Silent Alarm

sack Lyon
10k Posts
Hi,

So basically, I'm going to uni in a few weeks. I'm living on campus at Curtin University. At the moment, I'm 17. Obviously drinking is a large part in meeting people and making connections.

Orientation starts on the 21st, which is the date of my 18th birthday, which uni not starting until the 27th.

I don't have a passport, and I don't drive.

I'll be getting a proof of age card. But I'm told these take well over the promised 'week' to actually deliver. So I don't want to be high and dry and without any form of ID, despite being old enough to drink.

What should I do in the meantime?

Birth certificate.

A mate of mine had the same problem and he used to take his birth certificate with him as your uni card isnt accepted at some places.

Only place he had trouble getting into was the casino.

Also, just get your drivers licence ASAP as it makes it do much easier.

Good luck at Uni, enjoy it.

Get your license for god sake! POA do take over a week I ordered one just for a second form of I.D which came in handy while waiting for my new license to arrive.

Why would I get my license? I can use public transport for a fraction of the cost of fuel, car repairs, and actually paying for a car, nor lessons in driving. I'm not trying to be harsh, but it's simply not viable, nor something of personal interest.

You should get a learners because they're piss easy to get and an easy form of ID
ALso you should learn how to drive, even if you don't own (or want to own) a car

Why would I get my license? I can use public transport for a fraction of the cost of fuel, car repairs, and actually paying for a car, nor lessons in driving. I'm not trying to be harsh, but it's simply not viable, nor something of personal interest.
Because when you're 21 and all your mates are driving places, they're not going to want to have to come pick you up and drop you home everytime. That gets very annoying real quick. Public transport is fine during the day, but do you really want to catch a bus or train home at night if you can help it?

Get your L's and at least it will start eating into the required amount of time you're supposed to have them for before you can do the drive test.

As for a Proof of Age card, I'm not sure where you live but I got a Keypass here in Melbourne the day I turned 18. I took all the required ID, paid the extra $10 to get it straight away, and it took about an hour to process.

If you've got the time/patience, can easily get around on public transport in Melbourne, despite all the ticketing/Myki/inspector issues. Lived in Melbourne in my last stint there for 8 years for uni and work and got away with not having to need a car.

Now I'm in the States and no car here is like not having an arm or leg. Can't get around anywhere without a car. Public transport blows here.

Sorry for going a bit off topic.

Hi,

So basically, I'm going to uni in a few weeks. I'm living on campus at Curtin University. At the moment, I'm 17. Obviously drinking is a large part in meeting people and making connections.

Orientation starts on the 21st, which is the date of my 18th birthday, which uni not starting until the 27th.

I don't have a passport, and I don't drive.

I'll be getting a proof of age card. But I'm told these take well over the promised 'week' to actually deliver. So I don't want to be high and dry and without any form of ID, despite being old enough to drink.

What should I do in the meantime?

Keypass? They made my brothers on the spot.

Because when you're 21 and all your mates are driving places, they're not going to want to have to come pick you up and drop you home everytime. That gets very annoying real quick. Public transport is fine during the day, but do you really want to catch a bus or train home at night if you can help it?

Get your L's and at least it will start eating into the required amount of time you're supposed to have them for before you can do the drive test.
That's easier said than in practice. I'm studying full time, and I write on the internet as a form of income. It takes up a fair amount of time. On top of that, I'd like to divulge into some assortment of sociability. That's why I'm getting an ID card. So I don't really have the massive amount of time it takes to get a full license. I can't use anyone's car, and I don't fancy spending a lot of money on fuel, care hire, and the cost of (the many) lessons.

On top of that, I'm moving to Melbourne in December. I'm sure it's a hassle having to reapply my WA learning time, over to my Victorian learning time. That is, if you can even 'swap' your learning.

I know so many urbanites who have not had a license. These people range from their early 20s, up toward their 30s. You cannot apply your (limited) knowledge and experience and believe it applies to all.

