Nissy Wins AFL Award

Nisbett Wins AFL Award

The Australian Football League has announced that West Coast Eagles Chief Executive Trevor Nisbett had been awarded the first annual Graeme Samuel Scholarship.

The scholarship was inaugurated in June 2003 to recognise Mr Samuel's 20-year contribution to the game as an AFL Commissioner and provides a $20,000 award for an administrator to undertake further study at an educational institution.

AFL Chief Executive Officer Andrew Demetriou said Mr Nisbett was chosen based around the selection critieria:

* the recipient to be specifically working in the business and administration discipline of football

* has at least five years work experience generally, including at least two in the Australian Football industry

* has an ambition to work long term in the football industry

* has demonstrated the capacity to be progressive with his/her current vocation and be able to demonstrate examples of initiative and innovation.

"Trevor is an extremely deserving winner of this scholarship, which will further his career development in the business and administration of football," Mr Demetriou said.

Nisbett has held the role of chief executive with West Coast since June 1999, following a three-month tenure as acting chief executive from March 1999.

This followed on from his position as football manager of the club from September 1989, in which he played a pivotal role in a successful Michael Malthouse-driven campaign that saw the club net premierships in both 1992 and 1994.

Prior to that, Nisbett had held key administration posts at West Australian Football League clubs Subiaco and East Perth in the 1980s.

Nisbett will receive $20,000 to fund a course of study from a list of postgraduate facilities endorsed by the AFL. The course undertaken will be at his discretion.

Great Eagles man, no doubt played a big part in our flags. He'd have to be amoung the top 10 (maybe 5) figures at the club at this point in time.

Not a jaw dropping story but what do you guys reckon - is Trev going to be a big player at AFL HQ in a few years time ?

He's quite young still (in top jobs terms) and a nod like this from the league is surely a good sign.

How would you feel about him (or Brian Cook for that matter) getting a key job at AFL level ?, also for any Freo people having a read (we know you like to watch), how would you feel about this ? is he a good West Aussie footy person who you'd rather have in there than some Victorian or is he Eagles scum you would hate to see moving into a position of power at league level.

Originally posted by Black JuJu

Great Eagles man, no doubt played a big part in our flags. He'd have to be amoung the top 10 (maybe 5) figures at the club at this point in time.

Not a jaw dropping story but what do you guys reckon - is Trev going to be a big player at AFL HQ in a few years time ?

He's quite young still (in top jobs terms) and a nod like this from the league is surely a good sign.

How would you feel about him (or Brian Cook for that matter) getting a key job at AFL level ?, also for any Freo people having a read (we know you like to watch), how would you feel about this ? is he a good West Aussie footy person who you'd rather have in there than some Victorian or is he Eagles scum you would hate to see moving into a position of power at league level.

Nisbett is obviously an exceptional administrator doesn't chase the headlines the way someone like Fat Eddie does, he just sits in the background making sure everything is running flawlessly and the profits keep on rolling in.

As for whether he goes to AFL hq, on one hand he'd do an outstanding job, on the other, it'd be terrible for the club if we lost him. For the moment, I think I'll just be selfish and hope that Demetriou's trademark cronyism keeps Trev away from an AFL job- we like him where he is

Well done to Trevor Nisbett, you cant hold such a position in the club for so long without doing things right. Glad he was the first choice for this scholarship, and hope that it benefits both Trevor and the club further.

Frankly I think it's appalling that a bloke pulling down 100+ large gets a gift like this when genuinely struggling folk WHO DON'T ALREADY HAVE A JOB are hard-pressed to pony up the ante for their education/ticket to work.

It's not as though Nisbett is some punk kid with raw promise, looking to stay in the footballing industry but needing some credentials to do so.

He's the freaking CEO of one of the richest football corporations in Australia.

What's he going to study - Marketing 101?

Please note that I am in no way being derogatory to Mr Nisbett or to the WCE. I just reckon this is the worst application of an education scholarship I have EVER seen. Ever.

Originally posted by The Mission Man
Frankly I think it's appalling that a bloke pulling down 100+ large gets a gift like this when genuinely struggling folk WHO DON'T ALREADY HAVE A JOB are hard-pressed to pony up the ante for their education/ticket to work.

I couldn't help laughing when I read this, its one of the funniest things I have ever read!

Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Why? It's a fair comment. But then again, at least it's paying for something educational...

So tell me, how do you figure the AFL funding a club administrator to improve his qualifications relates to unemployed people in the general public? Maybe you think the AFL should just fund centrelink instead? Its common practice for corporate institutions to fund the education of their employees. Why target the AFL? You think the money is better off sitting in the AFL coffers?

Originally posted by coasting
So tell me, how do you figure the AFL funding a club administrator to improve his qualifications relates to unemployed people in the general public? Maybe you think the AFL should just fund centrelink instead? Its common practice for corporate institutions to fund the education of their employees. Why target the AFL?

Not necessarily agreeing with the unemployed angle, but certainly with the dichotomy of a scholarship for a man who is already a powerful CEO versus the alternative.

I simply think it could be better spent - not on the random unemployed, but someone else within the AFL/Club hierarachy who might actually really benefit from the money. Nisbett is a highly skilled and experienced CEO who I really can't see benefitting that much in career terms from further formalised education. Now I'm happy to be proven wrong, but that's how it seems to me.

Originally posted by Mr Eagle
Not necessarily agreeing with the unemployed angle, but certainly with the dichotomy of a scholarship for a man who is already a powerful CEO versus the alternative.

I simply think it could be better spent - not on the random unemployed, but someone else within the AFL/Club hierarachy who might actually really benefit from the money. Nisbett is a highly skilled and experienced CEO who I really can't see benefitting that much in career terms from further formalised education. Now I'm happy to be proven wrong...

That's going to be hard to do.

I didn't necessarily mean that some random homeless alcoholic should have 20 large pressed into their hands. Instead I imagine some young person on the threshold of a football industry career - someone a lot like the description of who the Samuels Scholarship was intended to go to (vis "* the recipient to be specifically working in the business and administration discipline of football; * has at least five years work experience generally, including at least two in the Australian Football industry; * has an ambition to work long term in the football industry;* has demonstrated the capacity to be progressive with his/her current vocation and be able to demonstrate examples of initiative and innovation") - should be the recipient. Someone who isn't already at the top of the tree.

I got a bit carried away, but the idea of a CEO copping 20K to continue his education seems a tad unnecessary.

the idea of a CEO copping 20K to continue his education seems a tad unnecessary.
Agreed.

(And all it would take to prove me/you/us wrong is the name of the course(s) he'll be taking and a list of the skills he intends to gain as a result...)

I got a bit carried away, but the idea of a CEO copping 20K to continue his education seems a tad unnecessary.

I agree!

Though I am somewhat worried by my propensity to agree with Freo supporters since my return (first RIPPER then you) and before you ask no I am not following Sera.

Back to the topic though. I would have liked to have seen the club being awarded the $20k based on Trevs great work. Trev get the recognition and the funding is spent on up and coming management types coming up through the club.

Originally posted by no1bankteller
I agree!

Though I am somewhat worried by my propensity to agree with Freo supporters since my return (first RIPPER then you) and before you ask no I am not following Sera.

Back to the topic though. I would have liked to have seen the club being awarded the $20k based on Trevs great work. Trev get the recognition and the funding is spent on up and coming management types coming up through the club.

Great suggestion No1.

Good to see that you are realising that we are so agreeable.