BlueBoy41

Former Carlton club champion and ball magnet Brett Ratten will play with Yarra Glen (Div 2 of Yarra Valley Mountain District Football League)... but how many games nobody knows...

Can anybody shed more light on this?

Well he and his family are from yarra glenn so its a fair chance, there are a few rattens playen at yarra glenn and they are guns!!! So i reckon its pretty likely

is Brett Ratten coaching Yarra Glen as well. I read somewhere he left Melbourne as an assistant coach to coach he is own team and be in charge.

My North said:
is Brett Ratten coaching Yarra Glen as well. I read somewhere he left Melbourne as an assistant coach to coach he is own team and be in charge.

I'm a HUGE Ratten fan, but wondered about his logic leaving Melbourne and wanting to coach at the highest level outside the AFL. He wanted to coach his own team but not in the VFL because he didn't want the problems of having players from other clubs on his list - AFL clubs that is. Wherever you go, apart from AFL, at the highest level, you'll have that problem, whether it be VFL, SANFL, QAFL, WAFL. Perhaps the only place to go would've been ACTAFL? Did anyone else see/read this?

Dermott Brereton to Woori Yallock rumour

Just saw on the Yarra Valley Mountain District league website that Dermott Brereton is rumoured to be having a kick with Woori Yallock against Olinda Ferny Creek this week.

Can anybody confirm this?

Anyone curious, check out the site for yourself: http://www.yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au/

Damian Monkhorst plays there, so perhaps the pair are still mates from Dermie's brief stint at Vic Park.

Re: Dermott Brereton to Woori Yallock rumour

That rumor has been around for years along with a number of others associated with Monkhorst's connection to both Collingwood and St. Kilda. Great promotional tool for both the Woori Yallock FC and the league in general if it comes off but I think Brereton would certainly be struggling to get a kick in what is a pretty slick and somewhat physical playing style of competition.

Suggesting Derm wouldn't be able to handle the physicality of footy "mountain style"?

Yes as he is old and hasnt played for quite a while - think it may be a big struggle for him physically. Wouldn't be easy trying to chase a guy 20 years his junior me thinks. Being intimidating and physical is only part of the game - still have to be fit enough to get a kick or two.

BlueBoy41 said:
Just saw on the Yarra Valley Mountain District league website that Dermott Brereton is rumoured to be having a kick with Woori Yallock against Olinda Ferny Creek this week.

Can anybody confirm this?

Anyone curious, check out the site for yourself: http://www.yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au/

Damian Monkhorst plays there, so perhaps the pair are still mates from Dermie's brief stint at Vic Park.

Brereton was talking about it on Triple M on Saturday night when I was driving home after footy, and he was saying he has commited to a couple of games (Monkhorst wants him to play 6 to qualify him for finals) and when asked as to why he wanted to play, he jokingly implied that he had a whopping plumbing bill to pay....:D

Will sit @ full forward I am told, and is alot lighter than when he played. I asked a mate of mine that lives in Christmas Hills about it and he confirmed it for me yesterday. :thumbsu:

He was meant to line up for the Tigers against Olinda this weekend but has to go to Sydney for the Cats game. Monky said he will play at some stage, just not this weekend.