On top of that, I simply don't like cars. It's something ethical. Why would I further pollute this near-ruined planet? Some people don't like flying, I simply don't like being in a car. I believe the cultural pedestal of the car is absurd and outdated. Why does every single person need some planet destroying, cash guzzling thing?

Being a Learner in Western Australia doesn't come with a card. My understanding is that it's a piece of paper. There's no photographic ID, so there's no way you can use it for that purpose.

I know so many urbanites who have not had a license. These people range from their early 20s, up toward their 30s. You cannot apply your (limited) knowledge and experience and believe it applies to all.
No, I can only apply it to the limited information you give me...

If it's ethical, then suit yourself. Living in Melbourne should not pose a problem if you wish to use public transport. If you still need ID when you're over here, get yourself a Keypass.

I applied for my proof of age on a Monday and it came in the mail on Friday the same week. Pretty sure you can also apply for it before you actually turn 18.

Oh really? My birthday is on a Monday and I'll be in Perth next year, so hopefully it goes alright. Did you try getting it at 17 or what? I'll give it a go tomorrow actually.

I have met a few people like you Silent Alarm. I have never once found a suitable reason (minus the medical reasons) for not having at minimum your learners. Having a licence is about taking control of your own life and shows people you are capable as a person to learn and interact. What do you think a future employer is going to think of you as a 21+ year old potential applicant when they find out you don't even have your learners licence? Would you employ someone like that?

You say you don't want to drive because you don't want to pollute the planet, blah, blah, blah... Now what does that have with getting your learners? That is always about theory of driving not practicality of it. Still saving your little planet of harm. Your friends will get board very fast with being your personal taxi service because of your moral stand and you will drive a few away.

Just my thoughts and no offence intended.

I have met a few people like you Silent Alarm. I have never once found a suitable reason (minus the medical reasons) for not having at minimum your learners. Having a licence is about taking control of your own life and shows people you are capable as a person to learn and interact. What do you think a future employer is going to think of you as a 21+ year old potential applicant when they find out you don't even have your learners licence? Would you employ someone like that?

You say you don't want to drive because you don't want to pollute the planet, blah, blah, blah... Now what does that have with getting your learners? That is always about theory of driving not practicality of it. Still saving your little planet of harm. Your friends will get board very fast with being your personal taxi service because of your moral stand and you will drive a few away.

Just my thoughts and no offence intended.
Firstly, your "I have met a few people like you..." sounds like the hick at the bar unable to grasp the concept that some people are different to you. Reading the rest of your post simply cemented my suspicions – you're unable to accept or comprehend something a little out of the ordinary.

I started this thread to ask a question on forms of identification. This is not a dilemma of practicality or ethics. Why bring in something irrelevant to simply push your agenda?

Firstly, what is the point of having my L-plates but not my P's or full license? Seriously? As expressed before, I'll be moving interstate. It's purely without practicality.

So you're saying my employment rests on a laminated card? You're jumping to a conclusion. My area of study does not concern something in which one would say "you don't have a license, we don't want you". Don't cast a generalised idea of what my future employer will be like.

How does a car show my "capability to learn and react"? A huge majority of Australia's population drive a car. And for you, the two go hand in hand, and because of that, driving is an indictment on ones "reaction" and "ability to learn". Although I have no idea what a "capability to react" entails in your example, I can only assume. But if driving a car makes you a hot employment opportunity, I can see why everyone drives...

Also... you're... I don't know what to say. If I was looking for someone to work a job, and somehow found out they were without a license, I simply would endorse them. If you and someone are alike, you're more likely to enjoy their company and endorse them as a person. So of course I'd hire them!

You don't understand the people I talk to and the culture I like. You're in no position to tell me of how people will react to me. I wouldn't want to be friends with someone so narrow minded that they can't "get" someone who doesn't want to drive. What a bogan and conceited view of the world. That a car dictates your normality.

I'm not the kind of person to ask for lifts all the time. I, like many people, know when to not ask too much of a person.

