Positivity thread 2025

John Who

Apr 16, 2017
For those who wish to lower their blood pressure and cortisol levels. This thread is for you! Anyone wanting to share any random thoughts without the usage of the word “sack” is welcome aboard!

Firstly, I would like to state the obvious, and that this year is a way better feeling than last year! No one would think we were a chance of being a serious threat at the start of the year, so if we can make the Finals, I’m considering everything else a bonus from there on (for this year). The proviso is that we carry on this momentum for the following years.

Another random thought that came to mind, and why we’re a good attacking team. Obviously Thilthorpe’s form is a major reason, but also I think we have a forward line that’s possibly the most ambidextrous in the entire league and likely in our club’s history?
Thilthorpe
Tex
Fog
Rankine
Rachele

(By ambidextrous, I mean, players who look really comfortable kicking with either feet.)

This has to be a positive for Adelaide 😁

Essendon make improved offer to Sam Draper as free agent holds concerns over club’s fitness program

Essendon has tabled an improved contract offer to unrestricted free agent Sam Draper that has put them in the ballpark with rivals Adelaide and Brisbane.

The new offer will give Essendon renewed hope that it can take Draper off the ruck merry-go-round despite his status as an unrestricted free agent who can walk from the Hangar.

An AFL player is rumoured to have gotten a second strike

So the test was positive
Loading Please Wait GIF by sendwishonline.com

Essendon make improved offer to Sam Draper as free agent holds concerns over club’s fitness program

Essendon has tabled an improved contract offer to unrestricted free agent Sam Draper that has put them in the ballpark with rivals Adelaide and Brisbane.

The new offer will give Essendon renewed hope that it can take Draper off the ruck merry-go-round despite his status as an unrestricted free agent who can walk from the Hangar.
Just quietly he wants to stay at Essendon. He doesn't want to go to Brisbane but is happy the offer is public as it's forcing Essendon's hand. It's still Essendon or us as the only options he's considering, so if we pull out he's staying at Essendon.

We should have pulled our offer when he got injured (we have form) as from a business point of view, it'd have been the smartest move, too many variables coming back from that injury, before we even discuss right player, right money.

So positively, we have dodged a bullet maybe?

Worrell is a beast

Max is now the best swingman in the competition.

Curtin is an absolute jet.

Peatling is a gun mid
Fog is back, baby!

We have heaps of talent in the wings still. Lots of blokes that can improve and raise the "floor" of the team.

I don’t think “feared” is the right term, but more “respected”.
2020-2022 : rebuild aka laughing stock
2023 : respectable
2024 : laughing stock
2024 : respected
I reckon teams would be nervous playing us, like we are nervous about playing a few teams. Maybe feared is the wrong word, but something along those lines.

Starting to think Reid might get charged with Highway Robbery after what we ended up paying for one J Peatling.

A future second for Peatling, a future third and a future fourth.

I swear, McCartney must have walked out of that room, stopped and thought, "WTF just happened?"
Yeah of the 4 pick ups last year Peatling seemed like the steak knives. To this point I'd say he's 100% been our best recruit on current gameday output.

I’m also a big fan of ANB. We’ve actually recruited amazingly well in recent years.

I remember saying last year we were there and there abouts, but we just needed that little bit more experience (or maturity as you put it) to start ticking the boxes (you know: winning away from home, winning close games, winning ugly, coming from behind to win, winning against top 8 teams etc). Well it's happened a bit quicker than I thought it might (given where we were last year) so I cannot complain! Like I said, I'm excited and enjoying footy again.

Positivity thread 2025