lasher

hawks
i already know that alot of you will be trying to find all these positives from todays game but WE LOST....TO A CRAP TEAM WE SHOULD HAVE BEATEN....
WE CHOKED BIG TIME AND THERE ARE NO BLOODY EXCUSES...
WE HAD SO MANY CHANCES , LOOK AT THE SCORING SHOTS , WE SHOULD HAVE WON THE GAME BY AT LEAST 4 GOALS BUT OUR PATHETIC SKILLS AGAIN KILLED US....
WE WILL NOT WIN A GAME ALL YEAR NOW , OUR SKILLS ARE NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR THIS LEVEL OF FOOTBALL...
I AM DEAD SET PI@#ED WITH OUR LACK OF ENDEVOUR WHEN IT COUNTS...
WE ARE A BETTER TEAM THAN RICHMOND , WE ARE A BETTER TEAM.. BUT POOR SKILLS BY SO CALLED EXPERIENCED PLAYERS LET DOWN THE EFFORTS OF PLAYERS LIKE FRANKLIN AND MITCHELL.
VANDENBERG IS THE MOST PATHETIC PLAYER EVER TO BE CAPTAIN OF HAWTHORN..HE IS A JOKE AND SHOULD BE DROPPED....
MITCHELL FOR CAPTAIN .....
DONT ANYONE DARE SAY , OH BUT WE IMPROVED ON LAST WEEK BECAUSE THATS A LOAD OF CRAP..WE WERE PLAYING RICHMOND REMEMBER , ANY TEAM WITH HALF OUR SKILL WOULD HAVE BLOODY WELL CREAMED THEM SO DONT GET EXCITED ABOUT IMPROVEMENT...

NEXT WEEK LEWIS , ROUGHHEAD , TAYLOR AND BOYLE SHOULD ALL BE PLAYING...GAME TIME FOR THE YOUTH NOW...

NEXT WEEKS TEAM SHOULD LOOK LIKE THIS....

B: thurgood hay smith ( better improve or run with BH )

HB: boyle croad brown

C: bateman crawford v'berg ( id drop him but captain tag will )
( save his sorry arse )

HF: franklin barker hodge

F: williams roughead ladson

FOLL : everitt , mitchell , lewis

INTER : clarke , beaumont , lonie , taylor...

the week after osbourne comes in and either smith , lonie , brown or ladson go out...

I love you lasher but you are wrong.

We cant make people do the right thing.

But my keyboards is stuck on something.

I thought they did well this week.

Sorry was I supposed to grumble.

Lasher, you need to settle down and remember to take your pills. Hawks aren't there with the skills yet, but there is hope in that area.
Our accuracy let us down and that has to improve soon.
The first point you're not mentioning is EFFORT. There was effort today and that is an improvement!
The second point you're not mentioning is INTENSITY. There was intensity and that is also improvement!
Can't say I'm happy with the result but I am encouraged by today's performance. I'm a lot less disappointed than I was last Sunday!

i'm more dissapointed this week ,...

last week we got well beaten by possibly a top 6 - 8 side away from home in round 1......

this week we choked and coffed up a win to the reigning wooden spooners at home ...

I had to put up with a bunch of whinging Hawthorn supporters all game and it was annoying me very much, but to be honest I saw a lot of positives with the Hawks.

Lance Franklin is a gun, the guy is an ox. If he improves his second and third efforts, he's gonna be a gem of a player.

Spider looks like he's gonna have another ripper season, did a lot of positive stuff.

Harry Miller looks like an exciting prospect, He reminds me a bit of Leon Davis but he looks like he's going to be what everyone though Leon Davis would be.

I noticed that your forward line was pretty sparse in the first quarter but improved dramatically after the second.

Anyways good game! and at least we'll be close together all year long. :(

Annoying thread. Couldn't be bothered reading most of it.

We lost to Richmond - no excuses. We played the better footy for most of the game but couldn't convert it. Mitchell tore them a new one in the middle and Crawford and Bateman were very good out wide. Spider was simply Spider - superb.

Some players do not look up to league standard though: Lonie, Beaumont, Holland, Sewell, Vandenberg. :( Smith and Hay put in absolute shockers, but are better than that.

As for the young guys, Lance Franklin looks like a future superstar. Have you ever seen a bloke that size move that well? Not a bad left boot he's got on him either (no right foot though). He's going to be some player.

Thurgood was really good too. Carved up Deledio down back early on, showed real dash and courage. Wasn't as sold on Miller as other's seem to be - made some really dumb mistakes.

One last guy who deserves a pat on the back - Campbell Brown. His aggression was a real strength of ours today, and that **** Nathan Brown was looking over his shoulder for the rest of the day after he was collected. Loved seeing Coughlin line him up and get flattened. The subsequent fight was entertaining and gave our captain something to do that he's actually good at. ;)

With all due respect lasher i've got to question your lack of footy knowledge. We got beaten today by our inability to finish,nothing more,nothing less! We won every stat but on the scoreboard where Richmond were able to take advantage of their opportunities better and full credit to them. But whoever lost today no matter what,to say the loser choked is absolute rubbish! The game i saw today along with many impartial observers i've listened to in the press on the way home was between to very inexperienced sides who both had a real crack. We had 3 second game players in today who were all among our best along with a ruckman who had to play a lone hand and was clearly best afield,i'd hope even Grendel would agree with that,and while our inaccuracy cost us,to even question the endeavour or physicality of either team is farcical. Today is one of the better quality matches either of these sides have been involved in for a good while and both sides ran themselves to a standstill. BUT let's give credit where it's due Richmond took the points and while we may think we should have the fact we didn't had nothing to do with choking. Both sides played a real good brand of footy although somewhat contrasting. AC showed us today the type of game plan he is trying to implement and while i was disappointed to lose i was very excited by what we showed today. To play as well as we did with our Captain and VC both out of sorts shows that the youth policy we are adopting will bear fruit as none of the young blokes looked out of their depth. Both sides made mistakes today,but none of the glaring circus tent mistakes of past years[Tim Clarkes last kick aside and i'm trying to forget that as i thought he had a good game today]most mistakes by both sides today were made due to pressure from the opposition. If we continue to persist and play in the same vain as today then wins will come,with pain must come patience.

