Catsmaninamerica

Cricket, Surfing
So over the years - players change, but the numbers remain. Who is the players - eve. From decades ago- who will always be linked in your mind and heart - to a particular number? For me,
2. Bruce Lindner
7. Paul couch
14. David clarke Senior
30. Damien Bourke
Etc

So over the years - players change, but the numbers remain. Who is the players - eve. From decades ago- who will always be linked in your mind and heart - to a particular number? For me,
2. Bruce Lindner
7. Paul couch
14. David clarke Senior
30. Damien Bourke
Etc
Good thread. I don't want to hog this but many of my ex favourites just jump at me. Trying to not include any players from this millennium...

This is a great topic while we go walking. Came up with oodles more memories.
I'm sure my memory has led to some errors here
1- Wayne Closter, Steven King, Steven Hocking
2- Denis Marshall, Glen Middlemiss-played in a team against his team as a kid -freak!,Leigh Colbert
3- Kenny Newland,Peter Johnston, Mark Bairstow, Adam Houlihan
4. Alistair Lord, Phil Stevens- thunder thighs!, Jason Snell
5- Polly Farmer, David Barkley, Gary Malarkey, Gary Ablett Senior.
6- Stewart Lord, Gareth Andrews, Rex Hunt, John Barnes
7- Terry Callan, Kelvin Matthews, Brian Peake, Paul Couch, Ben Graham
8- Paul Vinar, Chris Mitchell, Kevin Sheehan, Robert Scott, Ronnie Burns
9- John Devine, Micky Turner, Shayne Breuer, Clint Bizzell
10- John Sharrock, Grant Tanner, Stephen Hooper, John Mossop, Mike Woolnough
11- Darren Morgan, Peter Featherby, Greg Williams
12- Gordon Hynes, Mark Browne (Geelong West with brother Ricky #7- great memories),Brad Sholl
13- Glenn Kilpatrick, Paul Sarah
14- David Clarke, Darren Flanigan
15- Jeff Cassidy, Bernard Toohey, Peter Riccardi
16- Rod Blake, Billy Brownless
17- Sammy Newman, Stephen Reynoldson- not the next big thing, Gavin Exell
18- Murray Witcombe, Sean Denham, Paul Lynch, Kent Kingsley
19- Neville Bruns, Derek Hall
20- Ray Card, Stephen O'Reilly
21- Mark Yeates, Michael Mansfield
22- Ian Hampshire, Paul Jefferies, Mark Neeld
23- Doug Wade, Larry Donohue, Michael Schulze, Liam Pickering
24- Bryan Cousins, Trevor Poole, Mark Bos, Mark Blake
25- Geoff Ainsworth, Mark Jackson
26- Bill Ryan, Jack Hawkins
27- Geoff Rosenow, Andrew Bews
28- Hugh Strahan, Andy Preston, Tim Darcy
29- Mario Bortolotto, Kenny Hinkley, Ramsay Bogunavich- not many games, but got to know him well,
30- John Scarlett, Damian Burke
31- Roy West, David Mensch
32- Garry Hocking
33- Bruce Nankervis, Darren Forssman, Max Rooke- could not resist a modern timer
34- Peter Walker, Zane Taylor
35- Billy Goggin
36- Tony Polinelli, Peter Doyle
37- Tommy Floyd
38- Austin McCrabb, Peter Zychla- memorable only for his alphabetical surname
39- Kevin Higgins, Steven Lunn
40- Ian Nankervis, Paul Brown
41- Shane Mumford
44- Corey Enright, Nigel Lappin-- well he's been with us a while now!
45-Cameron Ling
47- Marty Christensen

Good thread. I don't want to hog this but many of my ex favourites just jump at me.
2- Denis Marshall
3- Kenny Newland
4. Alistair Lord
5- Polly, Senior,
6- Stewart Lord
7- Terry Callan
8- Chris Mitchell
9- Micky Turner, Paul Vinar
10- John Sharrock
12- Gordon Hynes
15- Jeff Cassidy, Peter Riccardi
16- Rod Blake
17- Sammy Newman
21- Mark Yeates
22- Paul Jefferies
23- Doug Wade, Larry Donohue
24- Mark Bos
25- Geoff Ainsworth
26- Bill Ryan, Jack Hawkins
27- Andrew Bews
29- Kenny Hinkley
30- John Scarlett
31- Roy West
33- Bruce Nankervis
34- Peter Walker
35- Billy Goggin
36- Peter Doyle
39- Kevin Higgins
40- Ian Nankervis
#5 Gary Ablett Senior

