Ant V

Rookie
Just some thoughts on the rep team A-B grade and the C-D grade teams..
Firstly does anyone know who we're playing this year?
Who's coaching?
Pickering? G. Voyage?

Cheers guys..

All I know is that the Victorian Under 23 team will be playing South Australia as part of the Australian Amateur Football Championships, while the A-B team I think will be playing the NSWAFL side.

I know it's only 1 round, but pick who you'd think will play for Victoria in the state games this year. I can pick several who might get a Victorian call-up:

Matthew Robbins (Ormond)
Fergus Watts (Collegians)
Marcus Dollman (St Kevins)
Jeremy Dukes (AJAX)
A.Van Den Dungen (Old Brighton)
Andy Cultrera (Old Trinity)
Nick Ries (Collegians)
Mark Bolton (Uni Blacks)
Damien Adkin (Old Xaverians)

jas... dont know where you get your mail from, but the great man vanders from OB hasn't played 1's there for over 2 years from memory.. as silky a mover as he is, i dont think he'll get a call up from playing in the 2's..

I know it's only 1 round, but pick who you'd think will play for Victoria in the state games this year. I can pick several who might get a Victorian call-up:

Matthew Robbins (Ormond)
Jeremy Dukes (AJAX)
Nick Ries (Collegians)
Mark Bolton (Uni Blacks)

Jason I reckon you're just taking the piss sometimes. Van Den Dungen is a reserves player at Brighton!

Marcus Dollman in a return to the late 90's????

Jason - next thing we know, you'll have Travis Ruyg drafted by the Gold Coast, and Matty Lawrence (Hampton Rovers) getting rookie listed by Melbourne.

VAFA Rep footy is a young man's game (at least that's what they told Rambo a couple of years back ;)).

Matthew Robbins (Ormond)
Jeremy Dukes (AJAX)
Nick Ries (Collegians)
Mark Bolton (Uni Blacks)

pretty sure adkins plays for collegians.
also nick stone would be pretty stiff from collegians

It would be interesting to see who the Victorian selectors can come up with for the State of Origin games this season. If you guys had a choice, who will be given a Big V game this year?

Just some thoughts on the rep team A-B grade and the C-D grade teams..
Firstly does anyone know who we're playing this year?
Who's coaching?
Pickering? G. Voyage?

Cheers guys..

Total waste of money - Just another example of the VAFA lower section clubs D2-D4 paying for higher grades "fun!" [Just a junket job]!
Who cares! Do you think scouts are going to be interested in ex AFL/VFL players.

Total waste of money - Just another example of the VAFA lower section clubs D2-D4 paying for higher grades "fun!" [Just a junket job]!
Who cares! Do you think scouts are going to be interested in ex AFL/VFL players.

Another uninformed, useless comment from our good mate btown, plenty of good players in the lower divisions will get a guernsey, just ask Edwards from powerhouse. Obviously your from a club that's a bit skinny in the talent department.

VAFA (A-B) Vs AFL (Sydney) June?
VAFA (C-D4) Vs VCFL (districts) June 7
VAFA U23 Vs SAAFL July 19
VAFA U19 Vs VCFL U19 July 20

Another uninformed, useless comment from our good mate btown, plenty of good players in the lower divisions will get a guernsey, just ask Edwards from powerhouse. Obviously your from a club that's a bit skinny in the talent department.

Probably one of the most important state games in recent years. The South Aussies has the wood on the Vics in recent encounters, and remember what happened 2 years ago, when SA defeated Victoria in Melbourne, consigning the VAFA to a record it doesn't want to happen again-never won a state game in Melbourne in a calendar year. (the VAFA lost to Western Australia earlier that year, also in Melbourne). If Victoria doesn't get up in this match, then the hub of amateur football in Australia could switch to Adelaide-not Melbourne.

