Podcast Podcast progression

• Thread starter Thread starter Michaels

If we were able to do live podcasts (like radio) would you be likley to listen in live

• yes

Votes: 17 48.6%
  • no

Votes: 18 51.4%

We are just trying to find ways to move onwards and upwards with the podcast so exploring some options, just wanting to gauge some opinions on this poll!

There is a program that would allow us to broadcast the podcasts live, like a radio show. it gives listeners the ability to submit live questions via a chat client through their FB or twitter accounts i believe.

we can also record the episode and upload later, but before looking more into it and potentially finding a sponsor for it, would just like to get an idea on how many would be likley to tune in if we did a live broadcast!

I think the simplest thing to do whilst recording your podcast is to have it running on Facebook Live too. Just need a phone or an iPad in the room which people can see and hear live on, and can ask questions at the same time, whilst one of you reads the questions on another device.
I do something similar on Facebook page that I run.
It's a simple (and cheap) solution in the short term.

Don’t think it’s overly necessary mate. What you’re doing now by fielding questions during the day from social media is good.
Maybe when the podcast has had another full year of broadcasting you will have an idea of the viewership and whether Live shows are warranted.
The Official Richmond podcast runs Live and they used to take live calls from the listeners as well but seem to have moved away from that.
In terms of progression, you could introduce more regular weekly segments, whether they be directly related to BigFooty posters/posting or to the club.
For example - BigFooty Talking point for the week - like a hot topic type of thing.
BOG BigFooty poster for the week also WOG for the laughs.
On the Footy field you could have an unsung hero segment where we discuss a player that has had an impact on the game that hasn’t been widely regarded in the Footy world.
A rumours segment - whether it be trading or a scandal.

Just a few ideas.

I think the simplest thing to do whilst recording your podcast is to have it running on Facebook Live too. Just need a phone or an iPad in the room which people can see and hear live on, and can ask questions at the same time, whilst one of you reads the questions on another device.
I do something similar on Facebook page that I run.
It's a simple (and cheap) solution in the short term.

i havent used facebook live before so im not sure of the set up etc, but how will that work if we are doing the recording via skype as all the audio is going through the headset?

or would we need to try and record it without headphones?

We are just trying to find ways to move onwards and upwards with the podcast so exploring some options, just wanting to gauge some opinions on this poll!

There is a program that would allow us to broadcast the podcasts live, like a radio show. it gives listeners the ability to submit live questions via a chat client through their FB or twitter accounts i believe.

we can also record the episode and upload later, but before looking more into it and potentially finding a sponsor for it, would just like to get an idea on how many would be likley to tune in if we did a live broadcast!
Get on private convo and we can work through some of the stuff we can do in house, sponsorships etc.

I voted yes but it would depend on the time... If it was after say 830/9pm then I'd be good...just have to get the Bub to bed.
The podcast was recorded at 8:00 on a Monday this year, we normally talked for about ten minutes before the show so it started at around 8:10.

Don’t think it’s overly necessary mate. What you’re doing now by fielding questions during the day from social media is good.
Maybe when the podcast has had another full year of broadcasting you will have an idea of the viewership and whether Live shows are warranted.
The Official Richmond podcast runs Live and they used to take live calls from the listeners as well but seem to have moved away from that.
In terms of progression, you could introduce more regular weekly segments, whether they be directly related to BigFooty posters/posting or to the club.
For example - BigFooty Talking point for the week - like a hot topic type of thing.
BOG BigFooty poster for the week also WOG for the laughs.
On the Footy field you could have an unsung hero segment where we discuss a player that has had an impact on the game that hasn’t been widely regarded in the Footy world.
A rumours segment - whether it be trading or a scandal.

Just a few ideas.

Saltiest opposition post of the week!!

Daily life “no ticket for you” nominations (people at work, randoms you run into) would be some funny stories.

I don’t do any other social media other than here. Would the live recording be saved with a link so people could access it On YouTube at any time?
I’m a man of inconsistent work habits and hours so I would hate to miss it.

Yeah absolutely.

It saves the audio as a mp3 file so we can upload to iTunes and YouTube as normal for those who couldn't listen live

No. Radio is shit. Podcasts are king as you can listen at your leisure and fast forward the crap...if there is any in other podcasts :)

Yeah agree about it being good to listen to stuff whenever you want.

This would only be in addition to what we already do, so everyone would have the option.

We will always be posting to iTunes and YouTube!

Is the trade podcast with the great man T71 up yet?

we are recording it tonight at around 7:30pm! we had to push it back due to some work commitments and RL stuff, but all locked and loaded for tonight!

Perfect, thanks mate. Thought it was already up and that I was going crazy.

while we are at it, I'm looking for more people to put their hand up to come onto the show next year during the season!

its a good bit of fun.

we usually record on monday nights at around 7:30pm or 8:00pm
all you need is skype and headphones with a microphone.

We send all guests for the weeks show the agenda with plenty of notice so you know what will be spoken about so you can prepare.

i dont think there has ever been a time we have had an awkward moment, it always flows and is good fun.

while we are at it, I'm looking for more people to put their hand up to come onto the show next year during the season!

its a good bit of fun.

We send all guests for the weeks show the agenda with plenty of notice so you know what will be spoken about so you can prepare.

i dont think there has ever been a time we have had an awkward moment, it always flows and is good fun.

Pencil me in ;)

its a good bit of fun.

Happy to go on when you need someone