FreoDocker

I'm a big believer in the saying, you're only as good as your last game and regardless of the last 4 weeks, we were absolutely crap today. I was happy that we fought the game out, which would distinguish us from the Freo of old. But for the majority of the game, I didn't see a team on the rise, I saw a team that simply didn't want it enough.

I thought that we were a good chance in the game, but from the first bounce, the saints were first to the ball and looked hungry (a good sign for the saints fans). The saints hit the ball and the man hard and were consequently great in the clearances all day. What really frustrated me in the first quarter was that when Schammer got hit late, not one freo player went over and remonstrated. Can you imagine if a teammate was decked late in front of Jonathan Brown or blokes like Chris and Brad Scott?

Connolly again playing a spare man in the back line also frustrated me. The saints were getting the better of the midfield dual, but I thought that they were also using the spare man in defence alot better than us in terms of rebounding out of the back line. Gehrig was getting good delivery all day and putting a spare man in the back line was doing bugger all to stop him. It was also dodgy with the amount of times Saints players would take uncontested marks in the back line.

While I thought we played like complete crap for the majority of the game, you've got to give credit to the saints. Everytime we made a mistake, they punished us. They were harder at the ball for the majority of the game and have key forwards who give them confidence and straighten them up going forward.

The most disappointing thing about today’s game was that the Dockers were too S-O-F-T. There's been so much talk of how much weight our players have put on over the preseason, but it means bugger all if you don't know what to do with it. A few players like McPharlin, Bell, Hase, Grover and Pav can hold their heads up, but overall our attack on the ball and the man was pretty poor. Maybe I'm being too critical, but this one cut deep!!

Don't get me wrong, I was yelling support for the boys all day and I've pretty much lost my voice. But I've been critical of a few points even when we have been winning over the past few weeks. I was proud of the boys fighting back like they did in the 3rd and the last Q, but I think we've got to the stage where we won't put up with the crap everyone at the ground saw in the first half, we've moved past that.

**Note I stayed till the end and clapped the boys off, which automatically separates me from 75% of the eagles fans**

Saints didn't really let us play well. Their pressure was excellent. Our forwards were soft though, especially in the first half. Simmonds and Medhurst were shocking early. Atleast JLo provided a contest in the 2nd half.

Originally posted by FreoDocker
Don't get me wrong, I was yelling support for the boys all day and I've pretty much lost my voice. But I've been critical of a few points even when we have been winning over the past few weeks. I was proud of the boys fighting back like they did in the 3rd and the last Q, but I think we've got to the stage where we won't put up with the crap everyone at the ground saw in the first half, we've moved past that.

Fair enough but it is better for this to happen in round 7 than round 22. It would have been easy to chuck it in (like has happened so many times ) but they did back themselves and had a go.

The glass is half full.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Fair enough but it is better for this to happen in round 7 than round 22. It would have been easy to chuck it in (like has happened so many times ) but they did back themselves and had a go.

The glass is half full.

Yep I'll pay that. It is the wakeup call we needed.
But today hurt.

Originally posted by nearlyblonde
:D :D :D

Joy to the world.................

:D

You know things are bad for the E-girls when the only thing they have had to smile about all month is the fact we've lost a game.

Sad.

PS- Enjoy the 15 goal flogging tomorrow.

I'm agreeing with FD here, we played like absolute $#!^. And we have all this year, we've just done enough to get the points.

With this performance I certainly don't think we'll beat the Hawks next week at York Park and I definately don't think we'll beat Brissie either.

1 game can do a lot of damage to a team's confidence and if we don't win next week, we could be in for another long year!

P.S The umpiring was blatantly biased for the Saints and I am a full blooded pessimist :(

Steady on. We haven't lost two games in a row since 02.

I rekon if we were going to play Pav CHF any week, next week is the week to do it. Pav v Croad. It could get ugly.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Didn't see much wrong with the umps today to be honest.

You didn't watch the first half did you? Although I wouldn't blame you though! Blatant free kicks. Gherig kept on taking people high but wasn't picked up. Medhurst was held off practically all the contests and poor old Schammer got cleaned up illegally by Guerra and the umps didn't even stop play when he was down!!!

Originally posted by Kapow!!!
You didn't watch the first half did you? Although I wouldn't blame you though! Blatant free kicks. Gherig kept on taking people high but wasn't picked up. Medhurst was held off practically all the contests and poor old Schammer got cleaned up illegally by Guerra and the umps didn't even stop play when he was down!!!

Havn't seen the replay yet but didn't think the umpires had any influence whatsoever at the game. There were a couple of things that went against us but it goes both ways. We got some soft free kicks in the last quarter. I thought Guerra's bump was fair by the way.

I thought the umpiring was dodgy, but it didn't effect the result of the match, so it's not really worth speaking about. Guerra's bump was legal, but late and should have warranted a free kick if not a kick down the ground. While schammer was down the ball went directly to the other end, leading to a Hamill goal.

I was just ****ed off that noone remonstrated with Guerra after the bump. Like I said before, there has been all this talk over the preseason about how much bigger the team has got and how they would no longer be pushed around physically. But today the saints did just that and we didn't really have much of an answer for it.

from where we sat, you could see Guerra heading straight for the man! Will be interesting to see if anything comes out of it.

Fair if Schammer was within 5 metres of the ball. Except it was about 20 metres away at the time of contact, so a downfield free should have been paid. Certainly not reportable though. Black will probably get a week or 2 unless he can convince the tribunal that he mistook Woods head for the ball.

A mate of mine reckons Medhurst was screwed with that kick on goal with about 3 minutes to go as well, although I haven't seen the replay yet.

Quick back to a rebuilding phase ....I dont think so.

Firstly ...umpiring was fine .

Guerra on Schammer ....hip & shoulder absolutley fair.

Lessons to learn -

* Need to know how to compete for 4 quarters
* St K's pressure undid us ....better lesson to learn now than Round 22 or Finals

Well done to St Kilda - outclassed us. Learn and bounce back.

I agree with what everyones already said, basically that we need to learn what we can from this (good to get a wakeup call in round 7 rather than round 22)........and Pav should be playing at CHF. Especially next week, because we've got the blokes who can run with Crawford, Mitchell et al.

I was a very angry man last nite.
But this morning after really thinking about things , this game really put things into perspective .
1- We all knew we were winning but knew we were playing at our best , infact we are a long way from it.
2- Hats off to St Kilda , they were awesome & to be truthful I dont think they are gonna get much better.
3- We are 2 players from being a premiership team we need a gruntlike midfielder & a full time "Barry Hall" type player up forward which I beleive Simmons is.
4- Our defense is the best in the league , St Kilda wouldve scored 20+ goals against any other team yesterday . A hall mark of a great team in building is that the best is built from the back forward IMO.
5- We werent really that good , it was an off day & CC really should single out some players who have been passengers over this journey this season . Players such as the Longmuirs should learn something about each other , Troy should teach Justin about showing heart and **** like that. Paul Medhurst fair dinkum is one guy I am getting pretty frustrated with , If I was CC I would make him get the #2 haircut . That way he can concentrate on playing a decent level of footy & not worrying on how his latest Hair Doo is gonna look on TV.

Really we deserved what we got & at the end of the day the lads got a good reality check of where we are at . Its not the end of the world we are still 5-2.

Originally posted by Freo Hitman
4- Our defense is the best in the league , St Kilda wouldve scored 20+ goals against any other team yesterday . A hall mark of a great team in building is that the best is built from the back forward IMO.
-

I'd have thought that the Saints defence was better. Conceded less than anyone.