naitch

Rookie
is there any Pubs in walking distance from skilled? I cant say I have seen any, then again the Uncle and old man use to take me when I was a tacker. am I better to back to the pubs around melborune or will they be open after the game in Geelong?

Cheers:thumbsu:

Lambys tent at the ground mate :)

good spot after the game :)

awesome where exactly is it, is like inside or under a tent? how long is open after the game, hope the trains to Melbourne ran back for awhile haha gunna need a few to warm me up;)

yeh bro its like an indoor/outdoor tent/shed thingo... will just call it a piss donga for say...

its open for the game and after..and its closer to the trains then any of the other pubs.. i think.:thumbsu:

It's at the Barwon River end of the ground right behind the Doug Wade Stand. You can't miss it (unless your really pissed)

is there any Pubs in walking distance from skilled? I cant say I have seen any, then again the Uncle and old man use to take me when I was a tacker. am I better to back to the pubs around melborune or will they be open after the game in Geelong?

Cheers:thumbsu:

Actually Billy's new pub is not far from the ground...easy 5 min walk to the Valley Inn on Fyans St. Better that Lamby's tent thingy by heaps. Ask anyone for directions. See you there for a few 'froffys':)

Plus the beers are cheaper there and a much better pour than the concession stands elsewhere around the ground.

An absolutely genius idea by the Club/Lamby's to keep us punters around after the game, before stumbling over the road to that Mexican restaurant and then on to the Barwon Club afterwards.

I've not been to Geelong for four years (sigh) but i remember a pub near the ground that was owned by Kent Kingsley and King maybe. I retreated in there one day during a wet day when we were thumping Port. I almost fell over as i thought Kent was behind the bar, which explained his anonymous performance that day, turns out it was his brother.

I'd be suprised if it was still open, it had all the hallmarks of a failed footballer pub that one. Was very close to the City end goals.

I've not been to Geelong for four years (sigh) but i remember a pub near the ground that was owned by Kent Kingsley and King maybe. I retreated in there one day during a wet day when we were thumping Port. I almost fell over as i thought Kent was behind the bar, which explained his anonymous performance that day, turns out it was his brother.

I'd be suprised if it was still open, it had all the hallmarks of a failed footballer pub that one. Was very close to the City end goals.
George and Dragon. And you are right, it is long gone. But I swear to god that building is cursed. Has had more owners/names than any other place in Geelong.

You should change your club to Geelong by the way matey.

George and Dragon. And you are right, it is long gone. But I swear to god that building is cursed. Has had more owners/names than any other place in Geelong.

Didn't help that half the time after games they wouldn't let people in wearing footy jumpers, as it 'wasn't the image they are trying to project' (and while I'm all for grown men not wearing footy tops, that's just a recipe for failure given the proximity to KP).

I'm even thinkiing of just goin back to melb and watching the end of the twilight game in richmond or something. i'll guess ill see what happens on the day. I wouldnt mind checking out this Tent thingo then going off to Billys Pub;)

I gotta stop going to the footy and drinking by myself.

The people I go with can't drink at the match (other than one or two at half time).

They have an awesome sausage sizzle goin on...
Get on board people!

Might do. Heading down on Saturday arvo and staying at the inlaws later that night, which means BIG night out on the G-Town and a massive need for some greasy crap in my guts prior to the game. Can't believe I never knew about that before - cheers for the heads up mate.

No worries...
The beer and food are pretty cheap which helps in these tough times...

my mate has pulled out on me for tomorrow so looks like i'll be making the lonely trip up by myself tomorrow:( might give the pubs a miss unsure at the moment