spindoctor

Suspended
Adelaide Crows
Did he do so bad on Tredrea? Sure, 7 goals looks bad, but a couple were snaps Perrie really had no chance at, and Tredrea only took 4 marks for the game...well below his standard.

I have to admit McGregor should get a while longer at CHF...apart from Geelong he has been playing well, gave Chad Cornes an absolute trouncing which is a damn good effort.

My problem is if we drop Perrie, we don't really have a big-bodied defender we can bring in...

Matthew Smith? *cough*

I saw him out on the town last night and he is a lot bigger bodywise than I thought, but shorter than I thought. We have to admit he has been playing well for Sturt. Fergus Watts was with him, he is quite tall, and not as small in the body as I originally thought either.

Originally posted by spindoctor
Did he do so bad on Tredrea? Sure, 7 goals looks bad, but a couple were snaps Perrie really had no chance at, and Tredrea only took 4 marks for the game...well below his standard.

I thought he was sh|te to be honest. He went to ground a lot and it looked like being a carbon copy of the Brisbane QF last year when Tredrea got those 3 early ones.

Bassett did a far better job, but you're right, we don't have a feasible KPP option down back to replace him as KMac is doing a tremendous job at CHF.

Bock and Hentschel aren't big enough.

Rutten is big-bodied, moreso than Perrie, and he has played some good games in defence for the Bloods. Shapes more as a forward, but possibly worth giving him a run, he probably won't do much worse than the Pez Dispenser and he can be swapped with KMc if necessary.

Rutten?

Bock and Hentschel aren't big enough.

Rutten is big-bodied, moreso than Perrie, and he has played some good games in defence for the Bloods. Shapes more as a forward, but possibly worth giving him a run, he probably won't do much worse than the Pez Dispenser and he can be swapped with KMc if necessary.

Rutten?

Everything you've said is true, spinny. It's a couple of things that you haven't said though that are the key. He has no pace whatsoever, and lacks mobility.

A quick forward will tear him a new one in his backside at AFL level.

It's the one weakness in his game, but it's a major one, to the point where I can't see him having a significant AFL career.

We have to try him first before we dump him.

True that, I'm bloody glad we're finally getting a look at someone like Bock, next up is Rutten and Parker.

I agree with that as well, because of the natural football abilty that he does have. If he could get a bit more pace he'd be a natural.

It's just my personal opinion that he won't.

To be honest Perrie was sh|t last night on Tredrea. Tredders got his 3 goals by outsmarting Sarge. The reason Sarge will never be a very good defender is because his recovery is ordinary. I thought he did alright on Lade and Brogan when they were swung forward.

To a degree I agree with macca23 on Rutten. While I think he could be a very good forward, I think he doesn't have a great potential as a key defender at AFL level because of his lack of pace and mobility. A natural footballer who could really be a very good player if he was a couple of yards quicker.

I think we are all forgetting that Ayres has been keen to play Biglands as a key defender. Biglands has served his 4 match suspension and will be back against Essendon. We still need to persists with Hudson to give him a bit more experince so he is up to it when Clarke hangs up the boots.

I am a bit of Perrie fan simply because he works his backside off and gets the most out of his talent. He has plenty of limitations but he maximases what he has. I would think we would play Biglands as a key defender leaving Kenny at CHF where he is improving and playing the position better week in week out.

Perrie was never the answer for Tredrea, went to ground to easliy Tredrea was too smart for him, Bassett was a much better option:)

As for perrie else where mmmm not sure he doesnt really IMO get in and fight for the ball, needs to start to put his body on the line get ina fight for it, use his size and strength more

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I would think we would play Biglands as a key defender leaving Kenny at CHF where he is improving and playing the position better week in week out.

So where does that leave Perrie in your eyes?

Not convinced Biggles can go that well at CHB, so IMO it leaves Perrie as default CHB until:

a) KMac has a few bad ones up forward and gets moved to his 'natural' position.
b) we find/draft/recruit a stonewall CHB

We drafted Pez all the way back in 1998 so he could well find himself on Freo or WCE's trade table in the summer, as both WA clubs have a dearth of readymade KPP talent.

Unfortunately Pez looks like a square peg in a round hole at the minute.

No, I think Freo have quite reasonable stocks of KPPs.

WCE don't, they could really do with Perrie at CHF. They aren't a bad team, but they badly need a big-bodied key forward to give them something to aim at. McDougall is a stick-figure, and he has failed to live up to expectations, he is crap.

Might be able to get a bit more for Perrie than he is actually worth.

No, I think Freo have quite reasonable stocks of KPPs.

