footy32

Rookie
G'day all
Just need some information about buying a greyhound.
I dont know much at all, just that our limit is $5000.
Does anyone have any good information on
how we should buy the dog
how we should pick the trainer
Or anything else

Cheers

You have to really study bloodlines with greyhounds....

It's a very cut-throat business and I think its about only 4% of greyhounds make decent money after vet costs, training and fees etc.

Alot of good websites out there offer syndicates or outright purchase of greyhounds. When I bought mine I used The Golden Paw. They were very professional and helpful. Just make sure you study study study and ask as many questions as you can to people in the know.

A limit of 5000, you should be able to get a really good one at that. Buying a pup is the best way and chance to get a good dog. Down side is that you have to wait a lot longer to start racing. I'm pretty sure there is another thread with alot of info in it.

Is your budget of 5k for everything or just to buy the pup? if its for everything you will need to factor in raring fees and breaking in costs. Make sure you find a good trainer too, thats crucial! The amount of good dogs i have seen taken off good trainers and its wrecked them is many. On the other hand i have seen many average dogs moved to a good kennel and they have improved out of sight. My personal opinion would be dont buy into a syndicate online. Actually go and buy a pup yourself. Also i would strongly advise never to buy already broken in pups, it may seem like a time and cost cutter but you will rarely if ever get a decent dog. What state do you live in? I know some people in the industry and might be able to help you out

thanks for all of that, 5000 for the actual pup itself.
do you think getting a ready made one to go or pup first?
Im in victoria and would love to gather some help on regards to trainers and every other connection you have!

thanks for all of that, 5000 for the actual pup itself.
do you think getting a ready made one to go or pup first?
Im in victoria and would love to gather some help on regards to trainers and every other connection you have!

You should be able to get something for five grand then. you have two options in my opinion. Either by a young pup which is what i would suggest or look for a young dog already racing that you like and put in an offer for it. If you do that though dont get one that has already gone through most of its grades as thats where you win most of your money. Are you wanting it to only race in victoria?

Owning a pup is more expensive but the long term benefits could be a lot better.
Yeah only in Victoria is the place to be for the fella

Just my opinion but i highly recommend not doing this. Go and buy a pup yourself you will be much better off

Wish i had of joined a syndicate to begin with to atleast learn the do's and don'ts before venturing out on my own. Syndication is the future of the industry and i dare say bring in the majority of new participants at a affordable price

Cheers
Rob

why is that mate?

A lot of experience. You end up having little to no input on the dog. Syndicate dogs are always extremely over priced. If you only want to spend a couple hundred for some fun them sure a syndicate is probably the way to go.

Wish i had of joined a syndicate to begin with to atleast learn the do's and don'ts before venturing out on my own. Syndication is the future of the industry and i dare say bring in the majority of new participants at a affordable price

Cheers
Rob

Its your syndicate website so of course you would say that. What do's and dont's does buying into a syndicate give you? All they do is pay the money and watch as someone else makes all the decisions

You are probably right in a way, buying into a syndicate doesn't give you much room to make all the decisions. But for a lot its the beauty of it as they know nothing about greyhounds when they first enter.

All syndicate members choose racenames via a vote. Theres really only 1 decision to make after choosing a name and that is who trains the dog. The trainer takes the reins from then and makes all decisions on everything the way it should be.

Anyway being in a syndicate isn't for everyone and going out on your own is better for some that can have the upfront funds to pay for everything outright.

All sounds very interesting.
Without going with a syndicate how do you then purchase the dog? How do you find a trainer?
A friend of mine spoke to the Golden Paw and they receive 5% profit and the trainer receives 50%, leaving the owner with 45%. Is that really enough 45% for ten owners?

If you know nothing at all then join a reputable syndicate, there are too many pitfalls otherwise. Another way is to find a trainer and get him to find you a dog and let him take it from there but then you have to make sure your trainer is one of the honest ones.

There are some syndications that are iffy but Winninglory has stood the test of time. I'm not sure if Winninglory work this way but if they can get a few groups to put in $5k each you should get a nice, ready to race dog which saves the wait.

As for profit, don't count on it. Also don't be afraid to ask questions before parting with your dough. Join a forum where you'll find a heap of good information.

www.greyhound-data.com
http://greyhoundsales.proboards.com