Rhys Palmer

• Thread starter Thread starter AFL MAN

nah masai no sarcasm in it.

I think hes awesome just do not want to see the kid run into the ground by playing too many games too early.
Stuffing his body for the next 2-3 years or maybe even career.

You are reading from the same book as me.

First year players usually struggle later in the year due to the rigors of the game. If he shows sign of struggling, maybe a weeks rest with no footy may be the remedy.

I suppose the bench can also be used to adjust his game time.

I have said for many years that the draft age is too low, my argument ties in with this comment about stuffed bodies.

Play Palmer this week at home and rest him in round 5.
Possibly rest Mayne this week and take him to Melbourne.:thumbsu:

Will be interesting to see is Palmer cops a tag this week.

After his performances in the U18's and pre-draft reports I was expecting a fast skillful "running forward" type of player able to capitalise on others inside work.

From what I have seen also he looks very good inclose with safe hands and a strong enough body. To be thrown into the centre square against the Hawks and the Eagles says something about his inside ability and toughness.

It also unfortunately says something about the clearance issues amongst our other players (we all knew that anyway).

Play Palmer this week at home and rest him in round 5.
Possibly rest Mayne this week and take him to Melbourne.:thumbsu:

Will be interesting to see is Palmer cops a tag this week.

It's actually not such a bad idea.
Let's be honest, we're probably going to get a touch up against the Cats.
Maybe bring Obrien in then for some grunt.
Ottens is still out so keep Warnock in to try and stretch Blake.

After his performances in the U18's and pre-draft reports I was expecting a fast skillful "running forward" type of player able to capitalise on others inside work.

From what I have seen also he looks very good inclose with safe hands and a strong enough body. To be thrown into the centre square against the Hawks and the Eagles says something about his inside ability and toughness.

It also unfortunately says something about the clearance issues amongst our other players (we all knew that anyway).

Yeah man, good post. Pre-draft everyone was describing him as some sort of receiver who only looked good due to Masten feeding him. Palmer spends as much time under the packs as anyone and is pretty good at clearing it too.

Early days, but I think we got a bargain. To think he tore it up at the U18s comp, then again for EF in the late season WAFL, and he still slipped to us at 7.

Yeah man, good post. Pre-draft everyone was describing him as some sort of receiver who only looked good due to Masten feeding him. Palmer spends as much time under the packs as anyone and is pretty good at clearing it too.

Yes the pre draft notes make him out to be a receiver, I have seen little evidence of this facet of his game. He sure knows how to get the ball and evade oncoming traffic, but he aint no seagull.

Maybe next year when Hase returns, he will be able to receive more often.

I was screaming at the TV on staurday when Brett Peake wouldn't pass over the top to him on the HFF even though he running past into space inside 50! instead he passed sideways to MCARR on the boundry line. then Palmer was still in space calling for it inside 50 and MCARR Kicked to a contest in the pocket which the Weagles Cleared.

Maybe as the respect amongst the group grows we will see people use him as an option going inside 50 more (maybe we just need to give some WAFL time to the bad decision makers). Either way it was great incouragement because he ran on and made option ( which should of added a goal to his name). In the future he will be used alot more by our other players when he creates an option, which can only be a good thing.

Palmer............ Just what the Fremantle Doctor Prescribed.

HaHa Sucked in WC you picked Masten over Palmer..... We got a steal.

I saw that bit of play - imho Palmer was a bit hungry there, he wasn't really in that much space. But good to see the guy demanding the ball :)

Yeah it wasn't heaps of space, but there never is that much space inside 50. Peaky indesicion and sideways movement cost time and space inside 50. but i guess it wouldn't have been as bad if someone like dessie or blackie with a good kick got it. by the time MCarr had made up his mind i reckon palmer was having the sort of day where you don't miss.

But regardless that stuff happens. I guess my main point is that he runs on really well at every oportunity and more often than not find space and makes an option. Definaintly not our usual one pacer

Rhys Palmer provided he keeps his head screwed on, could end up being a captain of our club and one of the elite midfielders in the game.

my mate a mad essendon supporter is still crying over the fact they didnt pick him when they had the chance

and i reckon the eagles will end up kicking themselves too

One thing about AFL is you either have it, or you don't. People can talk shit about how people need "development" but in reality most of the elite players were ____ing good when they started and got better, regardless of how many "preseasons" they had - especially midfielders.

It will take one year for big footy to claim he is "soft" and never get's a hard footy. "Over-rated" just you wait.

BTW he is a GUN! or will be...

Shoe-in for the Rising Star.

Apparently we have an over the hill list, yet the team on the weekend had an average age of only 4 months older than WCE.

Palmer, Mayne, Foster, Ibbotson, O'Brien, Schammer, Sandilands, Peake, Crowley, Dodd, Mundy, MiJonhson, Drum, Duffield, Warnock, Gilmore, Smith, Murphy, Campbell, and even Thornton are all at the younger end of the scale. Add in Pav, Headland, Hasleby, Hayden, McPharlin, Grover who will be around for at least another 5 years and we're doing pretty damn well.

Apparently we have an over the hill list, yet the team on the weekend had an average age of only 4 months older than WCE.

Interesting.

I guess that means once our window slams shut at the end of this year (as they keep telling us) that gives the eagles until next January to win a premiership.

Good luck with that eagles.

Interesting.

I guess that means once our window slams shut at the end of this year (as they keep telling us) that gives the eagles until next January to win a premiership.

Good luck with that eagles.

Dean Cox' broken foot says they can do it Esti :thumbsu:
Note: am not celebrating the injury of a star player

Dean Cox' broken foot says they can do it Esti :thumbsu:
Note: am not celebrating the injury of a star player
Unfortunately it is officially not a broken foot for cox, only ligament damage. Will miss the Sydney match....

Oh and Kerr got off all 3 charges... I wonder if a docker would have been let off under the same charges????:confused: