Power saving devices

• Thread starter Thread starter Goldhawk

Just wondering if anybody has an Electricity power saver as seen on TV the other night both on Ch 9 and Ch 7

They reckon that they can save up to 25% on your power bills.

The unit shown on ACA cost around the $800 plus while the other unit shown on Today Tonight was between $1300 to $1700.

It is supposed to clean up dirty electricity and thus making it about 30% more efficient.

I think it's worth looking into it, my electricity bills just seem to be rising all the time averaging around the $700.

I know having a few accessories such as A/C ,plasma TVs, computers, all electric kitchen and swimming pool can add up the costs but this is getting ridiculas

Talking to my old man about it today after watching it last night.

Does that cost include a sparkie installing it?

The conclusion we came to in the end was this. If everyone bought one of these, all the power companies would do would increase the costs by 30% so they are making the margins.

Talking to my old man about it today after watching it last night.

Does that cost include a sparkie installing it?

The conclusion we came to in the end was this. If everyone bought one of these, all the power companies would do would increase the costs by 30% so they are making the margins.

Installation included.

if you are thinking of spending $1000+ to get a saving, i'd consider spending a bit more (from around $2500 for 1.5kW) and getting solar panels on the roof. depending on your energy consumption you could even be up for a credit on your next bill. also be aware that the federal government is decreasing the rebate on them so they will go up in price next financial year.

you could also get a free energy audit from a power company that should suggest other 'savings'.

Yer I agree... just put the money into getting solar. Although a 1.5kw system would struggle with a family... and for 2.5k sounds a bit light on quality.

Yes, the amount we pay for power is obscene. Aren't we also paying some sort of levy to replace all meters with digital ones? Spare a thought for the Tasmanians though, who produce more than half of Australia's clean renewable power yet are buying their power in from Queensland!

Solar is a farce and here's why.

Once you ring up your Elect Provider and tell them that you have Solar Panels and you want to feed any excess back into the grid, your PEAK rate during the day doubles!!!

And when you do feed it back into the grid, they pay you OFFPEAK rates.

Its a bloody rort!

Not to mention if you don't get the correct meter installed when you get your panels connected you will actually be charged for the power your panels produce - the standard meters have no way of differentiating between power "in" and power "out", so they just see it as power moving...so they rack it up and charge you for it!

Anyhoo...back to the OP...what is dirty electricity? And should I get some for my next 'kid free evening' with the missus?

Current Affair just tested this device today (from the OP) a mate of mine told me just now.

Seems the device used MORE power than before. The guy was shattered apparently.

From watching the vision the other night in his warehouse, must have had 100k worth of the devices.

Reckons Taita is more on the money.

Not to mention if you don't get the correct meter installed when you get your panels connected you will actually be charged for the power your panels produce - the standard meters have no way of differentiating between power "in" and power "out", so they just see it as power moving...so they rack it up and charge you for it!

Anyhoo...back to the OP...what is dirty electricity? And should I get some for my next 'kid free evening' with the missus?

This is just miss information.... please research before you spread this crap.

I have physically seen the old meters winding backwards.
The New meters are going to be installed to everyone by 2013 so get used to it. If you are going to get Solar than you have to tell your power company to install a smart meter... not rocket science.
The Vic government pays you 60cents per KW you export to the grid, this credits your account, but again you must have the right meter... simple research on the subject and you would know that.
Solar power payback for the system I'm getting will be around 3 years.... thens it's free electicty....

I dont know why there is so much bad press.... too many sstupid people getting wrong information from dodgy installers.

Solar is a farce and here's why.

Once you ring up your Elect Provider and tell them that you have Solar Panels and you want to feed any excess back into the grid, your PEAK rate during the day doubles!!!

And when you do feed it back into the grid, they pay you OFFPEAK rates.

Its a bloody rort!

Again this is just wrong. You need the premium feed in tariff meter and sign up for the premium tariff. Obviously you are getting this info firsts hand or second hand.... I feel sorry for who every you are getting this info from because they are simply stupid.... if they want help on setting there system up properly send me a pm and I will help them.... no charge. Just frustrates me that this sought of bad information is coming from people who really have no idea how the solar system works, especially the rebates and feed in tariffs and this in turn is stopping future people benefiting from solar.

