djharps

May 2, 2006
liverpool,barcelona,suns
lets just remember its only round 4.. yes im excited about what we have shown so far.. but lets remember we have still lost a game that at one stage was penciled in for a win.. that x factor that lingered around last year can still bear its ugly head at the worst on times.. lets remember we essentially one the spoon last year and for people to start thinking top four finishes and a long september campaign..

sheeds has done a great job, for the fact its actually exciting to watch our team play first time since 2000.. not because we have some wins on the board but the players are having fun and there is alot of energy on the board

im just sick of hearing top 4s, the next hird ra ra ra

if we make the 8 ill be happy.. because we have shown we can beat finalist teams .. but quote me on this one later we will loose games to teams that are inferior to us.. that is due to the lack of winning culture down at windy hill.. but hopefully that can be turned around at seasons end

hey but least we are not as bad as the hawthorn supporters... bandwagon much?

lets just remember its only round 4.. yes im excited about what we have shown so far.. but lets remember we have still lost a game that at one stage was penciled in for a win.. that x factor that lingered around last year can still bear its ugly head at the worst on times.. lets remember we essentially one the spoon last year and for people to start thinking top four finishes and a long september campaign..

sheeds has done a great job, for the fact its actually exciting to watch our team play first time since 2000.. not because we have some wins on the board but the players are having fun and there is alot of energy on the board

im just sick of hearing top 4s, the next hird ra ra ra

if we make the 8 ill be happy.. because we have shown we can beat finalist teams .. but quote me on this one later we will loose games to teams that are inferior to us.. that is due to the lack of winning culture down at windy hill.. but hopefully that can be turned around at seasons end

hey but least we are not as bad as the hawthorn supporters... bandwagon much?

Some much needed sense, and from a DJ to boot...:eek: :thumbsu:

The boys are smiling when they are playing...winning does that to you, but you can see the comraderie in the playing group...

Let's not be like some the WCE fans on these boards and the tosh they are putting out "best list ever", "WCE...1st...then dust"...etc...etc...

One week at time...Wednesday the Pies...lets neutralise their run, tackle them into submission and get our players ahead of the ball to set up scores...

With Hird Lloyd Fletch Lucas Mal there is plenty of winning potential.

Concern as alwalys will be who can go with Stanton as an A midfielder?

Jobe gets touches and wastes them. Heff Pev B level.

Hopefully continued improvement from Winders Dyson and return of JJ will see us through the season, and then make a genuine play for Judd, Dal Santo etc.

It's too tough to win a flag without a strong midfield.

Hopefully continued improvement from Winders Dyson and return of JJ will see us through the season, and then make a genuine play for Judd, Dal Santo etc.

if judd does leave WCE (highly unlikely) his price tag and what WCE would need would be detrimental to anyones list.... unless you are absolute crap and starting from the bottom ala melbourne, richmond, collingwood and kangaroos when it comes to midfielders

that is due to the lack of winning culture down at windy hill.. but hopefully that can be turned around at seasons end

That is just plain wrong. We've always had a winning culture at Essendon.

We'll lose some but we might win a lot more. Hey.. we might even be better then we think.

Lets think positively and hope we can prove the doubters wrong.

That is just plain wrong. We've always had a winning culture at Essendon.

We'll lose some but we might win a lot more. Hey.. we might even be better then we think.

Lets think positively and hope we can prove the doubters wrong.

im simply stating of late essendon have at times forgotten how to win.. look at last year *cue* that stat.. we lost a stupid amount of games by a few kicks.. we just didnt no how to finish out a game and have the confidence to win... and anyone that has been watching essendon for the last 6 years knows that we have a great ability to get our selves in the lead and fade out in the dying moments..

if judd does leave WCE (highly unlikely) his price tag and what WCE would need would be detrimental to anyones list.... unless you are absolute crap and starting from the bottom ala melbourne, richmond, collingwood and kangaroos when it comes to midfielders

i agree. i don't think it would be good for the club to have one player earning 16% of the salary cap. especially with the amount of young kids who have so much potential. if these kids turn into really good players we won't be able to afford all of them as their value increases.

i reckon we would be better to go after someone like dal santo or pendlebury.
they both ooze the class that are midfield desperately needs.

dal is a gun and he would probably ask for around $600,000.

whilst pendles is out of contract and he will turn into dal santo. if we got pendlebury it would make up for missing out on rischatelli last year

N L-Murray plus Laycock and 1st pick for Judd. Two players with improvement ahead of them. Bombers could offer 3mill over 3

we can't afford to lose laycock. we only have 3 ruckman as it is, not including mcKinnon. plus who can say that paddy won't stay in defence?

