Next year???

JeNnO_powerfreak_21

PAFC, PAMFC, Waratahs.
I thought you guys were bad enough this year. But all the talk about Whitnall, Fev., Campo and Lappin going i would be upset if i were a Carlton supporter. You's are losseing preety much all of your leadership team.

JeNnO_powerfreak_21 said:
I thought you guys were bad enough this year. But all the talk about Whitnall, Fev., Campo and Lappin going i would be upset if i were a Carlton supporter. You's are losseing preety much all of your leadership team.

I can't argue too much with that mate. I wouldn't mind if Whitnall, Lappin and Camporeale were gone but we need to keep Fevola - it's a must do IMO.

The issue is whether we bite the bullet and make some hard calls on those 4 players and trade 2 or 3 of them to get draft picks. We have picks 1, 4 and 20 already. We will get good kids there and we have pick 1 in the PSD where we will get a good player. It's going to be a slow rebuilding process that many supporters don't seem to be able to see.

It will take a few drafts to rebuild but many want to do it all in this years draft which just wont happen. We cant have our list nearly all kids with many of them 1st year players, that would be ridiculous. It will take time and hopefully we pick enough good ones to be a power club again in the near future.

Paddy Hicks said:
I can't argue too much with that mate. I wouldn't mind if Whitnall, Lappin and Camporeale were gone but we need to keep Fevola - it's a must do IMO.

The issue is whether we bite the bullet and make some hard calls on those 4 players and trade 2 or 3 of them to get draft picks. We have picks 1, 4 and 20 already. We will get good kids there and we have pick 1 in the PSD where we will get a good player. It's going to be a slow rebuilding process that many supporters don't seem to be able to see.

It will take a few drafts to rebuild but many want to do it all in this years draft which just wont happen. We cant have our list nearly all kids with many of them 1st year players, that would be ridiculous. It will take time and hopefully we pick enough good ones to be a power club again in the near future.
I would rather we keep Whitnall than Fev

Blues_Man said:
I would rather we keep Whitnall than Fev
Couldn't disagree with you more.
Fevola can kick 100+ goals and he is fit
Whitnall can kick bout 30 goals and is unfit and if goes on a new contract will let his weight go again.

I think Whits has turned the corner after being used as trade bait last year and theres few EVEN round here that would say he had a bad year!!!
Even though hes meant to be a chf which imo we havent got the luxury of playing him there atm..

Fev has been done to death everyone knows he had a groin and later a finger injury and after wacthing Gehrig for a fair big of the season ive come to realise fev is a sook..lets hope he learns to play with some injuries like the ELITE players do(which is his payday) otherwise i doubt anyone will take him on ..Hope hes a cfc player till the end though hehe

No one's off limits if the trade's right. But we won't see all 4 go. Will be peeved if we trade any of them cheaply.

DIG said:
No one's off limits if the trade's right. But we won't see all 4 go. Will be peeved if we trade any of them cheaply.

Depends what you consider cheap.
For me I would swap Campo for a 3rd round pick (50 to 60).
Lappin for a 2nd round pick (25 to 30).

mojo31 said:
Depends what you consider cheap.
For me I would swap Campo for a 3rd round pick (50 to 60).
Lappin for a 2nd round pick (25 to 30).

If we swapped Campo for something as little as that i'd be totally disgusted with the club.

In fact if we didn't do everything in our power to make sure he remains a Blue for life i'd be very disappointed.

The guys refused offers from Adelaide clubs and taken pay cuts for us we owe him the honour of being a one club player.

AndSmithMustScore said:
If we swapped Campo for something as little as that i'd be totally disgusted with the club.

In fact if we didn't do everything in our power to make sure he remains a Blue for life i'd be very disappointed.

The guys refused offers from Adelaide clubs and taken pay cuts for us we owe him the honour of being a one club player.

The guy used his manager and an Adelaide offer to get himslef a huge contract and 600k in the final year of it.
I would trade him for a 3rd round pick. Short of no offer I would delist him.
I want him far far away from Walker and every other young player.
Dont want them turning into money hungry, undisciplined sooks. Who do the minimum at training, get reported because they cant put up with a tagger, argue with umpires and chase keep kicks all game and wont pick up a player.

20 x 15.1m kicks a game does not help the team. Especially when 10 of them are from playing off from a behind and running past for the handpass.

mojo31 said:
The guy used his manager and an Adelaide offer to get himslef a huge contract and 600k in the final year of it.
I would trade him for a 3rd round pick. Short of no offer I would delist him.
I want him far far away from Walker and every other young player.
Dont want them turning into money hungry, undisciplined sooks. Who do the minimum at training, get reported because they cant put up with a tagger, argue with umpires and chase keep kicks all game and wont pick up a player.

20 x 15.1m kicks a game does not help the team. Especially when 10 of them are from playing off from a behind and running past for the handpass.
Very harsh Mojo, but true. He learnt his craft from those who went before him and got their money above the salary cap. We started that though. Bringing in Bradley, Kernahan, etc for millions led to them becoming the leaders of the club. What did they teach Silvagni, then later Kouta, Whits, Hamill and Campo? "Hold the club to ransom, hold out, they'll pay you, one way or another". For God's sake Bradley won a premiership and then held out, threatening to go to Port. It's the club culture now unfortunately.

it just highlights the fact we need to re-build and we need to be agressive in our re-building.
it may be time for new blood and the mention players may need to be moved on while they still have some value.

if that happens we could potentially end up with (4-5) 1st rd picks, (3-4) 2nd rd picks, (2-3) 3rd rd picks and (2-3) players from other clubs. this would require some work and a lot of luck but is an option available.
sure we won't win many games over the next 2 years but after that we should be challenging for finals for the next 6-8 years

leadership team :confused:
two of them are more worried about their hip pockets and life after footy
one is as thick as a brick and doesn't realise how much talent he has been given and
the other has pulled his finger out tis season but needs to continue on

as a supporter you want to see your team win each week, but that is unrealistice to expect that each week.

i personally want to see players put in 100% each week, walk off the ground having given their all and see our young players are developing into very good & great players.

as long as supporters can see the team improving and on the right track losses can be tolerated.

the way the afl works all teams are going to spend time at the bottom at some stage.

couldn't care less if all 4 went. If any of those quartet are part of our leadership group for the next journey of the Carlton football then we are in deep sh.t.