Travel North Korea

• Thread starter Thread starter BigBadCam

I'd love to go there as well just for weirdness. Was in Syria just recently and seeing all the proper dictator type murals and pics and statues of Assad was well crazy, **** knows what North Korea would be like.

But basically, everything J_Moore said. If you do get in, you're on a tightly controlled tour, from the second you get up to until you go to your (bugged) room.

For a middle ground type experince, I reckon Iran is the go. You can travel reasonably freely there.

Count me as another who would like to go. I mt a guy who went there a few years ago and said it was great. The Arirang games is aparently the best and easiest time to get in.

A mate of mine went a few years ago also. Said it was just as surreal as you'd imagine. No music anywhere, huge highways with no cars, no litter anywhere, massive monuments, etc. He tried to sneak out from the official meeting he was at one day and got yelled at by people with black arm bands and was escorted back to the hotel. He tried to take photos but was told the locals are scared to have their picture taken and kept looking away. The photo ops were all at monument sites for "the Great Leader."

Here's a couple of pictures he sent me.

4791903169_988bb8232e.jpg

4792535966_bc15325038.jpg

4792535980_d2f48a2f3c.jpg

Traffic cop is hot, but you might have trouble trying to score there.

I've seen it, but I'm watching it again. It's really so truly surreal.

Exactly why I want to go there. When I get the chance to get away, I like to go exploring. The strange, the surreal, the things which make this world such an amazing place - those are the things I want to see. Material possessions mean nothing to me anymore. The older I get, the more I crave experiences such as this.

It would be a fascinating place to visit.

I can't remember the name of the doco i saw on nth korea and am unable to do a good search as i'm at work. This one looks good though, titled "welcome to north korea"

http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/welcome-to-north-korea/

I'm going to watch it tonight. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

BTW, thanks for introducing me to this site - a true time suck if ever there was one. I'll just have to keep away from all the conspiracy polemic bullshit lest it rot my brain...

No worries cops.

I watched 2 last night about worm holes - time travel and black holes. Despite them being presented by morgan freeman both were outstanding. They're in the science section, give them a go if inspired.

Yes, stay away from the conspiracy theory ones, they will only rot your brain.

No worries cops.

I watched 2 last night about worm holes - time travel and black holes. Despite them being presented by morgan freeman both were outstanding. They're in the science section, give them a go if inspired.

Yes, stay away from the conspiracy theory ones, they will only rot your brain.

I've been watching the BBC 'Life' series. Anything with David Attenborough is bound to be good, he loves doing it so much, you can tell.

I just wish there were more sports docos ;)