Are you saying that Paddy won't not stay in defence.

Are you also saying that Laycock can lead the bombers to a premiership.

Laycock, serviceably expendable.

Judd, required if attainable regardless of price or counter trade

Are you saying that Paddy won't not stay in defence.

Are you also saying that Laycock can lead the bombers to a premiership.

Laycock, serviceably expendable.

Judd, required if attainable regardless of price or counter trade
you, thankfully, will never be EFC list manager.......... enough said !!

Elite players bring out the best in others around them.

And Laycock is not that.

And Judd is.

And Essendon won't win a flag without a gun midfielder.

Any football watcher could tell you that.

And we have Hille, Ryder.

I suppose we could Laycock, play all three in the centre square and play volleyball.

Elite players bring out the best in others around them.

And Laycock is not that.

And Judd is.

And Essendon won't win a flag without a gun midfielder.

Any football watcher could tell you that.

And we have Hille, Ryder.

I suppose we could Laycock, play all three in the centre square and play volleyball.
i was implying that WCE would laugh at NLM and Laycock plus 1st Round pick..........

They have more than enough in the ruck department - some bloke called Cox and another by the name of Seaby

NLM are a dime a dozen also

you are going to have to give away a lot more than that Jedmack

Why on earth, or any other planet for that matter, would you want to get rid of NLM. Sure his 2 games this year have been sub-par, but he had a great season last season. I really think he can become our best rebounding defender, which is saying something when we have McPhee in the form he is in ATM. He will be able to match it with the best of them in years to come. It would be like the Doggies saying 3 years ago, "Hmmmm, lets trade Gilbee". I konw Judd is a gun, but we don't need him for the price he will be asking. Out of our budget limits. He will stay at WCE, but if not, let the Kangas have him. I miss good Kangas games.

Let's get a few things straight here pev aint b grade vital part of why we are winning.

We are 2 years off seeing how good laycock really will be and he will be good.

Dal santo oozes class but Mick Mcguine duno how to spell his last name said last year that he is a front runner and even though he looks good he refuses to get a hard ball get. That's coming from someone on their coaching panel last year pretty sure he quit. Do we need a bloke like that?

We beat a depleeted Adelaide, who have won their last three games and played sensationly. How can you judge that game? They had a bad day and didn't kick straight enough.

Freo was a good win, we showed character after lossing our lead, again freo shouldn't of missed easy goals.

Carlton the second half was a joke. But who knows could burn in our guts and drive us. eg the bulldogs game in 2000.

St Kilda had no backline.

Not saying we aren't good but reserve judgement till round 9 or 10 i think the Sydney game we can judge around then.

Dal Softo? I am genuinely laughing that somebody thinks he is a worthwhile footballer
Twice I've seen him play, twice I've seen him get absolutely touched up

I'm sure Sydney would laugh too, if he came crawling to them

i was implying that WCE would laugh at NLM and Laycock plus 1st Round pick..........

They have more than enough in the ruck department - some bloke called Cox and another by the name of Seaby

NLM are a dime a dozen also

you are going to have to give away a lot more than that Jedmack
If Judd decides to leave, WC will be accepting the best value they can, and NLM would fit that category and ESS are doing well without him. Perhaps Johns instead of Laycock.

Secondary point, the 1-2 yr players will improve faster with a senior midfield leader, and in terms of the money.

"When assessing the value of a business do not look at the balance sheet."

If Judd decides to leave, WC will be accepting the best value they can, and NLM would fit that category and ESS are doing well without him. Perhaps Johns instead of Laycock.

Secondary point, the 1-2 yr players will improve faster with a senior midfield leader, and in terms of the money.

"When assessing the value of a business do not look at the balance sheet."
still not good enough with Johns either - try again ...............

this is what WCE will be saying

JedMack - seriously mate, if Judd leaves, the club that trades for him is going to have to give up something VERY special in return

You have thrown up EFC's second stringers and 1st Round pick - You gotta bend over more and cop it - its gonna hurt......... the very fabric of the club sort of stuff I can assure you.

