Delisted Ray Connellan

As snow begins to blanket his hometown of Athlone, new Irish recruit Ray Connellan has begun adjusting to life as an AFL footballer.

Attending both the Irish Combine in Dublin and AFL Academy in Flordia, the 22-year-old former Gaelic football prodigy caught the eye of Recruiting & List Manager Tony Elshaug as the Saints looked at alternative venues for talent.

With some of Australia’s brightest football talents on display, Connellan impressed the St Kilda recruiters, leading to a three-week trial at Linen House Centre and signing on as an international rookie.

Heading into his first pre-season and life as an AFL footballer, Connellan has taken on extra training to fast track the transition to the famous Sherrin.

“Darragh and myself, we always do some extra work just before and after training, mostly low level hands stuff just to try and get used to the ground balls,” Connellan said.

“Back home our ball has a predictable bounce, but over here it can go anywhere so we just kind of get used to little things like that and then some body work around the stoppage, how to position yourself.

“Things we don’t have in our game back home so we’re doing more extras in that senses whereas the other boys who have been playing football all their lives don’t have to do so much.”

Essentially arriving to the sport as a blank canvas from a skills perspective, both Connellan and fellow Irish recruit Darragh Joyce don’t have the bad habits some AFL footballer leaen at a young age.

Having promptly picked up the mechanics behind kicking, it’s talk of structures and work around stoppages that is taking longer for Connellan to adjust.

“There is an awful lot of structures around stoppages and things that we don’t have back home, so getting the head around that is a little bit tricky,”

“But there’s so much staff here, so much support that you pick up bits. As long as you have a piece of information going home with you every night and you study that, you pick it up as you go.”

As the youngest of six, Connellan grew up in a gifted sporting family. Both his brothers were involved in professional sports, while his sister is a talented Gaelic footballer.

Blessed with natural talent, the 188cm Irishman was a rising Gaelic star with pace to burn – registering a 2.78 second 20-metre sprint, 0.03 seconds of the AFL Combine record.

However, Connellan’s Gaelic career ended in disappointment, suffering a broken leg in the Leinster football semi-final.

Nearing full recovery, Connellan has begun training with the first to four-year players - which included a ninth-placed finish in the pre-season’s first 3km time-trial.

“No problems really with the leg at all, I’m taking part in everything and just noticed the legs have been a little bit sore after training because I’ve been so long off my feet.”

“The fitness I’m still playing catch up, but the guys here are looking after us well.

“If we are pulling up on any little niggles they take us out and bring us onto the bikes or the anti-gravity treadmill, just to ease up on the legs because the load is a lot higher than what I’ve been used to.”

a99bddc3810a53cefe39898768cf48e8.jpg

‪Connellan adjusting to life as an AFL footballer http://www.saints.com.au/news/2016-11-18/connellan-adjusting-to-life-as-afl-footballer- via @stkildafc‬

It wasn’t until former Gaelic football convert Colm Begley opened Ray Connellan’s eyes that the Irishman contemplated the possibility of picking up a game he had barely heard of, let alone thought about. The pair was in the middle of a recovery session during last year’s International Series when they began discussing the Australian game. And it was that conversation that left St Kilda’s latest international rookie wide eyed.

Little did he know at the time, but that poolside chat with the former Brisbane Lions defender put Connellan on a path towards Australia. It started with an invite to the AFL Europe Combine late last year, where one of Ireland’s brightest young talents, who had the Gaelic football world at his feet, pondered whether his rare athletic gifts could be transferred to a foreign game in a foreign land.

“My pathway to St Kilda started after being involved with the Irish International Rules Series squad last November. My brother then got in contact with Tadhg Kennelly, who asked if I’d be interested in attending a combine run by AFL Europe in Dublin,” Connellan told saints.com.au.

“Up until the AFL Europe combine I had never seen footy in person. I had never watched a game and I knew nothing of the rules, positions, or even the number of players on each team. I really only knew of some of the Irish boys who had come over.

“I had played with Colm Begley with Ireland in November and speaking to him in a pool recovery session about how he got to Brisbane it started to make me really see it as a viable option so from then on it was all I set my sights on.”

