bluesforever

Suspended
Nov 24, 2003
If anyone seems to be bored, any chance you could jot down all the Carlton Players nicknames, and why they are branded with that nickname? I don't seem to know enough. I pretty much know there's Big Red, Houla, Kouta (has many) Campo, Fev (has many) but yeah thats just a few i know...

1=1aw
3=Diggers
4=livo
6=simmo
8= Big red
9=Clarkey
10=Johno
11=Barney or nugget
12=lappo
13=blackers
14=fish
15=Teaguee
16=campo
17=carlos
18=Chisel
21=tlo
24=stevo
25=fev
26=archie
27=Chrissie
28=prender
29=scoots
30= Was vincent, now waitey
31=jordy
32=T-Bird
33=houla
34=wiggo
35=raz
36=sporny
37=Normo or stormin
40=AB
43=Kouta
44=Carrots

TheSheik said:
That is, without a doubt, the most poxy nickname I've ever heard for a footballer. Sounds more like he should be playing basketball or golf, not Aussie Rules footy.

Surely someone can come up with a better nom-de-plume for the guy ??

He actually didn't have a nickname and this was one somebody just decided to add into Inside Carlton.

Teagueeee15 said:
He actually didn't have a nickname and this was one somebody just decided to add into Inside Carlton.

Well I reckon it's about time that he was given a new one then. I'll go away and think about it for a while.

The only one that comes immediately to mind is 'Slingblade' due to the fact that the lead actor in that movie was Billy-Bob Thornton.

we all call Houlihan 'Hot Lips' in reference to the character in MASH

I was calling Lance 'Big W' for a while but i'll have to cut that out.

Fevalenko is always good

When Adrian DeLuca gets the ball my younger brother and i are sometimes inclined to sing, 'Hello, my name's DeLuca. I live on the second floor'.

cypher said:
Didn't Rex call him Barlow and Chambers?

I had joked about that with a mate of mine ages before Rex even tried that one. We were always wondering if Barlow of Hawthorn could play on Chambers of WCE and then the commentators could say they were 'hanging' around the forward line.

Some years later, one of the Ch9 commentators went closeto saying something like that by accident and Dennis Commetti quickly chimed in with "don't go near there" in a wry fashion.

Nicknames