TRY AGAIN...... or move on if you are not willing to give up something you really dont want to lose

SAY NO TO RECRUITING JUDD IF HE BECOMES AVAILABLE 2008 Campaign......

still not good enough with Johns either - try again ...............

this is what WCE will be saying

JedMack - seriously mate, if Judd leaves, the club that trades for him is going to have to give up something VERY special in return

You have thrown up EFC's second stringers and 1st Round pick - You gotta bend over more and cop it - its gonna hurt......... the very fabric of the club sort of stuff I can assure you.

TRY AGAIN...... or move on if you are not willing to give up something you really dont want to lose

SAY NO TO RECRUITING JUDD IF HE BECOMES AVAILABLE 2008 Campaign......
If Judd decides to leave WC will take whatever they can get or risk getting nothing if he goes to the draft aka Nick Stevens saga. The eagles would prefer two players that have demonstrated both senior footy experience and ability to continue their improvement. If Cousins returns then I reckon Judd will leave, and I would rather see him at Essendon than playing on the Gold Coast.

Hey if the Eagles want they can have Jobe, Kepler, and NLM and Laycock.

None of the will ever win a brownlow, and to be competitive you must have individuals dominating matches.

Do we have a Gibbs, Murphy 1-2 on our list.

Wake up - mate -.

In addition, P Ryder is off limits.

If Judd decides to leave WC will take whatever they can get or risk getting nothing if he goes to the draft aka Nick Stevens saga. The eagles would prefer two players that have demonstrated both senior footy experience and ability to continue their improvement. If Cousins returns then I reckon Judd will leave, and I would rather see him at Essendon than playing on the Gold Coast.

None of the will ever win a brownlow, and to be competitive you must have individuals dominating matches.

Wake up - mate -.

i was going to be nice......... then i read "wake up - mate"

You, JedMack, are living a fantasy
WCE will want a our first round pick of 2005 or 2006, another promising midfielder and 1st round pick 2007

So are you willing to part with Gumby, Stanton or Monfries and give away say pick 10 and then pay Judd a huge sum of money !!!!!

You are deluded to offer up players like the four you offered - well you can offer them but I can confidently say WCE would not accept the offer. 14 other clubs would offer MUCH MUCH more......

TRY AGAIN

Wake up - mate -.

At least you got something right

i was going to be nice......... then i read "wake up - mate"

You, JedMack, are living a fantasy
WCE will want a our first round pick of 2005 or 2006, another promising midfielder and 1st round pick 2007

So are you willing to part with Gumby, Stanton or Monfries and give away say pick 10 and then pay Judd a huge sum of money !!!!!

You are deluded to offer up players like the four you offered - well you can offer them but I can confidently say WCE would not accept the offer. 14 other clubs would offer MUCH MUCH more......

TRY AGAIN
Why not have a rethink of your criticisms and try and understand what I am educating you in.

Judd proven match winner, arguably best player in competition, worth a mill a season.

Essendon have no elite midfielders.

Stanton Monfries Ryder Davey Welsh Winderlich never mentioned as possible trades.

Hird retiring frees up cash. Campo should go along with Cole, Bolton.

WC lose Judd for zip if he walks into the draft, hence two emerging players with improvement in them plus a top pick would be better than them getting zilch.

NLM and Laycock are expendable to acquire Judd and people suggesting that he isn't worth the money should watch an Eagles game and see the work that he does.

Do you honestly think that Jobe Watson will win close games off his own boot?

Or when unpressured 40m out at Dreamtime at the G against the tigers, game in red time Q4, less than a kick in it, and he misses everything. I had a bit of kick when I was in school and if I saw the posts the ball was kicked in that direction. Not, as in Jobe's case at some tangential plane. The player has under pressure flaws in his game, so any club that wants him can have him for a pie and a borrowed half time smoke.

Tim Watson was an Essendon champion. Jobe Watson is not as good.

He might have inherited his Dad's club, but he certainly has his Mum's boots.

And often Pev borrows them on game day.

- Mate -

if we get rid of laycock who is going to ruck if hille gets injured. why move paddy permantly out of defence when he is playing so well???

relax