Perty4

Gold Coast
Gday there, was hoping for a bit of help.

We have an end of season trip coming up in March to Newcastle (Im from Melbourne) and was hoping for a bit of an idea on

a) where to stay
b) a pub to centralise during the day with TAB/pool tables etc
c) where the main nightclub/pub strips are

Ive never been to Newcastle so I was hoping for a bit of guidance. Even if you can direct me to the right streets and ill look for motel accomodation from there...

Cheers

Newcastle rocks! CBD area is a hole full of druggo's and scum and is really run down but the night life is awesome and the beaches are great. It's a really laid back place and there are heaps of hot chicks getting around. You may struggle getting cheap accom. There's a Formula 1 shit hole motel outside of town and the Ibis (in town) charges about $140pn which is pretty much the norm..

Having been brought up in the wonderful town of Newcastle I may be able to offer a few suggestions.

A good place to stay would be around Hamilton, near to Beaumont Street. There are about 4 or 5 pubs in the area, so plenty of places to drink, and there are some nice places to eat too.
The Northern Star Hotel on Beaumont St does have accomodation which may be up your alley considering it seems you are on a lads weekend. There is a TAB, Pool table & pokies there too. Hamilton is also either a walk/short taxi from the racecourse if a day at the ponies tickles your fancy.
All of the pubs along that strip are pretty popular and they normally have some sort of live entertainment on at night.
Other popular Pubs/Nightclubs are in the City, such as the Brewery, Fanny's, Crown & Anchor, Finnegans etc. There is also a seedy late night pub called the Ducks Nuts if you are planning an all nighter (and there is a brothel next door if you can't pick up :D )

A word of advice - avoid walking between nightspots late at night. There has been a few hassles of late, which the cops are trying to pin on drunken patrons, though in fact it is really Underagers and such.

If you want to run any other questions by me...give me a yell