Don't miss out on your chance to enjoy the Saints Premier Lounge for the final time this year!

From that combine last December, former Sydney Swans premiership star and Irish trailblazer, Tadgh Kennelly, selected Connellan to attend the AFL Academy’s camp in Tampa Bay, Florida, in January. In a camp where Australia’s premier underage talent congregated for a week under the intense gaze of recruiters from almost every AFL club, Connellan was somewhat of an experiment, but one who attracted attention.

It was here when Connellan first crossed paths with St Kilda List and Recruiting Manager Tony Elshaug, beginning a relationship which would eventually see the 22-year-old invited out to Seaford in June with Hurling star Darragh Joyce for a three-week trial at the Saints. From there, Connellan chose to sign with the Saints, tying a bow around a whirlwind ten months.

“I attended the combine and tested really well, and this led to Tadhg selecting me to go to America to train with the under-18 academy in Florida in January of this year. This is where I met Trout [Elshaug], and that’s where the connection with the Saints started. This led to the three week trial and now I’m signed up as a Saint,” Connellan said.

“St Kilda was a no brainer after I spent the three weeks here. The family atmosphere, the young exciting squad and the staff all going out of their way on every occasion to make me feel welcome it was impossible not to love the club.

“It just feels like an exciting time to come to the club, there’s that talent-youth-experience balance that is being nurtured so well that it just feels like it can only succeed and I can’t wait to be a part of it.”

Homesickness is an impediment that doesn’t discriminate. It’s a challenge that clubs and players have dealt with for a long time. And it’s a challenge that Connellan is well aware of, although he is well versed in living away from home after spending the last two years studying teaching in Galway.

“Moving away is obviously a massive challenge, but the family atmosphere at the club is great so that will make it easier. Also, having another Irish lad that I already know very well in Darragh at the club is huge too. I have a sister living in New Zealand and we have already arranged trips for her to come visit so all these little things will help heaps,” Connellan said.

“I’ve also been living out of home for three years in uni, so I’m used to being away from my parents. I’ll probably miss the banter with friends the most when there’s something on back home, but that’s a small price to pay for living your dream and the guys here at the Saints are all such good genuine boys that it will be easy to make those connections with the lads here.”

Like the vast majority of Irish imports, Connellan is set to begin his time behind the ball, playing across half-back where he can use his blistering pace to provide drive out of the defensive half. He is looking to emulate another running defender Shane Savage, a player who has found a home down there across the last 18 months.

“Like most Irish guys coming over I’ve been looking at the game through the eyes of a half-back. I watched Savage a lot during training and I like how he plays, getting on the ball and being influential going forward as well as being a complete pain as a defender,” Connellan said.

“I’ve never been a defender back home so it will take some getting used to. I’d like to be a guy using my pace to take the ball out of contest like Jack Steven does but I’d also be able to adapt to wherever I’m put so I’ll just get over, start training, and then see where I’m best suited.”

Football feels like a completely different game compared to this time last year for Ray Connellan.

The Irishman arrived at Linen House Centre last October having never played a game and with minimal knowledge of how the game is played.

But after a full year inside the Saints, and with 17 games at Sandringham now under his belt, the former Gaelic football star believes an AFL debut isn’t too far from his grasp.

“It kind of feels like two different sports,” Connellan told saints.com.au on Wednesday.

“Coming over last year and not really knowing what goes on; the setups and how the game works.

“Now this year you’ve got a good idea and a good understanding, it’s a lot more enjoyable and you feel like you can contribute to a lot more things.”

After spending the majority of his first year learning the caper at half-back, Connellan moved forward late in the year where his explosive speed off the mark and defensive efforts were well suited.

“Towards the end of the year when I moved into a small forward role, I started to be able to express myself a bit more,” he said.

“Hopefully with a decent pre-season behind me I’ll be able to nick a debut hopefully.”

Connellan said Saints Assistant Coach Ben McGlynn has played a pivotal role in his development to date, helping him on the track and in front of the computer, as well as everything else the Westmeath product needs.

“Benny has been great for me. He’s my point of call with everything at the club,” he said.

“Any of my review stuff or training stuff goes through Benny. He sits down and codes up all my things for videos, so he’s been a massive help.