Look on the bright side. Towards the end of 2005, and Wallace is desperately trying to contrive a No.1 draft pick, this may be one game he wishes he'd have lost. :)
And did I read correctly that a rookie elevation carved up the No.1 draft pick? Do we start those annoying threads now about Richmond making a mistake or do we wait until later? :D

FFS..game was in the balance till the last 2 min..could have gone anyway..
I will be very disapointed if many tiges supporters [bar some from ANY team you cant stop] come on here gloating about a win that was a toss of the coin which way it would go..
Also very happy with our draft picks BUT so should be the hawks..
Buddy very good today ..roughy good in the 2nds...
How about we all grow up and realise BOTH sides are happy with there picks and i doubt any of them will be DUDS as some childish posters seem to love saying every 2nd post..

PS ..I dare any supporter from either side to say at any stage today [bar last couple of minutes] that the game was in the bag....

Grechy said:
I had to put up with a bunch of whinging Hawthorn supporters all game and it was annoying me very much, but to be honest I saw a lot of positives with the Hawks.

Lance Franklin is a gun, the guy is an ox. If he improves his second and third efforts, he's gonna be a gem of a player.

Spider looks like he's gonna have another ripper season, did a lot of positive stuff.

Harry Miller looks like an exciting prospect, He reminds me a bit of Leon Davis but he looks like he's going to be what everyone though Leon Davis would be.

I noticed that your forward line was pretty sparse in the first quarter but improved dramatically after the second.

Anyways good game! and at least we'll be close together all year long. :(
i was also at the game and I would have to agree with u on all acounts.
Franklin- potential screaming out
Spider- hey no matter wat u think, is one of the best (if not the best) ruckman going around at the current time.
Miller-great to see some aboriginal talents at Hawthorn, and it seems we've picked up 2 gems (Miller and Franklin)
I thought our movement was good, but we need a Full Foward. Not a young tall bloke but a exprience Foward. We have to work our arses off to get a regect foward in next years trading. We havent really got any one (except spider) who can take a contested mark. it took us ages to get our first today.
well overall (i've calmed down since i got home) another frustrating year, but as they say u've gotta look for the positives. give us another year after this one, and then we might be knockin on the door of the eight.

Great game by all the kids today, as typical
our senior players let us down.

Cant wait to offload these incompetant and get some kids that have footy smarts.

Go Hardcore Hawks!

Adelaide Hawk said:
Look on the bright side. Towards the end of 2005, and Wallace is desperately trying to contrive a No.1 draft pick, this may be one game he wishes he'd have lost. :)
And did I read correctly that a rookie elevation carved up the No.1 draft pick? Do we start those annoying threads now about Richmond making a mistake or do we wait until later? :D
Leave it go for now I'd say. Just wait for bentleigh or Ottenz to start another thread saying how they got the best of the draft before we remind them of Buddy and Thurgood's brilliance today. Anyone with eyes could see today who the stars of the future will be.

Im concerned, can we win a game for the season, seriously>?

I dont care where we finish as long as we can at least win 3 or 4 games, or maybe even just 1!!!!

Huge risk making Vandenberg captain and will not pay off. An absolute battler at best he now has to overcome the special attention of opposition teams.Nowhwere near good enough to stand up. A shocking decision that AC must already be rueing.

Nightwolf_69 said:
Im concerned, can we win a game for the season, seriously>?

I dont care where we finish as long as we can at least win 3 or 4 games, or maybe even just 1!!!!

I think both sides have a bit to look forward to over the next few years. Lot's of good promising youngsters on the horizon. Frankin looks the goods and Thurgood is exciting. It's clubs like collingwood and essendon who have the biggest problems. Old timers are now finished and not many kids coming thru. How sweet it is!!!

itsintheblood said:
I think both sides have a bit to look forward to over the next few years. Lot's of good promising youngsters on the horizon. Frankin looks the goods and Thurgood is exciting. It's clubs like collingwood and essendon who have the biggest problems. Old timers are now finished and not many kids coming thru. How sweet it is!!!
Couldn't agree more.

Collingwood have nothing coming through.

Our sides and the doggies have some serious talent. What's scary is that we're probably both going to clean up at the draft this year as well.

superstar said:
Couldn't agree more.

Collingwood have nothing coming through.

Our sides and the doggies have some serious talent. What's scary is that we're probably both going to clean up at the draft this year as well.

Bring it on!!!! If it means collingwood keep recruiting the likes of caracella and morrison and williams then that's a win all round!!! Caracella, a 2nd game collingwood player was their best against the crows. That says a lot. Happy days!!!!

Grendel said:
Err.. no! Sorry mate, Sammy was my best.
I take your point and he was great Gren but he didn't have to play a lone hand against 3 opponents which is why i gave the big fella the nod. Squizzy Taylor will play next week as well by the look of it so Spida doesn't run out of tickets by round 3. Blood em i say,there our future.