Raphael Clarke's Role

• Thread starter Thread starter Punter!

Personally i'd like to see him given a chance at the role which was being played by Goddard. Although Gilbert has been fantastic, I think Raph is smarter once he gets the ball and could really help us set up from the backline. Raph and Gram both have the ability to run and create with pin point disposal and will be huge for us in the second half of the year.

What sort of role does everyone think R Clarke will play when he is fit?

I'd imagine he might take a HBF as a rebounding/running defender..Although Gilbert seems to be filling that role quite well.

Suggestions?

Yeah i think he would be a good replacement for BJ while he is out. as long as he doesn't play the same role as last year which was getting the footy and then giving to the other team.

maybe even floating across the middle of the ground if he can just build his skills a little we might then be able to leave Roo close to the 50 so we have got someone to kick to.

Does any one else find it hard to stomach that we have arguably the best F line in the afl (well it was a year or 2 ago) yet we struggle to put a half decent score on the board my biggest concern at the moment is the forward line not the back...in having said that would be nice to have grammys run of HB.

Raph and Gram both have the ability to run and create with pin point disposal and will be huge for us in the second half of the year.

obviously weren't watching him last year :)

HE was woeful worse than Gwilt was in the first Q against Freo. good thing is though the reason for this is i believe they need to get used to the pace of the big league, look at Ben Johnson from the pies....do you remember in his first couple of seasons he looked like a headless chook whenever he got the ball just couldn't make a decision now look at him.

I also would like him to fill Goddard's role while he is out. Give the kid some experience there and then maybe next year when BJ gets up and running, he can stay there and let Goddard play midfield. No Harvey, so I would like to see Goddard play mostly in the midfield next year.

obviously weren't watching him last year :)

HE was woeful worse than Gwilt was in the first Q against Freo. good thing is though the reason for this is i believe they need to get used to the pace of the big league, look at Ben Johnson from the pies....do you remember in his first couple of seasons he looked like a headless chook whenever he got the ball just couldn't make a decision now look at him.

Yeah mate I watched him closely and I reckon what he was, was played in the highest paced, highest impact level of footy after doing no pre-season and on the back of only about a fortnight's training. So naturally, after trying to keep up with the speed of AFL for about 20 minutes his legs were rooted and in turn his disposal was shocking... he just had no fitness.
Raph has good disposal, he has proven that [as long as he is nowhere near the goals] and with some fitness will do a good job setting up play from defence.

I think it would be a mistake to play Raph this week - this is because i dont think he has played any competitive football matches this year (correct me if im wrong). Raph has been injured for a long, long time now...he only managed to play 5 games last season.

The problem with finding a role for Raph is that...hes not quite tall enough to play a key-position...and hes not quite quick enough to play midfield. I reckon he'll prolly play a bit as a medium-forward and also as a sweeping defender (same role as BJ had earlier in the year).

Yeah i think he would be a good replacement for BJ while he is out. as long as he doesn't play the same role as last year which was getting the footy and then giving to the other team.

Nice. Quote of the week. Actually, when I saw this thread, I expected to open it up and find blood on the page.