Down back they're sorted with McPharlin and Polak, but they keep persisting with Pavlich as an all-action midfielder instead of the dominant CHF we all expected him to become - leaving them with only the inconsistant Justin Longmuir and the injury crocked Clive Waterhouse as permanent KPP forward options, hence their over-reliance on small forwards the likes of Jeff Farmer and Paul Medhurst.

Perrie as an experienced packbusting key forward would be a very good fit for them I'd say.

Polak is their CHF now, he has been shifted there this year.

Simmonds is also playing more as a permanent forward, too.

Perrie's AFL career is certianly at a cross roads and he has to hold down a regular position this season to assure himself he will be there next year.

Hows this for a deal Stenglein,Perrie first round pick for Pavlich??????????

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Hows this for a deal Stenglein,Perrie first round pick for Pavlich??????????
Keep dreaming ;)

First Freo wouldn't trade Pavlich, he is their so caled franchise player. Secondly I don't think AFC will be all that keen on trading Stenglein

Perrie is tradeable and he should have been moved on at the end of last year when his value was higher. He would be a good fit at any WA side. If we are lucky we might get a 2nd round draft pick or a decent player in return.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
If we are lucky we might get a 2nd round draft pick or a decent player in return.

If anyone offered us a second round pick for the Pez Dispenser we should bite their hand off.

Originally posted by dyertribe
If anyone offered us a second round pick for the Pez Dispenser we should bite their hand off.
Thats why I said if we are lucky. At the end of last year we could get that. I mean David Haynes went to Geelong for pick 21 and I think Perrie is a better key forward.

The best we can hope is a 3rd round pick. Similarly to the deal we did with Sydney to get Scott Stevens.

Perrie is better than Scott Stevens, the problem is if he is on the outer after this season due to a strong showing by McGrug at CHF, his trade value will slip to a third-rounder.

He could be a high second-rounder otherwise. I don't think we were in a position to trade him at the end of last season, it is only through unlikely happenings (McGrug showing at CHF, Hentschel's backline emergence) that he is now surplus to requirements.

Geelong might still give us a second-rounder for him, if they gave up one for Haynes.

Haynes is bloody awful, to me one of the worst players in the competition.

Perrie is better than Scott Stevens, the problem is if he is on the outer after this season due to a strong showing by McGrug at CHF, his trade value will slip to a third-rounder.

He could be a high second-rounder otherwise. I don't think we were in a position to trade him at the end of last season, it is only through unlikely happenings (McGrug showing at CHF, Hentschel's backline emergence) that he is now surplus to requirements.

Geelong might still give us a second-rounder for him, if they gave up one for Haynes.

Haynes is bloody awful, to me one of the worst players in the competition.
I think its debatable whether Sarge is better than Scott Stevens. I would argue that Stevo has a greater upside. Perrie is just a workorse that goes flat out every time. He is not the most gifted footballer and his footy brain is almost non-existent. His recovery is very poor and is not really a defender as a result. Sarge can't kick a snap to save his life. Stevo has better recovery, has better footy smarts can snap kick around his body but is a crap set shot for goal. Stevo is a stick figure but at 22 I reckon he has better upside than Perrie.

I think 2nd rounder is wishful thinking. I do agree that Haynes is one of the worst players in the comp.

Originally posted by spindoctor I don't think we were in a position to trade him at the end of last season, it is only through unlikely happenings (McGrug showing at CHF, Hentschel's backline emergence) that he is now surplus to requirements.

This is why there should be trading in AFL up until eight weeks before the finals.

I hear the cries already - but don't you feel it is ridiculous that EVERY OTHER sport in the world is mature enough to have year round trading, but somehow AFL thinks the clubs and players couldn't handle it?

I mean, this is a multi-million dollar business, and we think a business should ruin a year of trading (the season) because one player gets injured? When they could just trade a surplus player (while he still has value) for a player they now require and keep their season viable?

We should be able to trade Perrie NOW to Freo or WCE, to get an asset we need.

Although I disagreed with the Dyertribe on the Mattner post I must day I fuully agree with him here. Unless Perrie can improve his poor decision making and skills under pressure quickly, I would look at moving him on next year as a trade for someone in the West such as a Beau Waters or a Byron Schammer. The West Coast may be more intrerested because of their poor big man strength.

Sadly although the Pez tries hard he finds it difficult when under pressure to use the ball well, and consistently makes mistakes which result in no goal to us and a turnover to the opposition.

Pez, you need plenty of work one on one with an assistant who will feed you balls when you are under pressure and have to make quick decisons, and executions with the ball.

Originally posted by bigman
Unless Perrie can improve his poor decision making and skills under pressure quickly, I would look at moving him on next year as a trade for someone in the West such as a Beau Waters or a Byron Schammer.
We would need a lot more than Perrie to get one of those blokes. Perrie is a 3rd round pick at best and the 2 you mentioned would need a good 1st round pcik to get them.