Firstly, your "I have met a few people like you..." sounds like the hick at the bar unable to grasp the concept that some people are different to you. Reading the rest of your post simply cemented my suspicions – you're unable to accept or comprehend something a little out of the ordinary.

I started this thread to ask a question on forms of identification. This is not a dilemma of practicality or ethics. Why bring in something irrelevant to simply push your agenda?

Firstly, what is the point of having my L-plates but not my P's or full license? Seriously? As expressed before, I'll be moving interstate. It's purely without practicality.

So you're saying my employment rests on a laminated card? You're jumping to a conclusion. My area of study does not concern something in which one would say "you don't have a license, we don't want you". Don't cast a generalised idea of what my future employer will be like.

How does a car show my "capability to learn and react"? A huge majority of Australia's population drive a car. And for you, the two go hand in hand, and because of that, driving is an indictment on ones "reaction" and "ability to learn". Although I have no idea what a "capability to react" entails in your example, I can only assume. But if driving a car makes you a hot employment opportunity, I can see why everyone drives...

Also... you're... I don't know what to say. If I was looking for someone to work a job, and somehow found out they were without a license, I simply would endorse them. If you and someone are alike, you're more likely to enjoy their company and endorse them as a person. So of course I'd hire them!

You don't understand the people I talk to and the culture I like. You're in no position to tell me of how people will react to me. I wouldn't want to be friends with someone so narrow minded that they can't "get" someone who doesn't want to drive. What a bogan and conceited view of the world. That a car dictates your normality.

I'm not the kind of person to ask for lifts all the time. I, like many people, know when to not ask too much of a person.
Ok you have not even remotely grasped what I said and have taken way to literal interpretation. Having your licence (even L's) does not mean drive. It simply means you at the bare minimum are capable of learning and interacting with others. I know plenty of people who have their licence and do not own or wish to own a car, one for very similar reasons to you. The difference is that he recognised the necessity in modern society to have a licence.

A lot of what you said you tend to repeat yourself so I wont answer your statements individually. You have clearly set boundaries in your life or "bubble" and refuse to budge from your "bubble". However I can bet you any amount of money that one day you will have to leave your little "bubble" and join the rest of society. Better to do that now rather then latter in life. Hopefully when you start University you will learn about all of this and the expectations society sets if you want a good job once you finish your studies.

I got my learners permit pretty much as soon as I was eligible. It was just so much easier of a way to have ID than going out and buying one that has no added incentive to it. At least with the learners I could drive a car.

I got my license a couple of years ago after minimal lessons and on Automatic, passed first time and quite easily.

Just recently I finally upgraded to my full license.

I am yet to drive a car outside of the times that I was getting lessons before going for my license and obviously when I went for my license...got a nice discount on my full license costs too for being a 'safe driver':thumbsu::D.

I don't find the need to drive or even have a car where I live (within 5 minute walk of many forms of public transport and basically anything I need to actually get to as well), but I do find the fact of having a license far more useful than an ID card would be. And of course, if I ever actually NEED to drive I can do it without having to worry about having the license.

Having a license doesn't mean you need to drive or even have a car, but there is always the option should life call for it.

I do find this part a fair bit 'woe is me':
That's easier said than in practice. I'm studying full time, and I write on the internet as a form of income. It takes up a fair amount of time. On top of that, I'd like to divulge into some assortment of sociability. That's why I'm getting an ID card. So I don't really have the massive amount of time it takes to get a full license. I can't use anyone's car, and I don't fancy spending a lot of money on fuel, care hire, and the cost of (the many) lessons.
What's the average age of people that get learners/licenses? 16-20? Do you not think they all have studies, jobs, etc. to keep them busy as well? They do manage to fit this stuff in as well as getting their licenses and learners.

Not having the time to get a license is a cop out, no matter who you are or what you do, you can fit the time in.

i think it's a bit naive to think you can just go your whole life without ever needing a driver's license in australia.

