Ricky_15

south dragons
Considering it is almost a certainty we will select him at NO.1

how much senior football can we expect from Jack next year?

considering he has year 12 and is also a developing key forward who has to bulk up abit.

i think he'll play more than we think... our forward line was a shambles last year... if Robbo isn't right to go for round one, don't be surprised to see him line up for the season opener...

He'll play 10 games. I rkn the whole 'i want to fin school' thing, was just a throw up to convince clubs that he wasn't moving from Melbourne..

I think he will play all of the Pre-Season and around 10 games...

Bit off topic, but my mate coached him playing basketball and said was the most talented player he had ever seen and could of played NBA without really trying to much.

I'd be surprised if we see him at all. We only saw Maric a couple of times this year as he was doing year 12, and he was playing a less physical role than that of a key forward.

If he plays, good, if not, no big deal. Just make the epic journey down to Casey fields to see him running around.

I've heard something along the he was potentially the best basketballer to come out of Australia. Put it this way, Point guards in NBL or Australia in general are much smaller guys (Patrick Mills is 6'0 even) then what is standard in the NBA, Watts at 6'4 + is more traditional size. Guys his size in Aus just don't have the agility and speed to play the role at the highest level, but he did.

He might not go interstate, Maric played 5 of the last 6 games only missing the trip to Adelaide, but he did play Sunday's. Maybe they make them do a special recovery sessions before school. I don't expect to see him round 1, because then he immediately becomes the focus of our forward line. We need the team to get a bit settle without him and then to just slot him in a pocket or maybe even on the wing. I'd be happy to see 1 game, but i guess he'll play 8-12 games

I've heard something along the he was potentially the best basketballer to come out of Australia. Put it this way, Point guards in NBL or Australia in general are much smaller guys (Patrick Mills is 6'0 even) then what is standard in the NBA, Watts at 6'4 + is more traditional size. Guys his size in Aus just don't have the agility and speed to play the role at the highest level, but he did.

He might not go interstate, Maric played 5 of the last 6 games only missing the trip to Adelaide, but he did play Sunday's. Maybe they make them do a special recovery sessions before school.
I don't expect to see him round 1, because then he immediately becomes the focus of our forward line. We need the team to get a bit settle without him and then to just slot him in a pocket or maybe even on the wing. I'd be happy to see 1 game, but i guess he'll play 8-12 games
I think he would be able to play all the games and do early morning recovery, but you might leave him out for a Sunday arvo game at Subi. The guy is used to playing both basketball and footy so I think he will be used to doing a fair bit of before and after school training.

I think 8-12 might be a few too many, Tom Hawkins only played 9 or 10 and he wasn't very fit but had the body to compete. Watts being so young I wouldn't be expecting any more than 5. It probably depends on how Miller, Robbo, Newton, Bate go, if we got those guys playing well together then you'd probably leave Jack out.

Also I expect him to predominantly play for Brighton and only a couple of VFL games, I hope he enjoys the attention because he will have a whole school wanting him to dominate and the other team will have one target. I remember what happened when my school had a go at a fat Tom Hawkins and a soft Xavier Ellis, was a bit of fun and neither of them did anything substansial.

I think 8-12 might be a few too many, Tom Hawkins only played 9 or 10 and he wasn't very fit but had the body to compete. Watts being so young I wouldn't be expecting any more than 5. It probably depends on how Miller, Robbo, Newton, Bate go, if we got those guys playing well together then you'd probably leave Jack out.
Yeah Hawkins wasn't very fit meaning he could only play forward, Watts is and I see no reason why Watts couldn't play a few games off a wing or half forward. It won't be Miller or Robbo he'll be competing with, it'll be Juice and Bate or even the other small forwards. It's not like were not going to have poor players, so unless we manage to get up for 7+ wins then i can't see Watts being kept out of the side because of the form of others.

Also I expect him to predominantly play for Brighton and only a couple of VFL games, I hope he enjoys the attention because he will have a whole school wanting him to dominate and the other team will have one target. I remember what happened when my school had a go at a fat Tom Hawkins and a soft Xavier Ellis, was a bit of fun and neither of them did anything substansial.
What are you basing this on, Ellis & Hawkins? The Hawkins stuff would've been before he was drafted wouldn't it? So it's not relevant. I would think that he wouldn't play for Brighton much at all and i'm basing that precedent on MFC history as recently as this year. Maric played 13 VFL games (1 ressies) & 5 AFL games, so that doesn't leave much room for school footy.

Basing it on Ellis and as they always play school footy of TAC, being year 12 I would suspect he would be required to play school footy ahead of VFL. I might also suggest the APS is stronger than the AGS but I don't want to start that war. But you would have to ask someone from Brighton and/or someone from MFC for the answer. Anyone know?