Opinion Pick #4 Prediction Thread

Not sure if this is okay with the mods as it's outside some of the main threads that the discussion stays in but thought this might generate some discussion leading up to Thursday night.

I thought I'd see who everyone thought we will select at Pick #4 on Thursday night - not who you WANT us to pick, but who you THINK we will actually take. Even though we have generally been linked to Oliver Wines and Jimmy Toumpas over the last few weeks there could still be a surprise or two depending on who GWS selects with it's first 3 picks.

For me, I believe we will end up taking Wines. I think GWS will take both Whitfield and Toumpas even though there are many out there who believe that others like O'Rourke and Grundy will go there and we will happily snap Wines up at #4.

Happy to have others make a few prediction selections with picks #49 and #53 also but, for me, I really have NFI outside of Pick 4.

Interested to see what others think. Cheers.

If Toumpas is there, 90% chance he won't be, he'd all but be guaranteed the selection. Otherwise, you'd think it will be Wines. I'd actually rather Wines and Toumpas over Whitfield, but meh, they should all be guns. THOUGH, we are the MFC, so there's every chance we pick up Sam Mayes or Jon O'Rourke.

Anyone think we pull a surprise such as a Grundy, O'Rourke or even a smokey like Menzel? Or do we all think it's basically down to Toumpas or, if he's gone, Oliver Wines?

My opinion is pretty much garbage on this but I'll give it a crack. I think GWS will take Toumpas, can't see us taking Grundy or O'Rourke with 4, particularly where the list is at. Wines seems like the sort of character that Neeld loves, hence he becomes a demon.

Toumpas or Wines in that order I reckon. Will be interesting to see the reaction from Dees supporters either way.

Reckon there are plenty of Demon fans who want Wines. Best mate of Viney, loves the grunt work etc. If Toumpas slides and we take him then I think most Demon fans would at the very least be satisfied with it but anyone else (such as O'Rourke for example) and some may be pretty disappointed. Wouldn't be a knock on whoever we took, more than I think Wines is someone supporters are well and truly keen on.

I really love Toumpas and would be thrilled with him, but another part of me really wants Wines. Our contested mids would be kings in a few years time.

Part of me, a big part, wants GWS to take Toumpas, making our choice for pick #4 all too easy.

Wouldn't mind Menzel as a smokey, or Toumpas.

Recon the Dees best footy is when we have skilled midfielders who are goal kickers.. Makes it tough to match up on....

Would love another YZE type on the list.

Strong mail around that both Wines and Toumpas will be available, given that, best available would say Toumpas.Would still be happy with Wines though, and trust those in charge to make the right choices for us going forward.:thumbsu:

I wonder if both Toumpas and Wines are still available at #4 whether the club will rethink it's strategy of picking Hogan?

Not saying that Hogan isn't a good pickup but imagine the engine room with Viney, Toumpas and Wines in a few years

I wonder if both Toumpas and Wines are still available at #4 whether the club will rethink it's strategy of picking Hogan?

Not saying that Hogan isn't a good pickup but imagine the engine room with Viney, Toumpas and Wines in a few years

The thing is that it wouldn't of happened. We definitely would of had to blow pick 3 on Viney

Perhaps but we still would have pick #13, whole lot of scenario could've happened. Probably wouldn't get Wines but a similar hard inside midfielder, plenty of them this year in the 1-15 range. I have a feeling if we get Toumpas and not Wines he'll slip down to #6-#12.

Perhaps but we still would have pick #13, whole lot of scenario could've happened. I have a feeling if we get Toumpas and not Wines he'll slip down to #8-#12

Too many "what ifs" there though. Wines has generally been considered a Top 10 pick so, even with Pick #13 he may not have made it.

To be perfectly honest I'm happy with Toumpas/Wines, plus Viney, Hogan, Barry and Dawes, which is essentially what we have done with the picks inside the Top 20 this year. That's a nice haul there and really sets us up for the future.

Too many "what ifs" there though. Wines has generally been considered a Top 10 pick so, even with Pick #13 he may not have made it.

To be perfectly honest I'm happy with Toumpas/Wines, plus Viney, Hogan, Barry and Dawes, which is essentially what we have done with the picks inside the Top 20 this year. That's a nice haul there and really sets us up for the future.
Well 3 of them are top #5 picks and tbh Barry could be anything.

For the first time in a long time I feel we are getting targeting specific hard players rather than just going after players who are 'skillful' type. Even though Toumpas seems an potential star, Wines sounds as if he would work his butt off and become a good player. Either i'll be happy with either but I still think we will get Toumpas.

btw I edited my 8-12 to 6-12 because I forgot about Viney and Daniher

Perfect timing..

Melbourne to take Toumpas

MELBOURNE is set to crush Jack Viney's fairytale by overlooking his best mate with pick four at tomorrow night's draft after a last-minute reshuffle of Greater Western Sydney's top three picks.

The Dees will land South Australian captain Jimmy Toumpas in a draft bonanza, pushing Viney's childhood friend Ollie Wines to the Western Bulldogs at pick five.

Hopefully we do get Toumpas, but jeez i'd love to get my hands on Wines as well. Hogan better turn out to be a bloody good player.

I guess we'll have to move heaven and earth to bring together the dream of Viney and Wines.

Please leave Toumpas, pretty please? :D