ROUND 1.png

A 65-page match thread is a nightmare for Headless , and so the match proved to be. We coughed up a 22-point half time lead to end up losing by 8 points in a high-scoring battle. DemonJim, Van_Dyke and Tarkyn_24 started the year brightly, but it was clear that the rest of us were only knitting with one needle at that point.

Round 1 Votes:

3 - DemonJim [17 touches, 11 tackles, 2 goals]
2 - Van_Dyke [27 touches, 6 marks, 1 goal]
1 - Tarkyn_24 [5 goals 1 behind from 6 kicks]

Poster Of The Week:

POTW Callums_Guns.png

Actually listening to the whole thing as we speak.
I've done the same thing, and I've got a couple of strange looks from the people sitting near me.

Round 2
Round02.gif

With a sense of early season foreboding, we packed our kit (except for Yakker – he still can’t find his bag) and took off for Gumbania.

Barrybran has managed to pull together a neat little list, and it was an enjoyable and non-spammy week of banter. cats2rise managed to post, while Genghis Tron and Riviat were good company to keep.

For us, cooney was up and about early, getting up in the grill of the questionably great Rodney Dangerfield

ROUND 2.png

We again started the game brightly, leading the Gumbies by 2 goals at half time. Our defence was dour, but we were supported by strong midfield pressure from Dero and DemonJim. Meanwhile, Callums_Guns must have put on his Selwood mask, because he somehow received 8 free kicks for.

Anyway, we didn’t choke this time and held onto our two-goal lead all the way to the final siren. Our season was back on track. OR WAS IT?

Round 2 Votes

3 - Dero [30 touches and 8 marks, 124 DT]
2 - Callums_Guns [24 touches and 8 free kicks for]
1 - DemonJim [24 touches and 6 tackles]

Poster Of The Week:

POTW Dero.png

Round 3
Round03.gif
Feeling a little better about ourselves, we returned to the Snow Dome with a bit of extra pep in our step. Our next opponents, the Royals, were at that stage of the season unbeaten, and were enjoying some rare success. We would certainly have our work cut out for us.

It was another high-quality week, mingling with the likes of Marlowe, GreyCrow, Noobz0r and The Filth Wizard . The banter did get pretty tense at certain points, with a particularly nasty debate about the relative merits of Lacey and Alyssa. Turns out that Marlowe was considered more popular than both, so that settled that…

ROUND 3.png

After settling the above, our attention turned to the match itself. It was a horror start for us, with the Royals jumping out of the blocks to lead by 15 points at quarter time. While we fought desperately to not let this margin blow out through the second quarter, our inaccurate kicking never really got us back into it.

From there, all it took was a sharp Royals start to the third quarter and we were goneski. In the end, the Royals smashed us by 9 goals.

Round 3 Votes

3 - boncer34 [19 touches, 6 marks]
2 - Callums_Guns [19 touches, 7 tackles]
1 - DemonJim [18 touches, 5 tackles]

Poster Of The Week:

POTW Cooney.png

Round 4
Round04.gif
The Furballs always make for an interesting opponent, and adding Elton Johns Wig and Norma Lee Ava to the mix gave them an even more interesting look.

But it was Bastyy who stepped up for the Furies during Round 4, providing some quality opposition banter. Things did get a little heated for a while there, and poor Headless was driven to having a decaf to calm his nerves…

ROUND 4.png

We eventually found our groove and enjoyed the week, and along rolled the match on Sunday arvo. We were desperate to make amends for our awful Round 3 showing against the Royals, so Richard_Cranium suggested we try starting well this time.

And that we did! Six first-quarter goals helped us to a 4-goal lead which was never eroded through the remainder of the match. Proper Gander and Van_Dyke were in great form on the day, and we eventually ran out 38-point winners.

We had squared our win-loss ledger after 4 rounds and it felt like we may have found some momentum.

Round 4 Votes

3 - Proper Gander [10 hitouts, 23 touches, 1 goal]
2 - DemonJim [14 touches, 6 tackles, 1 goal]
1 - Van_Dyke [19 touches, 2 goals]

Poster Of The Week:

POTW sausageroll.png