Question

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Yeah, I'll now be paying reasonably close attention.

I think Germany or S&M will get up. Infact, I'd almost forsee the rankings ending up being in order of star-power...

1. Serbia and Montenegro (quality and quantity)
2. Germany (Irk Iggler)
3. Spain (Gasol and... er, not the Grizz... Juan Carlos Navarro)
4. France (Tony Parker, along with Moiso, Pietrus and Diaw, I presume?)
5. Russia (AK47)
6. Greece (Iakovos Tsakilidis)
7. Turkey (Mehmet Okur)
8. Lithuania (they're usually good right)

Can you inform us which NBA talent will actually be participating, Stiffy?

Originally posted by Guey_34
Can you inform us which NBA talent will actually be participating

According to NBA.com...

Croatia
Dalibor Bagaric, Chicago Bulls
Gordan Giricek, Orlando Magic
Zoran Planinic, New Jersey Nets

France
Tariq Abdul-Wahad, Dallas Mavericks
Boris Diaw, Atlanta Hawks
Jerome Moiso, Toronto Raptors
Tony Parker, San Antonio Spurs

Germany
Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks

Greece
Jake Tsakalidis, Phoenix Suns

Lithuania
Darius Songaila, Sacramento Kings

Russia
Andrei Kirilenko, Utah Jazz

Serbia & Montenegro
Peja Drobnjak, Seattle Sonics
Marko Jaric, Los Angeles Clippers
Peja Stojakovic, Sacramento Kings

Slovenia
Primoz Brezec, Indiana Pacers
Bostjan Nachbar, Houston Rockets

Spain
Pau Gasol, Memphis Grizzlies

Turkey
Mehmet Okur, Detroit Pistons
Hedo Turkoglu, San Antonio Spurs

Originally posted by Guey_34
1. Serbia and Montenegro (quality and quantity)
Gee I hope so mate. This is probably the weakest team in the last 20-25 years.

Good depth at PG, SG and SF but PF and C are very weak IMHO. Drobnjak is really out of form and Koturovic is nothing more than an honest work horse. Scouts are keeping a very close eye on Ognjen Askrabic (PF) but for some reason coach is not giving him a lot of court time. Ostojic (C) and Perovic (C) are just reserves for their own club side and the later is inexperienced and cannot be expected to be a saviour. Will be tough but still good enough for a medal IMHO. Too many frontcourt players missing through various reasons, mainly injuries.

Hope for the best. Will have to get up at 4am to watch S&M Vs Russia. Russia are loaded in front court and are a tough proposition. :(

Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
I'll be in europe just after the group round i think

Cant wait to see Hellas defeat everyone in sight :cool:
I reckon that would be the strongest squad you assebled in ages. Still no match for Peja's mighty team;)

I am staying up tonight to watch S&M Vs Russia, should be a ripper. Matches between these 2 always are.:D