You must get the premium feed in tariff......

Again this is just wrong. You need the premium feed in tariff meter and sign up for the premium tariff. Obviously you are getting this info firsts hand or second hand.... I feel sorry for who every you are getting this info from because they are simply stupid.... if they want help on setting there system up properly send me a pm and I will help them.... no charge. Just frustrates me that this sought of bad information is coming from people who really have no idea how the solar system works, especially the rebates and feed in tariffs and this in turn is stopping future people benefiting from solar.

You must get the premium feed in tariff......
i really don't think you have the credentials to be calling anyone stupid.

'Miss information' is stating that smart meters will be installed to everyone by 2013 - 2013 still hasn't happened but I can catergorically state that this is just utter crap and will not happen.

The fact is solar power has been gifted a niche market by the federal government via subsidies. If we are to focus our attention on the prudent management and operation of a power system then take a look at TAITA's post.

i really don't think you have the credentials to be calling anyone stupid.

'Miss information' is stating that smart meters will be installed to everyone by 2013 - 2013 still hasn't happened but I can catergorically state that this is just utter crap and will not happen.
The fact is solar power has been gifted a niche market by the federal government via subsidies. If we are to focus our attention on the prudent management and operation of a power system then take a look at TAITA's post.

Getting paid for producing power via your own Solar System is not only environmentally beneficial but probably the best investment you can do....

Someone who needs a 2kw system( about $1600 dollars a year in bills) but puts on 3kw system is likely to pay for their bills and pocket over $1000 dollars. With a system price of around $9500 please inform me where you could get a better return thats guaranteed for 15 years once you have locked in your state government tariff.
You clearly are miss informed.....

no, but i could be mr informed. do you see what i did their? or only sought of? ok, smartarse comments aside....

if you are stating that it is going to happen, you are clearly ignorant of the politics behind the decision. link to dpi all you like, that is a policy developed under the previous government.

installing smart meters everywhere is going to cost victorians a heap, and for what? are they really going to change their behaviour in consuming energy? if you buy an air conditioner you are going to use it when it is hot. change behaviour much - i don't think so, it is a dumb and costly outcome. somewhere along the line the politicians will land on their feet and make the right call - it is being reviewed at the moment.

i don't think i would ever bank on receiving a government tariff for 15 years. shit happens.

no, but i could be mr informed. do you see what i did their? or only sought of? ok, smartarse comments aside....

if you are stating that it is going to happen, you are clearly ignorant of the politics behind the decision. link to dpi all you like, that is a policy developed under the previous government.

installing smart meters everywhere is going to cost victorians a heap, and for what? are they really going to change their behaviour in consuming energy? if you buy an air conditioner you are going to use it when it is hot. change behaviour much - i don't think so, it is a dumb and costly outcome. somewhere along the line the politicians will land on their feet and make the right call - it is being reviewed at the moment.

i don't think i would ever bank on receiving a government tariff for 15 years. shit happens.

Yes I did get "it'... lol Mr Spelling Police.

Once you have signed the Tariff agreement it is legally binding for 15 years and you are put on the national register... if the government would want a class action then fine ... because that is what they would get from the 100,000's of people who have taken advantage of the present system.

Yes you are correct the solar tariffs are under review and they will most likely reduce, like they did overnight in NSW. But those punters in NSW that signed the tariffs before it was changed are locked in for 15 years. Lots of misconceptions about how the system works.... I can tell you from experience it will not get any better then signing up now.
Depending on the solar system you get, it matters very little what the prices do in the future providing you lock your self onto the premium 60 cent tariff.
By the way most energy retailers are paying you 6-8 cents extra on top of the tariff.

Regardless of the pro's and con's of the Smart meter, the fact is you need one if you get solar. So the actually price of peak usage is not overly important because you aren't paying for it when you are producing. It's the off peak price and when you use your washing machine, dish washer etc... that matters more.
If you actually use you "smart" meter correctly you could actually be better off.

Again if you have any questions please ask.... I could even give you a quote lol..