5. GAS
15. Riccardi
16. Brownless
32. Hocking

With the exception of Motlop (who doesn't really hold a candle to Hocking) have been no other players who have come along and taken those numbers out of my mind for those guys (Cockatoo could be something, but he'll never be GAS)

Chappy 35. Every time Danger gets the ball I think of Chappy. Dunno why.
Shocking 1. Just always stuck out cause it was 1.
Lingy 45. Cause it was in the 40's

5. GAS
15. Riccardi
16. Brownless
32. Hocking

With the exception of Motlop (who doesn't really hold a candle to Hocking) have been no other players who have come along and taken those numbers out of my mind for those guys (Cockatoo could be something, but he'll never be GAS)
Billy, Buddha and S Hocking are beauties. Had to leave some for you blokes.

Do you know the history behind that?
I don't sorry. I used to like to believe he choose it cause of Gaz. (Like Warne choose 23.)
But in reality Waugh was pretty no frills.
Would of been batting at 5 when it was number picking time so just went 5.

I don't sorry. I used to like to believe he choose it cause of Gaz. (Like Warne choose 23.)
But in reality Waugh was pretty no frills.
Would of been batting at 5 when it was number picking time so just went 5.
This is fair dinkum. He and the successful Ashes winning team went to the 89 GF.
He witnessed the marvellous Ablett that day and chose #5.
Steve Waugh is an all-time sports hero of mine, not totally due to his cricket- which itself was outstanding- but also his humanity. That #5 decision certainly didn't hurt in my appreciation of him.

Thats another one. Jordan, Warnie & Andy Mcleod 23
Another non Geelong one is Williams No2.
For some reason some numbers just stick in your mind.

This is fair dinkum. He and the successful Ashes winning team went to the 89 GF.
Steve Waugh is an all-time sports hero of mine, not totally due to his cricket- which itself was outstanding- but also his humanity. That #5 decision certainly didn't hurt in my appreciation of him.
Wow! No way. Cheers for that. I didn't know.
Man he stood up when it counted and was needed so often.
That innings in the Windies!

Thats another one. Jordan, Warnie & Andy Mcleod 23
Another non Geelong one is Williams No2.
For some reason some numbers just stick in your mind.
2- John Nicholls, Robbie Flower
3- Leigh Matthews, Michael Voss
4- Plugger, Kernahan
5- Hird, Crimmins
6- Modra
12- Akermanis
15- Blight
18- Carey
19- Dunstall, Roach
23- Brereton, John Peck, Buddy
24- Gary Dempsey
25- Jesaulenko
27-Keith Greig
29- Bartlett

Wow! No way. Cheers for that. I didn't know.
Man he stood up when it counted and was needed so often.
That innings in the Windies!
200 of the most painful runs ever made. The concentration required was out of this world. He was battered and bruised all over, but he kept saying to Ambrose, 'you can hit me, but not my wicket'. Stayed up all night to witness that.

2- John Nicholls
3- Matthews
4- Plugger, Kernahan
5- Hird, Crimmins
16- Blight
18- Carey
19- Dunstall
23- Brereton, John Peck, Buddy
25- Jesaulenko
Ahh yeah Dunstall 19. I still associate him with that number always.
Also Modra!!!! Sensational in the No.6. Burned in my memory.

200 of the most painful runs ever made. The concentration required was out of this world. He was battered and bruised all over, but he kept saying to Ambrose, 'you can hit me, but not my wicket'. Stayed up all night to witness that.
Same. Awesome. Just awesome.
Another one was batting to the end against India in the test that lost the series. Think was Dizzy that went out.
World cup semi.
Actually there's so many. Heaps.

Wow...i didn't know that was the association.
Ablett Snr and S Waugh both my absolute favourites in their respective sports.
Have a room full of memorabilia from both of them.
[emoji106]

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Wow...i didn't know that was the association.
Ablett Snr and S Waugh both my absolute favourites in their respective sports.
Have a room full of memorabilia from both of them.
[emoji106]

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Me too!

Ones that always pop into my head when I see them ..
23 : Doug Wade
5: Polly, Gaz Cant split them.
44: Enright -That number popped up a few times over the journey usually bringing relief from anxiety.
14 : Clark senior .Saw his debut game, remember saying to a mate with a record 'who is no 14? Never asked that again...

Good thread. I don't want to hog this but many of my ex favourites just jump at me.
1- Steven King, S Hocking
2- Denis Marshall
3- Kenny Newland
4. Alistair Lord
5- Polly Farmer, Senior.
6- Stewart Lord, Gareth Andrews
7- Terry Callan
8- Chris Mitchell
9- Micky Turner, Paul Vinar
10- John Sharrock
11- Joel Corey