Player Movement Talk

Post all your rumours here of any potential player movements.

Saw on the news last night, that Budgie Geappen is looking to stay in Tassie despite the possibility of joining his younger brother in the WAFL. Possibly move to North Hobart to play with Mat?

They also spoke with Thurley, and I'd say based on his body language that he is definately on the move interstate.

Mitchell Swan from Clarence to Glenorchy

Justin O'Brien from Lindisfarne to Clarence

Todd Willing from Lindisfarne back to Northern Bombers

What do you reckon the standard will be like, taking into consideration there will be 10 teams from around the state, will the quality be a bit thin. Will the clubs recruit heavily from interstate or rely on the quality they have. Coming from a league higher in standard than the old SFL and NTFL but lower than the VFL would I be correct in saying that the standard would be the same.

10 teams is probably 2 too many in terms of the quality of players needed, however 8 team competitions tend to lack the variety throughout the season that many punters enjoy. I think you will tend to see 2 or 3 clubs really struggle each season (probably South Launceston and Hobart come to mind first up, and it sounds like Devonport don't have their act together).

The way the league is being funded is aimed at developing juniors further, so hopefully the standard will improve in time, plus their is talk of clubs receiving the incentives should a player get drafted, so that will be added motivation.

As for recruiting players from interstate, with a salary cap of only $60k, I don't think that will happen, unless our job market starts to look decidedly more prosperous than the mainland (at least our house prices may entice some), but it would be more of a case of a player wanting to come to Tassie, rather than being lured here.

The standard will be about as good as SFL, NTFL finals football.

10 teams is probably 2 too many in terms of the quality of players needed, however 8 team competitions tend to lack the variety throughout the season that many punters enjoy. I think you will tend to see 2 or 3 clubs really struggle each season (probably South Launceston and Hobart come to mind first up, and it sounds like Devonport don't have their act together).

The way the league is being funded is aimed at developing juniors further, so hopefully the standard will improve in time, plus their is talk of clubs receiving the incentives should a player get drafted, so that will be added motivation.

As for recruiting players from interstate, with a salary cap of only $60k, I don't think that will happen, unless our job market starts to look decidedly more prosperous than the mainland (at least our house prices may entice some), but it would be more of a case of a player wanting to come to Tassie, rather than being lured here.

The standard will be about as good as SFL, NTFL finals football.

South will be fine, good group of young players, who toppled more fancied rivals such as North Launceston in last years finals. If they keep their players they will comfortably be mid-table.

I agree with you that Devonport will struggle, as from all accounts their financial situation is dire and they are loosing too much experience.

interesting to see that the grapevine suggests a belief from players that the TSL isn't going to be the standard required for a pathway to the AFL - the exact reason for its creation.

very disappointing to see players moving interstate rather than stick around and have a look at the new comp.

incidentally... we've gotta try and get some TSL on ABC2. would love to be able to see some of it from here on the big island.

I'm pretty sure the ABC will cover a game a weekend, so you may get a few games at midnight on ABC2 on the mainland.

ABC2 doesn't cover the state leagues anymore (unless they're bringing it back for 09)
Can't see that happening unfortunately, despite strong campaigns organised by here and hundreds of posts on the ABC's forums.
It seems the powers that be have decided ABC2 does not do national rebroadcastng of state based programming (Stateline was also axed for 2008 on ABC2).
Pathetic really, ABC2 is an ideal platforms for those of us who live outside our "home" states (especially form states which get no coverage in national media; SA, Tas, NT) to get some sort of idea what's happening - including in the footy, as well as current affairs.
Hopefully, at the very least, a game from each league can be made available for download or put on iView in 2009.

South will be fine, good group of young players, who toppled more fancied rivals such as North Launceston in last years finals. If they keep their players they will comfortably be mid-table.

I agree with you that Devonport will struggle, as from all accounts their financial situation is dire and they are loosing too much experience.[/QUO

Both South and North need taller blokes to make any headway this year, whether that was NTFL or TSL. Both havegood younger players, but their all short people. If i were either i'd be trying to entice blokes like Josh Adams and Shaun Muller into the tsl with a bit of coin.

As per the 'Tassie Footy' board:

Seems former Kingston, Devils & North Hobart player Cam De Goyer is taking over at the 'Dale as CAPT/COACH.

Notice Ainslie (canberra) just picked up Greg Tivendale after being delisted from richmond. Any ex-AFL Players looking at the TSL.

Wouldn't be enough money available for any ex senior afl types. Maybe a fringe player that maybe played 30 or so games might be interested.

Only possibilities would be 50 or less gamer coming down as a playing coach I would imagine. Someone who is interested in starting out in junior development as their next career path.

kenrosewall said:
I think you will tend to see 2 or 3 clubs really struggle each season (probably South Launceston and Hobart come to mind first up, and it sounds like Devonport don't have their act together).
I hate to say it but I think that's absolutely correct in respect to Hobart.
The club is financially better off than it probably ever has been before in its history, but money doesn't mean a lot, they have some monstrous problems to overcome before they ever look like even challenging for a finals spot, let alone a flag.
The past few years has completely decimated that club and they will virtually have to rebuild it - and hope like hell it works - before any reasonable improvement is shown.
The last top flight flag for Hobart was 1990, and I can't see another one popping up for at least another decade or more. :(

If you had have asked me this same question maybe 6-7 years ago I would've said, from my observations that the club could've made a real go of it, disappointingly the situation of the past 4-5 years has put the club back like never before, financial crises of the mid-80's and again in the mid-90's second only to this.

Sam Isles might be interested in coming back, but i think he's good enough to get a pretty good contract in the vfl or sanfl.

A key CLARENCE forward has been linked to both NTH HOBART and LAUDERDALE he will command a big transfer fee under the new transfer scheme, as he is a former Devils listed player.

Mitch Williamson? Heard this also.
Has he had a falling out with clarence???

When fit and in form is more than capable of kicking 60/70 plus goals a year!!

Mitch Williamson

When fit and in form is more than capable of kicking 60/70 plus goals a year!![/quote]

Yeah I reckon we are yet to see the best of the big young fella.

C.Blight is apparently playing withing Clarence.