BIRDBRAIN

Hello everyone. I have a keen interest in poverty. I love talking to people who are absolutely destitute and hearing about their woes. Can't pay their car rego, credit card debt, pay day loans, behind on rent, can't cook, fish and chips for the kids every day, power cut off etc.

I find Australia with social media everyone is always talking themselves up, how much money they have, pics from the holiday they paid for on credit, their shiny new car the bank owns etc etc. Love to talk to people who are broke and brutally honest.

Love to hear in this thread from some bigfooty members going through a tough time financially! How do you spend your days? Are you just scraping by or is it unsustainable? Do you own a car or use public transport? What is the condition of the car and do you fare evade? What do you do for meals?

Thanks for starting this thread BIRDBRAIN, it’s been fun.

It has been, but I was hoping for more input from the terminally poor, cash-strapped and down-trodden. Still hoping eventually a few members will stumble upon it and open up on their experiences of extreme poverty, debt, unemployment, underemployment, rent-stressed, mortgage-stressed, homelessness or any of the above.

Recovering peasant checking in. I can give you some insight into how the dregs of society live, however I was only scum for about 5 years of my life. This has made my rehabilitation of crawling out of the gutter to rejoin society an easier process than those who were raised as scum.

Fish and chips every day? Last time I bought fish and chips for four people it cost me about $70. No wonder they're in poverty.

The poor people these days have it too easy, obviously. When I was a boy poor people ate gruel! And were happy to have it!

Gruel? I wish we had gruel back then. We had to make do with sawdust lightly sprinkled with water to give it some substance.

Hello everyone. I have a keen interest in poverty. I love talking to people who are absolutely destitute and hearing about their woes. Can't pay their car rego, credit card debt, pay day loans, behind on rent, can't cook, fish and chips for the kids every day, power cut off etc.

I find Australia with social media everyone is always talking themselves up, how much money they have, pics from the holiday they paid for on credit, their shiny new car the bank owns etc etc. Love to talk to people who are broke and brutally honest.

Love to hear in this thread from some bigfooty members going through a tough time financially! How do you spend your days? Are you just scraping by or is it unsustainable? Do you own a car or use public transport? What is the condition of the car and do you fare evade? What do you do for meals?
I might suggest this thread on GD might get more discussion.

Wow I got a bit of karma yesterday. Mrs and I were on our way for a hike and I overtook an annoying car in a 100 zone that was swaying all over the road and wouldn't keep consistent speed. I got up to about 120 to overtake him and then stayed at around 110-115 for a while to get clear of him. I was also drinking a can of beer for the trip! Anyway, got done by an oncoming highway patrol car, 113 in a 100 zone $322/3 points and another $322 for consuming intoxicating liquor while driving. I was only .01 BAC. $644 later that was one expensive bush walk! Now I have the money and could easily just pay it, but has anyone had any luck convincing them that you can't afford it and get on a payment plan? I'd much rather fork out 100 a month or something than $644 all at once, it would just annoy me a lot less and I'd prefer to make them wait to get my money. This is in Victoria.

Don’t think the types birdman is looking for would have access to internet to tell there story

A mate from work got a speeding fine and went to a JP and organised to pay $10/week until it was paid off. He used the financial hardship line.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

From all the info on the fines.vic page it sounded like you had to be on Centrelink payments to go on a payment plan. In the end I just paid it, so annoying.