Dear Mr Harper,

Didn't realise you were so well informed. Obviously you are aware that Rep footy costs up to $50k a year [VAFA Annual Reports] which equates to approx $700 a year for each of the 72 clubs. The A/B team is selected from 20 clubs while the C/D4 team is selected from 52 clubs. Does your Maths abilty lead you to a conclusion? Any well informed ideas on how many D3/D4 players have got into that team in recent years?? Most D3/D4 teams don't have u/19's so they foot the bill here as well! Most lower grade clubs haven't had a rep for 10+ years!

It should be a user pay system!

Thanks for having a go at clubs in lower grades D3/D4 who are a "bit skinny on talent." That REALLY adds weight to your argument?? Actually what is your point? I could have a go and thank that high ranking SMD club [D1 now ... wow ..don't forget where you come from? Do opposition teams still outnumber you in your rooms after home games?] for contributing such mental, ball playing giants such as Bell, Bryson, D'Andrea, Doyle etc but I wouldn't go that low!

Bye Harps CIS :confused:

Dear Mr Harper,

Didn't realise you were so well informed. Obviously you are aware that Rep footy costs up to $50k a year [VAFA Annual Reports] which equates to approx $700 a year for each of the 72 clubs. The A/B team is selected from 20 clubs while the C/D4 team is selected from 52 clubs. Does your Maths abilty lead you to a conclusion? Any well informed ideas on how many D3/D4 players have got into that team in recent years?? Most D3/D4 teams don't have u/19's so they foot the bill here as well! Most lower grade clubs haven't had a rep for 10+ years!

Thanks for having a go at clubs in lower grades D3/D4 who are a "bit skinny on talent." That REALLY adds weight to your argument?? Actually what is your point? I could have a go and thank that high ranking SMD club [D1 now ... wow ..don't forget where you come from? Do opposition teams still outnumber you in your rooms after home games?] for contributing such mental, ball playing giants such as Bell, Bryson, D'Andrea, Doyle etc but I wouldn't go that low!

Thanks for cost analysis btown, didn't realise it was that much, but you forgot to include the inflows of revenue produced from sponsorship attributable to rep footy. Add to which i assume it's probably a mandate from the AFL as part of their funding agreement.
But a user pay system???
That's like the VAFA saying thanks for the players your clubs produced to help promote the VAFA but here's the bill, so your club can get out of paying $700? Try a meat raffle after the games or maybe you can add $15 to player subs to recoup that cost.

Dear Mr Harper,

Thanks for having a go at clubs in lower grades D3/D4 who are a "bit skinny on talent." That REALLY adds weight to your argument?? Actually what is your point? I could have a go and thank that high ranking SMD club [D1 now ... wow ..don't forget where you come from? Do opposition teams still outnumber you in your rooms after home games?] for contributing such mental, ball playing giants such as Bell, Bryson, D'Andrea, Doyle etc but I wouldn't go that low!​

Also forget to mention that clubs in the higher grades pay higher affliation fees therfore contrinuting far more financially. Also,as you say they have under 19 teams and the lower grades generally don't, so again there is more affliation fees the top grade clubs are paying.

So it isn't as simple as dividng the 50k by the number of clubs as some clubs ( the higher grades) contribute far more than others.

Also forget to mention that clubs in the higher grades pay higher affliation fees therfore contrinuting far more financially. Also,as you say they have under 19 teams and the lower grades generally don't, so again there is more affliation fees the top grade clubs are paying.

So it isn't as simple as dividng the 50k by the number of clubs as some clubs ( the higher grades) contribute far more than others.

Hi Saus ... what do you mean "you forgot to mention?" ... it was your first post or was it Lance?? Time out & log on wrongly??

Poor Saus .. why do you think A/B/C pay higher fees? It is because they have to pay the extra for field/boundary & goal umps that the lower grades don't get!!! Also the higher the grade the higher the payment to field/boundary & goal umps.
A cost analysis reveals that once the total ump fees are taken out for each grade and subtracted from annual fees there is more money left for the VAFA FROM d1/d2/d3/d4. That has already been presented to the VAFA & the noble treasurer refuses to do anything about it! In future replace your Fiction with Facts. Look beyond the literal!

The lower grades provide more money & get far less service! Whoops! CIS.