Monniehawk

Monbulk, Upwey, Strathmore, St Alba
2010 about to start.
What do Forumites see coming up for the new season...(Div 1 and 2).
i.e.
a. Who will be the big improvers for this year
b. Who will be the sliders
c. What big names are coming to town
d. Flag favourites
e. Wooden Spooners
f. Thoughts on the 2nd Div draw

Shelve the club bias and BS! Tell it like it is.

2010 about to start.
i.e.
d. Flag favourites
e. Wooden Spooners

I'll have a crack MH.

Div 1

a.Olinda & Gembrook (they have to)
b.no-one springs to mind
c.Monbulk have done ok, Silvan keeping Goodlet is important.
d.Upwey deserve to be, the 2009 top 3 will be the same although Woori may drop away a little.
e. Most would say Silvan but I don't think its as clear cut as that. They'll still have good players. Wandin could be in the firing line !
f. I haven't studied it closely to be perfectly honest but it seems the league are trying to accomodate everyones travel. It makes the draw irregular but it alleviates some difficulties. At our level of competition, I think that nore than fine.

Div 2

a. Personally, I think Yarra Glen. Although Junction made the 1st Semi last year, I think they will get better, so can Emerald.
b. Seville
c. Not sure but YG appointing Dean DeMunk I think is a great get for them.
d. You cannot go past the 2009 R/Up, 5 minutes away from being in 1st Division. I'm pretty sure they are unchanged for 2010. They may well have ridden a wave of emotion for alot of the year, but they will be much fitter and better for the experience this year.
e. Anyone of Powelly or Yea.The last 1 suffered from late starts and fires etc.
f. Same as above

Couple of good ones in there TS, particularly for so early in proceedings.
I have heard precious little on how the clubs are faring. Everyone playing it close to their chests, or else nothing much is happening! Hope it isn't stagnating. Still,

a. Gembrook's run of wretched luck must be at an end, surely. Too talented to not challenge the leaders, and OFCetc are riding a huge wave at the moment. Agree that Yarra Glen also has every reason to do better.
b. Wandin definitely in danger, as are Powelly. Not sure about Emerald, either.
c. Only hearing of big names going i.e. Conrau, Haynes, Grayling, etc. Other than Goodlet returning, ...nothing! Can't even get anything from Monnie! Surely there will be some inwards goods of note coming in soon!
d. Upwey have to be runaway favourites and Kinglake will be all the better for their loss last year.
e. Probably Wandin but Silvan's position is still unclear. Powelly still in trouble, but their grit and Belgrave may hold them out.
f. Thumbs up to the Board for trying something positive to overcome the travel probs in Div 2. It will work, but as with any compromise, there will be some down sides. Hope all clubs accept it in the spirit intended.

TeeS has predicted Seville as a slider in 2010, with 55 on the track 1st night and 6 new players with 1st Division experience I think the Blues will have a huge year in 2010.

Gaz and Timmy, where do you get your info about Powelly. As far as i know there are no significant losses with a couple of handy types on board. Would have thought they would have improved on their 5 wins from 09

Big O, Just a wild assumption. As I mentioned, I have precious little to go on, including how they have recruited, but history suggests that larger fish lurk in their pond and they frequently have their stocks depleted. Just love their grit though, and reckon they will be OK. Can you enlighten us on who the "insignificant losses" may be and who they may have picked up? After all, the purpose of the thread is to try to elicit such info!

Div 1

A. Mt Evelyn showed a little this year and if they can hold the same list together and add a couple they may challenge the top 3. Gembrook were major under achievers last season, they would have to do better this year and push to sneak in at 5th place.

B. Word is that Healesville have lost a few big names...

C. Seems to be a few outs as stated and not alot of ins. Goodlet back to Silvan, Witkowski to Woori, have been mentioned on the forum and possibly a few names moving to other clubs in 1st DIV... Watch this space

D. Upwey would have to be in the box seat. Monbulk would be kicking themselves over their lost opportunities in the 09 Finals, Woori had a great year and will be interesting to see if they can back it up. I see Monkey has been re-appointed. Will the big man go around again or just coach?

E. It is always hard to judge at this time of year, but Silvan may continue to slide like they did at the end of 2009. Will be interesting to see who hangs around at the club. Wandin without Grayling is a scary thought considering how shocking they were last season...

F. See Below

Div 2

A. If the Rumours are true with recruitment, Yarra Glen should be on the rise to challenge Kinglake and Alexandra in 2010

B. Team at the bottom will improve in Belgrave and Thorton Eildon which leaves teams in the middle like Powelltown and Yea with some pressure on their shoulders

C. De Munk and possibly Braden from Lilydale to Yarra Glen are big pick ups

D. Kinglake need to Stand Up and go all the way this year but may have a hard time up against an Alexandra outfit who have gained experience in DIV 1. Yarra Glen may come into the equation

E. Any team in the bottom 5 is a chance.

F. Div 2 Draw is a tough subject. Nobody will ever be happy. Personally think that the more regional clubs need to adapt to the needs of the likes of Belgrave and Emerald These clubs have been in the league alot longer and the threat of players leaving is more real than the new coming clubs. In Recent years we have had the introduction of Kinglake, Alexandra, Thornton Eildon and Yea. Some Long Drives for some long standing clubs.

