wow
mummy had his best game, and it brings the hawk into the game
both did nice stuff while rucking around the ground
when otto is back the ruck division will look awesome

be good to bring in west next week, to give mummy some break, and the op to play more time up forward and in defence, add another element to the team

PS. it tipped this 18 months ago

Hawkins busted a gut today

a great effort in dying minutes when he tore in to get the ball that spilled to Maxy to do same to get to Ablett to Bartel for his first stunning behind.

he looks great when just having a run

and mummy gave us the contest, been awesome getting time into him

Hawkins playing in the ruck will hopefully give him some mongrel, he plays too nice as a forward currently. Needs more avalanche about his game. Has looked better in the last two weeks.

Dont like Hawkins in the ruck...Does well but risk of injury is too high.

Would rather him play in the middle on the ball if he needs some variety or a way to get in the game.

He will be an excellent key forward in the coming weeks.

Yes would like to see West come in for Longergan in the next few weeks....

Mumford has been terrific.

Blake is gonna have it tough getting back in

Fact: We got absolutely smashed at the clearances today...absoultely smashed! Not sure if it was partly attributed to Ruck or poor midfield. Needless to say, Ottens is a big difference!

Fact: Mumford played a sterling around the ground game today. He was really good, got outmarked by Taylor once and missed a spoil against roughead in the forward 50, but was brilliant othewise.

Fact: Hawkins first half was the best 2 quarters of footy he has played for the club. Was marking solidly. Kicked truly and crashed some packs. Definately justified the hype. Tailored off a little, but was still a target.

Putting these together its hard to really give a good assessment of where we are in terms of ruck. We definately suffered at the clearances and i just can't determine whether or not that was due to ruck contests. I think Blake has his merits and is clearly a better ruck than mumford (and hawkins, mooney) but he is vastly inadequate around the ground. So go figure...the only real answer is to include Ottens!

We fought today, it was awesome. We will be there last saturday of september, mark my words!

thought mooney was good in the last qtr ^^

dam straight:thumbsu: l thought that was a great move putting moons into the ruck
he and hawkins both having a go in the ruck will be good for both and mummy some time at full forward..go cats great win

Fact: We got absolutely smashed at the clearances today...absoultely smashed! Not sure if it was partly attributed to Ruck or poor midfield. Needless to say, Ottens is a big difference!

Sit Ablett, Corey and Bartel under there and we'll never lose. Alas, Bomber chooses to sit Corey and Bartel down back, and Ablett up forward a bit (which is actually a good move).

loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooong way to go for that hawkins boy yet.

congrats on the win, but keep looking for a new KP forward (or 2) in this year's draft.

He's 20 and better than a heap in the game already. Your team is shit. Stick to your own, you pissant flog.

The Mummy really rose to the challenge against good opposition in a close game. He doesn't get a huge lot of possessions but having a 200cm, 100kg maniac barrelling into contests like a midfielder is a big help when things are tight.

What I loved today was just the constant contests after the ruck contests, the follow up efforts by Mumford, Tomahawk & Moons was really inspiring stuff. Losing your two key position defenders and piling on 5 goals to none to win a game of footy against quality opposition is a great fillet for the team.

What I loved most of all was the team spirit when they won, they sang the song woith real gusto, this game meant more to them than any game this season. Guys playing in the side at the moment will have developed a real bond out of this.

Want an X factor coming into finals? Mumford. He is SO quick for a giant, his hands are fantastic and he wins the ball against ball winners. As said, like an extra midfielder but what he does isn't taught, it is his natural game. They say ruckmen develop slowly, well shit what sort of ceiling could his upside have?

Reckon he will be promoted to the senior list come next year? :rolleyes:

Putting these together its hard to really give a good assessment of where we are in terms of ruck. We definately suffered at the clearances and i just can't determine whether or not that was due to ruck contests. I think Blake has his merits and is clearly a better ruck than mumford (and hawkins, mooney) but he is vastly inadequate around the ground. So go figure...the only real answer is to include Ottens!

It's been said on this board before that if we could combine the two we would have a great ruckman. So it comes down to which ruckman do you think will improve. Will Blake improve around the ground or will Mumford improve his tap work?

Looking purely at their athletic and football ability I don't really see Blake can bridge the gap in his deficiencies. Mumford would seem to have the greater chance to become a better tap ruckman.

What I loved today was just the constant contests after the ruck contests, the follow up efforts by Mumford, Tomahawk & Moons was really inspiring stuff. .

I agree. great to see the mids getting some support by the ruckmen sticking their bodies in.

Was also bloody good to see a ruckman making a contest in the air around the ground. Also Hawkins can actually play as a target when kicking out of the back half under pressure.

I've always said that Blake was our number 2.

I was w w w rrroonnggg.

With Hawkins, Mooney and Mummy rotating around the ground it created some flexibilty.

Our ruck combo was really dynamic yesterday, Moons did pretty well too. I've always been a big wrap for Mumford, but his hands in the stoppages are really clean, he's like an extra in an under midfielder, and it seems like his confidence is growing with every game.

Oh, and Hawkins is feeling dangerous.

How good is Mumford's marking?

It really makes kicking long to a ruckmen at kickins and around the ground an option as he can take a grab or at least contest, its like having ottens back.

It's been said on this board before that if we could combine the two we would have a great ruckman. So it comes down to which ruckman do you think will improve. Will Blake improve around the ground or will Mumford improve his tap work?

Looking purely at their athletic and football ability I don't really see Blake can bridge the gap in his deficiencies. Mumford would seem to have the greater chance to become a better tap ruckman.

Absolutely. Mumford is definitely a huge asset, but we still can't ignore our clearance work yesterday and it seems we have dropped in this over the last 4 weeks.

Blake should not be ignored, yes he has some massive deficiencies, these are well known but he is still only 23 (i think) so he does have improvement left in him, especially for his size. Blakes ruckwork is very good and i think he does add something to our ability to clear the contests.

Mumford will not get dropped now, this much is clear, but i think Blake would be an asset this week against the crows. Especially considering the domination he imposed last time. Given that we will be two key defenders down this also gives us the option of playing Mumford on Tippet in attack.

Alternative to this is Trent West whom i still believe is a inbetween both Mumford and Blake in both tap work and presence. Against Adelaide i think we need to go in with two rucks!

Mumford may not be as good as Blake for tap work - and we were beaten in the centre clearances and at stoppages - so that is a concern - BUT he adds so much more to the team than Blake.

His second efforts, his desire to tackle and chase, he can be used as a long marking option when a kick out occurs (as he can take a mark above his head) and he could go forward for short periods of time.

He adds flexibility to the side. I think Geelong is a better side with him in the team. If Ottens can come back and play some good footy - some injuries are overcome - then Geelong, after watching the Saints V Bullies last night, are the only real challenge the Saints might have come GF day.

If Hawkins can keep this momentum going forward he could also make a difference come finals time. Last game against the Saints he was a passenger and had no influence whatsoever. Cats lost by a goal. If he kicks 2 goals and makes a few spoils that create opportunities for small forwards - then this could go a long way to beating the Saints when it counts.

I really think injuries could play a very big part in the finals. If Geelong has a fit and relatively full list to play then I confident we can make the GF this year and have a chance of winning it.