- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Carlton
To Bali. Qatar isn't getting them there, nor having any impact on cost of those flights.It's not the 1970s, lots of low income people can afford holidays. Or used to be able to.

Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 7
SuperCoach Rd 7 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 7 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
To Bali. Qatar isn't getting them there, nor having any impact on cost of those flights.It's not the 1970s, lots of low income people can afford holidays. Or used to be able to.
So international travellers are not impacted by cost of living issues?To Bali. Qatar isn't getting them there, nor having any impact on cost of those flights.
Some more than others I'd imagine.So international travellers are not impacted by cost of living issues?
Well yeah that's usually how these things work.Some more than others I'd imagine.
So international travellers are not impacted by cost of living issues?
If this was really about Qatar as a destination, why would Qantas care?Do you think Qatar as a destination rates high on many bucket lists?
That's an irrelevant two wrong make a right argument. Jobkeeper was panic policy.The libs gave Qantas $900 million jobkeeper, and $1.6 billion in other financial assistance......
Do you think Qatar as a destination rates high on many bucket lists?
That's an irrelevant two wrong make a right argument. Jobkeeper was panic policy.
Qantas actively screw over households but you reckon the government should be protecting their profits. Why?
There is no meaningful policy debate or otherwise about anything in Australia. We are at a point where it is ok to punch down on the disadvantaged endlessly (Robodebt, housing crisis, the gap) but everyone turns a blind eye when eye watering amounts of money are simply handed over to big business.I wonder how much of this and other government failures (especially failures to explain) by both sides is due to the decline in the quantity of POLADS from experienced people who had networks of knowledge not afraid to challenge ideas to the modern day where POLADS have a uni degree and maybe a couple of years doing admin support in a pollies office where saying no isn't career enhancing.
As an example, a friend ran into a POLAD (24 year old Director equivalent) who excitedly told them about an idea to improve conditions in remote communities. They quickly called in the indigenous LO and found to their horror:
1) This conversation was the extent of the engagement with the relevant organisation
2) There was no indigenous engagement even with LOs within 50 metres.
3) It sounded good but there was no depth to the proposal just a sound bite.
4) The idea actually was either illegal or would require declaration of a national emergency.
5) If it hadn't been for this accidental meeting, the minister was going to announce it at a international meeting two days later cause the POLAD said it was a great idea and had written talking points.
Voice might have helped (especially if LOs are transferred to work for the voice rather than the department which will also save money and avoid duplication) but not sure as it didn't require legislative change and the current LOs are ignored so the POLAD might have just pushed it through anyway because of the timeline for the conference.
On SM-A125F using BigFooty.com mobile app
There is no meaningful policy debate or otherwise about anything in Australia. We are at a point where it is ok to punch down on the disadvantaged endlessly (Robodebt, housing crisis, the gap) but everyone turns a blind eye when eye watering amounts of money are simply handed over to big business.
This is not the role of government and why the $2.7 billion Qantas handouts are a complete disgrace.
We have huge ongoing social problems in this country and it is politically impossible to resolve them due to the media and political landscape.
Meanwhile corporate Australia can make off like bandits with eye watering subsidies and handouts and no one bats an eyelid.
All political discourse in Australia has been dumbed down to a binary choice of which side of the culture wars you stand on.
And the whole time PAYE tax payers do all the heavy lifting with government revenue raising and the government in turn gives all their money away to corporates with the little to no benefit to tax payers at all. Both sides of politics are guilty and we are all ok with it.
It is maddening.
I've flown Qatar a few times and other than treating everyone not in 1st and Business as trash they were bog average.No definitely NO
No, you aren't forced to use Qantas. I'd prefer if they were nationalised.
You think a government run airline would provide a better or cheaper service?
The problem is that they privatised the airports. That's the main barrier to domestic competition - both Qantas and Virgin have tied up the major airports and the barriers to entry for a new airline are too high.
While my qatar gently weepsIsn't Qatar a government owned/run airline?
Apparently they can lower prices.
Isn't Qatar a government owned/run airline?
Apparently they can lower prices.
Why should we prop up Qantas when things are bad, but have no stake for when things are good?
You think Qantas has the same costs as Qatar? What do you think a baggage handler or cleaner at Doha airport gets paid?
They use our baggage handlers at this end. Don't we use theirs at their end?
Qantas doesn't fly to Qatar. Or many other international destinations.
I'm guessing you don't remember what it used to cost to fly. What happened to Ansett was a genuine circuit breaker for the whole industry, but it's gone backwards since covid.
Doha airport is a shithole - just sayin'You think Qantas has the same costs as Qatar? What do you think a baggage handler or cleaner at Doha airport gets paid?
I'm not arguing for propping Qantas up BTW.