“You couldn’t pick a better fella to learn off.”
5e8c7e1956458c69da23e001ab2d3d8e.jpg

AS THEY embark on their second season with St Kilda, Irishmen Darragh Joyce and Ray Connellan aren't lacking in a key attribute required to make it in the AFL – competiveness.

Whether it's trying to match it with opponents who have played the game all their lives or holding their own "against the Aussies" in locker room banter, it's clear the exciting prospects aren't here just to escape the Emerald Isle's often dreary weather.

A friendly rivalry between the great mates is another factor driving them to realise their dream of becoming League footballers.

"If Ray got a senior debut and I didn't, you'd be happy for him, but also pissed off," Joyce told AFL.com.au.

See the AFLX fixture and get your tickets here

"There's definitely that competitiveness between us."

Early last season the 21-year-old tall defender called on that resolve after he was dropped to the VFL reserves while Connellan kept his place in the Sandringham senior side.

The County Kilkenny product was frustrated by his inability to adapt to the game more quickly, but in reflection, the demotion was a turning point in his fledgling career.

"It did sting me getting dropped, but it was the best thing for me at the time because it allowed me to go back to a slightly slower pace and build my form," Joyce admitted.

"I was a defender back home (in Gaelic football), and it was more about attacking the ball than tackling and trying to put a body on your opponent.

"I'm probably that third tall who has the versatility to play on talls and smalls."

Connellan was also battling to keep his spot in the Zebras' senior side, but found inspiration in how his compatriot handled the disappointment.

"You could see he was flat when he went down, but his next game back in the seniors was his best and the confidence came with it," Connellan told AFL.com.au.

"He could see the grit that said, 'You're not going to drop me again'."

While athleticism and strength are Joyce's standout qualities, Connellan possesses explosive pace that the Saints' brains trust tried to exploit in defence before realising he was a natural forward.

Joyce agrees with the change in view, quipping that the Westmeath native has "never defended a day in his life".

A solid pre-season has seen the 24-year-old shed some puppy fat and running better than ever as he eyes a place in Alan Richardson's side with a new defensive mindset.

"You have opportunity to play with natural flair and go out try things as a forward, so that's where I'm going to have to stake my claim for a spot," Connellan said.

"One thing that stood against me last year was I didn't create enough pressure and lay enough tackles, so I've been really working on it this pre-season."

Lindsay Gilbee knows very well the insecurity that can swamp a youngster trying to make his way at the highest level, as he also struggled in the VFL before becoming an All Australian at the Western Bulldogs.

Ray Connellan celebrates a goal for Sandringham. Picture: AFL Photos

As coach of Sandringham last season, Gilbee was central to Joyce's axing, but also a great mentor to a pair he believes have the qualities to be long-term League footballers.

A renowned brilliant kick, Gilbee raves about the Irish pair's foot skills for relative novices, and compares Joyce to former teammate and 200-gamer Ryan Hargrave, while he'd back Connellan to win a match race against ex-Melbourne speedster Aaron Davey.

"The good thing about the Irish guys is that they're really driven, and that makes coaching them enjoyable," Gilbee told AFL.com.au.

"Ray was getting spoken about (in match committee) to play senior footy last year because we lacked some pace in our forward half.

"Getting dropped hurt Darragh, but I told him I played VFL reserves, our captain Jarryn Geary did and so did David Armitage, so he needed to look at the bigger picture.

"I believe he came back a much better player.

"Things might need to go their way, but I'm confident they both could play senior footy and hold their own."

Homesickness has seen many Irishmen give up the chance of becoming a professional footballer, and Connellan and Joyce have both battled the call of home.

But they credit the support of the Saints, the Australian lifestyle and the "craic" (fun) they share with the 12 other Irishmen in the competition for aiding their adventure down under.

Social media has also helped their cause by making it easier for them to keep abreast of how family and friends are in Ireland – and slowly invade the AFL.

"All the Irish players out here are in a WhatsApp group called "the takeover" in honour of (Irish MMA fighter) Conor McGregor, and (Geelong's) Zach Tuohy is definitely the father figure," Joyce joked.

"I think there's five or six of us in Melbourne, so it's great to hear an accent and catch up with the lads – it makes it easier with homesickness."