Gaz and Timmy, where do you get your info about Powelly. As far as i know there are no significant losses with a couple of handy types on board. Would have thought they would have improved on their 5 wins from 09

I'll be honest Big O, December 28th and I have NFI he he :confused:

Good post, Ari G! Looking forward to more.
Just found out from EFL forum that Monbulk may have picked up Tim Francis from ER. Debit side is an unsubstantiated whisper that some key young blokes may be keen to try their luck down town.
The rumors of another Healesville exodus just keep coming from all quarters. Seems to be a perennial problem, but they do keep bringing on the kids.
Woori were a class unit under Monkie and will continue to be. They still remain a few key people short of knocking off Upwey, though.
Mt Evelyn may have been a little inconsistent last year, but their good was very, very good! Ones to watch.
Wandin have looked to be on a knife edge for a little while now. This year is probably pivotal to their immediate future.
Warby have been very quiet. Wonder what's going on...
Brookers started to come together late last year. They seem to have mentally regrouped, so should figure in things, too.

2010 about to start.
i.e.
d. Flag favourites
e. Wooden Spooners

Divvy 1

Big improver will be Gembrook and Olinda - both with a chance of making the finals

Wandin will be in for a very tough year

Witkowski to Woori, Goodlet to Silvan, and Parsons to Upwey (all rumours at this stage)

Upwey with Woori and Monbulk the big challengers - depending on recruits Mt Evelyn could be an outside chance for the top 3

Divvy 2

Yarra Glen big improver

Not sure as no info on possible transfers

De Munk to Yarra Glen

Yarra Glen with Kinglake and Junction the other contenders

Draw is interesting reaction to travel, as season unfolds it will certainly become part of the shaping of the finals, but should help get better crowds to the games as travel will be less of an issue for supporters

Divvy 1

Big improver will be Gembrook and Olinda - both with a chance of making the finals

Wandin will be in for a very tough year

Witkowski to Woori, Goodlet to Silvan, and Parsons to Upwey (all rumours at this stage)

Upwey with Woori and Monbulk the big challengers - depending on recruits Mt Evelyn could be an outside chance for the top 3

Divvy 2

Yarra Glen big improver

Not sure as no info on possible transfers

De Munk to Yarra Glen

Yarra Glen with Kinglake and Junction the other contenders

Draw is interesting reaction to travel, as season unfolds it will certainly become part of the shaping of the finals, but should help get better crowds to the games as travel will be less of an issue for supporters

I heard the Adam Parsons rumour a few weeks back as well. Returning from Rye ?
Left foot midfield gun is what I know, just what Upwey needs :D

2010 about to start.
i.e.
d. Flag favourites
e. Wooden Spooners

Division 1.
1. Big Improvers: Warburton Millgrove and Gembrook Cockatoo. The Burras played some good footy in patches in 2009 and have apparently recruited ok so far including a well credentialed new coach in Gordon Sumner. The Brookers if they can get their full team on the park will certainly improve. Ricky Clark is the best player in the league when fit and firing. As mentioned by others, if Mount Evelyn can be more consistent they will be close to the mark too as their best was very good.
2. Wandin: In more trouble than the Titanic so I am told but that has been said for a number of years. Grayling is a huge loss but with Goodwin at the helm you can guarantee they will at least be competitive.
3. Havent heard too much recruiting wise except rumors posted on here. Will wait until clearances open. Parsons, Francis and Witkowski will definitely be in the competition in 2010
4. Flag Favorites: Upwey Tecoma but watch out for Monbulk and Woori again who were not far off the mark in 2009. Certainly like Woori and they manner they are lead by Monkhorst who has been the best coach in the competition during my time in the league.
5. Wooden Spooner: Possibly Silvan after the off season turmoil with significant player losses including Norman (Noble Park) and Haynes (Maribynong Park). Goodlet will be a good coach though as he is certainly a quality player but will be tested as depth will again be a major problem.

