jodo27

In this morning's Herald Sun Justin Murphy and Paul Thomas gone. They do mention that one of the two may be redrafted :thumbsu:

I agree with Murphy going, but the Thomas one is a bit mystifying. The guy has something in his box of tricks that suggests to me that he could make it at senior level, so I am disappointed for him. Wouldn't be surprised if (a) we redraft him or (b) someone nicks him before we get the chance to pick him up again.

Shame Murphy looked and acted disinterested in season 2005.

Having lunch today with one of the AFL club's recruiting managers today and see if I can get any goss.

If Murphy gets the kick up the a$$ he realises he needs and returns to 2004 form, he could still be a very handy player, remember he was our best player in the 04 finals. I am a little baffled about Thomas, but I suppose if we do bring him back he will be better for it also.

DaSawx said:
If Murphy gets the kick up the a$$ he realises he needs and returns to 2004 form, he could still be a very handy player, remember he was our best player in the 04 finals. I am a little baffled about Thomas, but I suppose if we do bring him back he will be better for it also.
Thomas is very, very stiff. Surprising really, I would've thought he was of more value than a Reynolds, but then again so was Zantuck in my mind.

Murphy has had his time.

That means we've now delisted 8 (including Allan).
In 2005 we had 1 external veteran, 38 on the primary list and 5 rookies.
We've delisted 8 primary listed players, traded one. Added one traded player to our list and two rookies. Delisted 2 rookies, with Jolley given another year. Hird to move to the external vets list with Fletcher.

That gives us 7 spots on the Primary list and 3 on the rookie list.

So we are either going to do one of two things -
1. Use five picks in the ND, 7,19,39 (Neagle),51,71 (possibly redraft one of our own delistees). Two picks in the PSD, Campo, Heff. 3 picks in the Rookie Draft.
2. Use four picks in the ND. Two in the PSD. Leave Hird in the Primary list of 38 and draft a 5th rookie.

I reckon we'll redraft Thomas or Cupido.

why is there no mention of this on the essendon fc website, and i dont understand why you would de-list someone to only redraft them, especially someone like thomas, why? because he looks like your typical battler he seems like he tries all the time, de-listing him wont make him work any harder during the pre-season.

blumfieldisback said:
why is there no mention of this on the essendon fc website

I'm pretty certain it's official.

blumfieldisback said:
and i dont understand why you would de-list someone to only redraft them, especially someone like thomas

I thought about this myself and then I tried to qualify it. You could probably throw a blanket over Cupido, Murphy, Thomas in what they could provide the side. On potential Cupido offers the most, followed by Murphy and then Thomas.

I doubt the delisting of either of those three was done easily. But we had to make list space given that we have to use 4 draft picks at a minimum, given that pick 51 was obtained in a trade.

We have now gone further than that and delisted one too many. And I think the only reason I can come up with, is to give ourselves an extra month or so to make a decision. See how they train, make them earn their spot on the list again.

Chances are Murphy, Thomas will train at Essendon along with a couple of other delistees from other clubs. Perhaps a Gilham, etc. A good opportunity to pit them against each other and see who wants that final position on the list.

Stiffer than a re-enforced titanium plank. Fair dinkum...hopefully the bloke will be re-drafted otherwise, he will slot in nicely back at NAP where weve lost 5 premiership players.

If it came down to Cupido/Thomas to re-draft I'd think they'd go for Cupido.

Thomas impressed me actually. To be honest, id rather we have kept him than bloody Zantuck. Tough as nails, went in hard and really looked good. Who ********ing knows....

Murphy on the other hand, inevidable. ****************

Nandoz said:
Thomas impressed me actually. To be honest, id rather we have kept him than bloody Zantuck. Tough as nails, went in hard and really looked good. Who ********ing knows....

Murphy on the other hand, inevidable. ****************
We didn't keep Zantuck.

We know of murphy's second year blues but what's he like in his third year at a club? Or hasnt he lasted that long? I hope we keep him and having campo with him just might reignite his career. He owes us that dog, we took a huge punt getting him and his 1st year was excellent but we all saw what he didnt do this year. Thomas.....in my opinion the days of ordinary skilled back men are long gone, its become a squibs/recievers game and that's what we need at this point.

Interesting that in the article they mentioned that in the case of Murphy the leadership group would be consulted on whether to redraft him, while it implied Thomas didn't need their approval.

I like the idea of having them compete with each other on the track for the spot. For Murph especially who we know has the talent it might reignite something in him.

I like Thomas but i see him as behind young blokes who can play his position, like Monfries, Winderlich, Nash, Slattery and Cole and i definately don't have all of them in the best 22 so i think he's a bit of a way off.

werent hawthorn supposedly interested in thomas last year?

they might chip in before we get a chance to re-draft him.

I hope we don't re-draft Murphy, that would be very annoying. It wouldn't bother me too much if we took Thomas back but it also wouldn't bother me if we didn't. I just don't think it would matter too much either way.

Delisting and then re-drafting is generally a pretty silly thing imo, I can't think of too many cases of it having a beneficial effect off hand.

nonchalance said:
Minimum wage and Cory McGrath is a huge punt?
In terms of our clubs reputation yes. The coaching staff knew that 99% of supporters were dirty in getting him but we accepted him and after his 2nd year blues others were proved correct and us made to look like fools (not literally but people coming out with I told you so which is very annoying). He owes us and he owes us big time so for the next 2 weeks flog him like a dog and make him prove he still wants to play for our great club.

Neither have been delisted! Both there names will be on our list for the 1st lodgment of the list on monday.
Still a possibility of 1 going after because u can still delist players between the 1st logment and 2nd logment of lists.

I'll reserve judgement until I see our final delistings but if Thomas goes I hope it comes and bites Sheedy on the backside. Even thinking of keeping Murphy ahead of Thomas is ridiculous. We've got Camporeale,possibly keeping Murphy and possibly getting Heffernan. What happened to youth? Anyone would think we are close to a flag! :rolleyes:

Diamond_Joe said:
In terms of our clubs reputation yes.QUOTE]

can't agree. Small punt that paid off for a year. No damage to the clubs reputation that I can see imho.