Now just a month out from competitive football, Connellan feels the past 12 months have conditioned him and Joyce to make the most of the opportunity they feel lucky to have.

"The whole concept of being a professional footballer has well and truly sunk in now, because it's pretty cool to wake up in the morning and be kicking the footy for a living," Connellan said.

Can’t wait for 2018 season.

Been seemingly pretty down on form this year but had a good one this week kicking 3 goals and being named 4th best for Sandy.

Not a huge game aside from the goals though with 16 disposals, 3 marks, 2 tackles.
Sandy got 136 points as well so the goals were flowing pretty easily.

Doubt it will be enough to push for selection, especially seeing as it's his first good match this year.

Nice soccer goal as well in this tweet.

Ray Connellan (3.0) 10 kicks, six handballs, three marks, two tackles

Goals are clearly never his focus, but his ability to reset and get in front of the ball was quite pleasing. He’s invested in what he’s doing in his career, and he’s been clearly one of our better performers from a defensive point of view. We like what we see but we’ve just got to keep trying to get that consistency with him.

Go Saints

The battle of the Irish boys takes a twist this week with Joyce getting the first AFL match.
Hopefully he has a good match and makes Ray want to get one for himself even more.

Still looking unlikely though. Usually manages a goal or two each match in the VFL but doesn't seem to be doing enough be in the running yet.

Big match from Ray last week against Richmond getting the Sandy best on ground!

He must be comfortable with his kicking as he had 16 disposals with only 3 of them being handballs.
In addition he also had 5 marks, 6 tackles, 4 Inside 50s, 2 goals and 2 behinds.

6 tackles shows he is getting some defensive pressure going.
Surely sooner or later he will get a shot at the revolving door that is our small forward position.

Ray Connellan is yet to taste senior football after his compatriot Darragh Joyce got his chance earlier in the year.

A two-goal performance for the Zebras on Sunday was the latest in a run of solid games for the Irishman, and the ex-Gaelic football star’s name will certainly be discussed for a potential debut.

Go Saints

Hamill says -
Ray Connellan (3.0) 6 kicks, 5 handballs, 5 marks, 3 tackles

Ray’s back half of the year has been really good, particularly the last five weeks. Considering our entries and the opportunities that he’s been getting, he’s making the most of them. He knows as a small forward he’s got to apply enormous pressure and crack in at the right time and apply defence on the way out. He’s working exceptionally hard with Benny McGlynn, who was a real clever small forward in his own right. He’s absorbing a lot and he’s banging the door down – he probably needs to do it for a little bit longer, but he’s starting to get some consistent footy into him.

Go Saints

Can't say I'm happy about it but Ray Connellan has been delisted by St Kilda.

He obviously hasn't set the world on fire but he has been Sandringhams third largest goal scorer for the year, and the highest for St Kilda listed players.
He got 19 goals for the year, next best St Kilda player was Josh Battle with 11.

I assumed he would at least get another year as a rookie. If you are recruiting players from Ireland they will obviously need time and two years isn't enough, especially when he has proven he can score a goal. Apparently the reason he is being delisted is his defensive efforts which to me is a terrible reason to be delisting him this year.

I've never seen him play and it may be warranted, just seems like a stupid idea to bring him over from Ireland only to get rid of him after two years while he is still improving. He is 24 so they may think it will just take too long to get him up to standard so they may as well ditch him now.

He wants to keep playing so hopefully he gets picked up by another club and proves us wrong.
Would have been nice for you to at least get a debut but it's not to be. Good luck in the future Ray.

Article from afl.com.au
UNTRIED Irishman Ray Connellan has been delisted by St Kilda.

AFL.com.au understands the speedy forward was told in the past week he would not be kept on for 2019.

Connellan is a left-footer with blistering pace, natural flair and impressive goal sense.

He is keen to continue his career at another club after just two years in the AFL.

The 24-year-old arrived at the Saints in 2016, previously having played Gaelic football at the highest level in Ireland.

Connellan lined up in 33 VFL matches across his two seasons.

After a form slump early in the year, he finished with 19 goals this campaign.

