havoc_planet

Calder(tac cup)Melb Storm
I know its not cool to Dwell on the past, but i was watching BomberBlitz today (for those who dont know, is a DVD featuring highlights of Essendons (almost undefeated) 2000 season.) and come round 21, Western Bulldogs i almost cried. Does anyone else cringe when they think about what could of been, if we didnt drop that match. :(

It was the loss we had to have as far as I'm concerned. Better to lose one at that point of time then endure the agony of a loss in the preliminary or grand final.

I wish I could have cried in 1999, but as I left the game I was in shock.
Actually I was like that for months.

The only thing that got me over the shock was about January I stumbled across the 1999 Carlton yearbook. Flipping through the pages I found a centre page spread of their "greatest ever win", Lets say I took that mag to the shitter, made a deposit and then placed it back where I found it.

Still not over the loss, but gee I felt better that arvo

Disto

well Donsman you have got to have a good hard look at yourself.... no one like a sook

I have a mate who is a one-eyed Western Bulldogs supporter and every chance he gets he brings up that loss.

But as people have said, better to lose then than one day in September.

well Donsman you have got to have a good hard look at yourself.... no one like a sook
Geez give me a break. I was only 11 in 1999 and 12 in 2000. Those losses were shattering to me.

With a couple of easy misses in the last quarter we should have been 4-5 goals up and would have belted it in.

Very annoyed at the time with the "anti football" that was played, and then Malthouse tried it again the next week against Collingwood.

I wasn't too concerned once we got the next win.

I remember the loss against the Bulldogs. I couldn't belive what was happening. We just couldn't break the flood.

As for my reaction to the 1999 Prelim upon leaving the ground, I recall saying "God's against me". Devastating.

I was at ths game as well, people crying all around me... I was in disbelief at what had happened. We were so indestructable that year, it felt like we had lost everything just by losing that one game. Still a freakish year at the least, and one I will never forget, and afterall the premiership was ours so :D:thumbsu: