coasting

Cardies
"You can never deny guys like Ben Cousins, Chris Judd and Chad Fletcher and Daniel Kerr - they're great players. But if they're standing next to you and the ball's in front of you and you're harder than the bloke next to you, I reckon talent doesn't come into it," Pagan said.

Its pretty plain what he is saying here. He is saying our guys lost because they didn't want it as much as their guys did, that they are talented but play with no heart or hunger. That explains the fightback in the last quarter doesn't Denni$ :rolleyes: Maybe if the roles were reversed and Carlton had travelled 7700kms during the preseason and we didn't leave Subi then you would have found it was their guys who might have been out on their feet at the end of the game. Hopefully Woosha will pull this one out later in the year.

I have to agree that Carlton did want it more...plus we went to sleep in the second quarter and it cost us.

Yeah, if it was at Subiaco I'm sure we would have won. And we will win when we play them here in the proper season. But we have to win in Melbourne so there are no excuses.

I think we went further in the pre-season than most people (including us one eyed supporters) thought we'd get. ....by all accounts it was supposed to be Freo who were going to win the first round. Just treat it as a learning experience - who gives a toss what Pagan or other supporters think ?

Yeah, if it was at Subiaco I'm sure we would have won.

No doubt about it, we would've been thrashed. As for Pagan's quote, I'm surprised by that. It does have that merit - even the most talented player can be under such enough pressure in close quarters to fumble (Judd did it a few times). They're human after all.

Then again, you could also argue that even if the player isn't fully committed to the ball or "tough enough", he can still use his flair to evade the player next to him, go for the ball and pick it up with one hand... even tap it the right way. And Judd did it a few times. ;)

Strange quote? Doesnt matter how much harder they are, if it was at Subiaco they would have lost. Strange how a change of venue can change everything?

Would have been more interesting had we played the final in Darwin, at AAMI, the GABBA or something like that. No home ground advantage. Then we will see who's harder and more skillful?

Still at the end of the day it doesnt bother me. The real stuff starts in a fortnight and I have no doubt that we will have a better year than Carlton. But congrats to them, they certainly needed that money more than we did.

coasting said:
"You can never deny guys like Ben Cousins, Chris Judd and Chad Fletcher and Daniel Kerr - they're great players. But if they're standing next to you and the ball's in front of you and you're harder than the bloke next to you, I reckon talent doesn't come into it," Pagan said.

Its pretty plain what he is saying here. He is saying our guys lost because they didn't want it as much as their guys did, that they are talented but play with no heart or hunger. That explains the fightback in the last quarter doesn't Denni$ :rolleyes: Maybe if the roles were reversed and Carlton had travelled 7700kms during the preseason and we didn't leave Subi then you would have found it was their guys who might have been out on their feet at the end of the game. Hopefully Woosha will pull this one out later in the year.
Sounds like a standard footy cliche to me with a lot of truth in it. What's the problem?

coasting said:

Sounds spot on to me.

dont think the eagles were ever going to beat the Blues in Melbourne in front of a big home crowd.
Carlton rolled the eagles with ease out at Optus Oval last year too for memory...
Too bad for the eagles they don't play all their games at subi i suppose...

coasting said:

Its pretty plain what he is saying here. He is saying our guys lost because they didn't want it as much as their guys did, that they are talented but play with no heart or hunger.

I think it's pretty plain you are putting words into his mouth.

"He is saying our guys lost because they didn't want it as much as their guys did"

Correct

"that they are talented but play with no heart or hunger"

Incorrect

Nothing wrong with what Pagan has said, in fact he's being very generous by not commenting on the respective coaching performances.

Milkman said:
Sounds spot on to me.

I think you could make the argument about Daniel Kerr quite easily, I thought his attitude was shocking, but he was hardly on the ground and I thought the other 3 tried their hearts out. Even if you thought its true, its the kind of thing you shouldnt say in public, a least about opposition players. It seems like a rather loose comment to make after a preseason game.

coasting said:
I think you could make the argument about Daniel Kerr quite easily, I thought his attitude was shocking, but he was hardly on the ground and I thought the other 3 tried their hearts out. Even if you thought its true, its the kind of thing you shouldnt say in public, a least about opposition players. It seems like a rather loose comment to make after a preseason game.

You could almost take what Pagan said as a compliment. He's admitting our blokes are more talented, but also that we didn't want it as much. If you pit hunger up against talent, hunger wins. I think that's all he was saying.

Thrawn said:
No doubt about it, we would've been thrashed. As for Pagan's quote, I'm surprised by that. It does have that merit - even the most talented player can be under such enough pressure in close quarters to fumble (Judd did it a few times). They're human after all.
Is that Gor'tch' itching again?.And Fevola talented?,lay off the Blood wine.

celtic_pride said:
I reckon Pagan was right.
There's no need to get so defensive about it.

I would like to think you are right. I would like to think we didn't go as hard as we could and that we were just treating it as a 'preseason game', but unfortunately I suspect we did try and that the better team on the night won. If you thought Ben Cousins, Chris Judd and Chad Fletcher weren't going as hard as Nick Stevens, Campo et all then I think I must have been watching a different game.

Milkman said:
Sounds spot on to me.

Me too ! We have a better team on paper but they had the better coach on the night. It's no fluke that Pagan won two premierships. He's a brilliant coach and I feel that it won't be long Carlton will be fighting for a premiership. As for us, I don't know what to say. I was confident that we would beat them and this defeat only highlighted our inconsistency away from home. Yes, we have a very good team and we will beat most teams in Subiaco but this is not enough to be a contender for the flag.

Geonet said:
Me too ! We have a better team on paper but they had the better coach on the night. It's no fluke that Pagan won two premierships. He's a brilliant coach and I feel that it won't be long Carlton will be fighting for a premiership.

Mate, go back and read the original post again. It said nothing about coaching.

coasting said:
Mate, go back and read the original post again. It said nothing about coaching.

Why don't you just accept the fact that your post was just a crappy whinge and move on? Typical West Coast arrogant whinger!

Pagan was right. His side does not have as much as talent as we do but they wanted it more. They were very hungry from the bounce of ball but our guys showed that they weren't in it at stages. If we had gone for the footy from the start the score probably would have been the other way round. On a number of occasions the ball hit the ground and it was pounced upon by group of blues was kicked forward. Our guys were not to be seen and put no pressure on them when they had possession but they put heaps on us. The only reason we hit the front in the last quarter was that we started to play harder but they lifted again when the game was to be won because they really wanted to win and we didn't.

YAKUZA said:
Why don't you just accept the fact that your post was just a crappy whinge and move on? Typical West Coast arrogant whinger!

And yes I should listen to you because you are such an authority on whinging.