In 2018, he slotted three goals three times in a Sandringham side that finished with only five wins, and ended the season as the Zebras' second-leading goalkicker.

His flair and talent with the football have been obvious, despite his limited experience playing Aussie Rules. However, St Kilda felt Connellan didn't do enough defensively.

He never broke through for his debut, despite coming into the selection conversation late in 2017, but featured in the AFLX side in February.

Defender Darragh Joyce, another Irishman who was recruited to the Saints at the same time as Connellan, is expected to sign a new deal to stay on as a rookie.

A right shoulder injury ruled the backman out of Sandringham's clash against Collingwood on Saturday.

Leaving Joyce aside, 10 Saints remain out of contract: Nathan Freeman, Billy Longer, Mav Weller, Hugh Goddard, Sam Gilbert, Lewis Pierce, Nathan Wright, Darren Minchington, Jack Lonie and rookie Doulton Langlands.

St Kilda will hold exit meetings with its players on Tuesday and Wednesday.

HAVING "shocked" teammates with news of his delisting, former St Kilda Category B rookie Ray Connellan is convinced he can make it at the elite level.

The Irishman was cut by the Saints without having made his debut after being recruited in 2016, playing the bulk of his VFL career as a small forward with impressive instinct around goal.

At 24, the blisteringly quick left-footer is not ready to resume his Gaelic football career.

WHO'S LEAVING YOUR CLUB? All the retirements and delistings

"I'm a pretty realistic person. I think if I was crap at this sport and I knew I wasn't good enough to play AFL football, I'd happily admit that. There's absolutely no shame saying you're not good at a sport you've never played before," Connellan told AFL.com.au.

"I've asked coaches (and) I've asked players to be honest with me and tell me if I'm no good … and I'll be good at Gaelic football and I'll live a comfortable life at home.

"But everyone that I spoke to, even the reaction of fellow players, they were shocked that I didn't get another year at it.

"That cemented it in my mind that, look, you're good enough to be here. Do everything you can to get to another club and if it happens, you've now got this unbelievable burn inside you to make it work, that you never even had before."

Speed is his best asset – he covers 20m in 2.78 seconds. To put that into context, the NAB AFL Draft Combine record is 2.75 seconds, set by former Gold Coast defender Joel Wilkinson.

With more time in the system, Connellan feels further improvement would have come swiftly.

"Without question. That's probably the most disheartening thing about it," Connellan said.

"I've had a contract for two years, but when you look at the actual amount of time I've been playing the sport, you take over two-and-a-half months out of that because I was back in Ireland for the off-season and for Christmas, and stuff like that. You're only playing the sport about 18-20 months."

Connellan was in the selection mix towards the end of 2017 but was never really considered for a promotion this year, despite the Saints having won seven fewer games.

"That was another thing that frustrated me a little bit," Connellan said.

He has gone back to Ireland for the time being, having sent vision around to other clubs after receiving assistance from Saints staff members Chris McKay and Justin Dickinson.

Regardless of what happens, Connellan is thankful he received an opportunity.

Obviously I'm delighted St Kilda even gave the chance to come over here in the first place. They've been absolutely amazing. They've helped me grow so much as an athlete and as a person," Connellan said.

"Even in my transition now, they couldn't have supported me any more. Tony Brown, the player development manager there, I've never seen anyone work so hard or care so much for a person."

If it doesn't happen though, Connellan will still be happy.

"At the end of the day, no one's died, so it's not the worst thing in the world. I reckon I'll be happy no matter what happens but I'd prefer to fulfil all my potential over here first."

Go Saints

Hey fellas, Ray has joined Essendon VFL for the upcoming season. Essentially a Hind for Connellan swap between the two of us, hop we both get a good result :p

Most of us were surprised by his delisting. Has some very good traits and his pace is lightning. Kicked a few very good goals as well. Great highlight reel but I suppose he didn't get enough of it.

Hopefully he provides some highlights for your VFL team.

Most of us were surprised by his delisting. Has some very good traits and his pace is lightning. Kicked a few very good goals as well. Great highlight reel but I suppose he didn't get enough of it.

Hopefully he provides some highlights for your VFL team.
Think he'll be playing a sort of half forward role. I saw him a few times, still very raw but definitely has something about him.