Ok you have not even remotely grasped what I said and have taken way to literal interpretation. Having your licence (even L's) does not mean drive. It simply means you at the bare minimum are capable of learning and interacting with others. I know plenty of people who have their licence and do not own or wish to own a car, one for very similar reasons to you. The difference is that he recognised the necessity in modern society to have a licence.

A lot of what you said you tend to repeat yourself so I wont answer your statements individually. You have clearly set boundaries in your life or "bubble" and refuse to budge from your "bubble". However I can bet you any amount of money that one day you will have to leave your little "bubble" and join the rest of society. Better to do that now rather then latter in life. Hopefully when you start University you will learn about all of this and the expectations society sets if you want a good job once you finish your studies.
Okay, can you tell me what this whole "interacting with others" has to do with driving? I am clueless. I have no idea how owning a car means you're capable of learning. Surely the ability to learn is gained from a bevy of things. In fact, I'm certain it is.

Interacting with others... how so? To go in and express your intent in filling out some forms, or, talking to an instructor? What are you actually talking about? I'm seriously perplexed at your inability to clarify what you're talking about. I'm even doubting your knowledge on what "interaction" actually is. I interact with many people on a daily basis. Having no licence and using public transport would result in talking to more people. Can you simply, concisely, just answer: What do you mean by "interaction" and what does it have to do with a car?

And mate, I think you're living in a bubble as well. You are unable to open your mind to anything other than 'societal norms'. Do you realise the flaws of society? Do you condone all societal actions, beliefs, and philosophies simply because "it's a part of society".

Secondly, a decent argument needs reinforcement. There's a difference between begging the question, and consistency in an argument.
i think it's a bit naive to think you can just go your whole life without ever needing a driver's license in australia.
I'm planning to live in Australia all my life.

This thread is straying is from its original intent. Can we stop the topic of driving and licenses?

Ok, Kim Jong Un here's the deal.

Your moving to Perth and by the sounds of it you haven't been there before.

The public transport is pretty crap , well very crap actually. Unless you land a chick who will drive you around or a mate, basically you'll be stuck in a shithole, screaming to get out.

Get your license asap and a cheap car tight arse coz you'll regret it if ya don't.

You've been warned.

I'm surprised your uni card isn't enough. Every one I've seen is scannable which is usually what is required by most night clubs.

Sort of off-topic but a Strike Bowling Bar last year asked me for a SECOND proof of ID after they weren't sold on my (legit) full driver's licence. I gladly showed the security guy my university alumni card as a big "up yours" for wasting my time and questioning my age and licence validity. :D

Ok, Kim Jong Un here's the deal.

Your moving to Perth and by the sounds of it you haven't been there before.

The public transport is pretty crap , well very crap actually. Unless you land a chick who will drive you around or a mate, basically you'll be stuck in a shithole, screaming to get out.

Get your license asap and a cheap car tight arse coz you'll regret it if ya don't.

You've been warned.
What are you talking about?

I go to Perth basically every two months. And I have done since infancy. Why assume I've never been there before?

In my experience, it's not even that bad.

Some of the assumptions made in here are absurd and utterly baseless. Utterly narrow minded as well. How many times do I have to repeat the bland mantra: This isn't a topic discussing licences. This is discussing ways in which to get ID cards.

I got my learners the day before my 18th for ID and didn't get my p's until I was 25. It takes 30 mins if that.

can be done in melbourne i reckon if you're single/not married... if you have your own family though, license/car would be needed
I'm moving to Melbourne next year, and I won't be having children for another 15 years... so for right now, why do I need a licence? No reason.

I got my learners the day before my 18th for ID and didn't get my p's until I was 25. It takes 30 mins if that.
I'd definitely get my Learners if it had photo ID. But alas, it's nothing of the sort in WA.

I went in to grab a Proof of Age card the other day. Filled out the documents, and had everything ready to go. She asks how old I am, and I said "eighteen next week" (more like a month), and she um'ed and arr'd, but it didn't end up happening. I'll just wait until my birthday.

Thanks for the actual suggestions. And to those telling me to get a car, go fcuk