Division 2
1. Big Improvers: Yarra Glen and Alexandra who have both recruited well before Christmas. Both had a disrupted start to the 2009 season with the Black Saturday fires so surely they deserve some good fortune. Would not surprise to see Thornton Eildon improve as well as they also had a disrupted start in 2009.
2. Slider could be Kinglake - can a repeat of 2009 be possible with all that emotion and support? I still think so but others may differ. Perhaps Yarra Junction who maybe over achieved in 2009.
3. Recruits at Yarra Glen are well credentialed so hopefully they can deliver. Braden and Attard are good players. Alexandra and Yea have also picked up a couple that are well credentialed. Belgrave's new coach in Stasek is a good player.
4. Flag Favorites: Seville or Kinglake again as both werent far away in 2009. Loved Seville's efforts in 2009 as they were certainly a close knit unit with no real big names and led well by the rookie coach in Mark Holly who did a great job.
5. Wooden Spooner: Not sure but possibly Belgrave as they are coming from a long way back. Not Powelltown who have had 40 plus at training before Christmas and have recruited ok so far too.
6. The Draw: Well done to the league for trying something to please all clubs. A good initiative and will be interesting to see how it goes. Would have been a bad decision to just leave things as is.

TeeS has predicted Seville as a slider in 2010, with 55 on the track 1st night and 6 new players with 1st Division experience I think the Blues will have a huge year in 2010.

Agreed! Good coach, No one leaving, largest numbers on the track in years, Kane Jones and Pauly Lister good pickups and a few others. Plus shane senior is fit after missing most of last year. Will be a big year at the potato chip!

Any other predictions Clarkey? Or is Seville has far as your mind goes?

sorry mate, not as knowlegable on the YV as a lot of the blokes on here but as far as divvy 2 goes:

a. i have heard Yarra Glen have picked up a few handy blokes from Norwood and lilydale. Tip them for the big improvers.

b. Hard to say who the sliders will be as i havent heard that any of the top clubs from last year have lost players. i think the standard was a lot better last year than the year before, especially up the top end of the ladder, so Alexander might find it a bit harder than they might be expecting.

c. Havent heard of any big names coming to town, but they rarely do in divy 2. Yarra Glen seem to have done the big recruiting.

d. Would be interested to hear how kinglake are looking? Goin on last years team and that they are super cashed up (so ive heard?), then they would have to be favourites. Like i said before, I honestly think Seville will be thereabouts, but a ruckman would go a long way...

e. Belgrave or powelly. Have heard nothing on thorton eildon, maybe them!

f. Will be intersting to see how it goes. Roadtrips for footy aren't that bad anyway, especially to Thorton, Alex and Yea. Besides the game, you almost you feel like your on holidays.

Dont follow much first div, only that Reverend Conrau went to coldy, silvan have lost a lot, and grailing is off to Kerang who have a bigger budget than the state government.

Upwey
Monbulk
Worri
Mt Eve
Gembrook

Warby
Healesville
Olinda
Silvan
Wandin

League B&F WadePorter

Yarra Glen
Seville
Alex
Kinglake
Emerald
Powelltown
Yarra Junction
Yea
Belgrave
Thorton

League B&F Shane Senior

2010 about to start.
i.e.
d. Flag favourites
e. Wooden Spooners

A Warby / Yarra Glen
B Healesville / Kinglake? No Seville? Really even comp Div 2!!
c I will leave the speculation to others.
D UPWEY / KINGLAKE
E WANDIN / BELGRAVE
F You can bet that at years end clubs wont be happy at having to play sides in the finals 3 times during the season. Good to see the league is trying to be pro-active....but the EDFL is Big brother and will seize upon those clubs close to its boarders if the yvmdfl decides to spread its boarders to far.

a/. Gembrook / Yarra Glen
b/. tough one - ladder not much different from 2009
c/. Mark Reilly back to Healesville / Ricky Hay & Attard to Yarra Glen
d/. Woori / Kinglake/Yarra Glen
e/. Wandin / Belgrave

add to c/. Chris Goodlet back to Silvan and M Witlowski to Woori - my tip for league B & F!!

Villian - A touch of Worri bias coming through in the 2 posts, but Witkowski is a class act so you maybe correct - time will tell

Sport Guru and MonnieHawk - Brave Call - I agree and the names you have mentioned are all very handy - just had a crack at a prediction. too be honest I have never seen him play but I heard he was in the EFL team of the year or interleague (cant remember which) so he must go alright. Re Woori Bias - I understand this appears this way but I watched all finals last year and I am thinking that top 3 teams will be unchanged - maybe the order - Upwey - hard too see them getting better than they already are - class act - but I see Woori improving - especially with a big signing - (MW) and I heard Dallas Spencer is returning after a year off - top defender. Anyway good luck too all and maybe we can return to these posts in Sept and see if anyone came close with their predictions!!

Don't get me wrong! I share your enthusiasm for Witkowski's skills and want to know which of our top players to watch out for. Thanks!
On current info, you are on target with Upwey and Woori. Monkie doesn't always get the credit he deserves for his coaching. Could be a two horse race as the others may just slide a bit.
Still remarkably quiet even for this time of the year. Things will probably 'hot up' next month, I hope.

Upwey, Monbulk, Woori, in that order, and then some daylight to the next 4-5 teams.
Upwey are a class above the rest and will improve with Parsons on board. Porter, Sheers & Heinrich will be better for the year of YV footy under their belts.
They are very clearly the team to beat !