Nick Ries

• Thread starter Thread starter Roughie

Agree, Roughie. With so much talent coming through the ranks it's a make or break season for them.

Ladson, Ball & Ries should ensure they start Uni or Trades school or keep going with their studies as they will have to make way so we can draft some decent, actual footballers in 2006 for 2007 season (the so called superdraft)

nah i reckon ladson will improve heaps next year, was playing pretty good footy late this season before he broke his arm..hes got silky skills and i hope he steps up early next year, keeps his spot and is consistent.

Spot on swift24. Rick the Lad was looking really good and the thing he has over Ries is that he has good skill.
Ries is a ball magnet but is near on impotent when he gets it and has no pace.

Ries is a nightmare, dont know how he continually gets a game, last year on the list without a doubt!

Main Man said:
Ries is a nightmare, dont know how he continually gets a game, last year on the list without a doubt!

Agree was shocked he was kept on the list this long, but i suppose we didn't have any other good young players coming through like we do now.

Ries is not upto AFL standard in a top 4 team.

The alarm bells must be ringing loudly in his ears when he failed to secure a regular game in a team that finished near the bottom of the ladder in 2005.

Its not Ries' fault that he won't make it at AFL level, but our recruiting department that thought he was a player, our coaches (Schwab & Co) and football Director (Brereton) that thought he was worth persisting with and Dunstall's fault for re-signing him (along with Ball). He just has not got what it takes to help Hawthorn win a premiership.

Solution: Play him without an opponent against North Kangaroos and just keep giving him the ball. Hopefully he will catch Laidley's eye.

Robber Baron said:
Ries is not upto AFL standard in a top 4 team.

Solution: Play him without an opponent against North Kangaroos and just keep giving him the ball. Hopefully he will catch Laidley's eye.

why even bother ? as long as he's played for Hawthorn your bound to receive at least 2 first rounders from the Kanga's

182 cm - 82 kg

72 games - 17 goals

2 career Brownlow Medal votes

"A solid and clever playmaker with a mature outlook and strong leadership characteristics."

What more can you say about young Nick? This lad seems like he'd make a fine rooboy in 2007! How do the Hawks titillate interest at Arden Street and grab another Kangaroo first rounder in 2006?:D

Great Handballing skills out of packs and under presure but his kicking sucks, If he could kick well he would be a handy midfielder!

Lil_ManHawk said:
Great Handballing skills out of packs and under presure but his kicking sucks, If he could kick well he would be a handy midfielder!

Right you are.

Has talent and can find the pill, but his lack of penetration on the kick is a major drawback and he does lack leg speed.