Rick Olarenshaw

Seems unbelievable a player manager would come out and say what he has said based on rumours. Is he that stupid, or is there some facts out there we don't know about?? If anyone has aything to share on this it would be appreciated.

I think you summed it up mate. I've heard things, many have... But that's it HEARD things, don't actually know things.
I reckon Mr. Olarenshaw would want be keeping a pretty low profile for a bit, because he's treading very dangerous ground.

I think you summed it up mate. I've heard things, many have... But that's it HEARD things, don't actually know things.
I reckon Mr. Olarenshaw would want be keeping a pretty low profile for a bit, because he's treading very dangerous ground.

Well i reckon Ben just found a source of income after his football days finish as if it's not true, the word litigation comes to mind.

Well all I can say is had better not be true or else Gale's credibility points earned to date will be back to zero for refuting such claims.

The point that he has been seen with his shirt off is laughable:o. Is there a rule where a player can't remove his shirt in public now?

Hopefully Cuz will play this week and respond to the claims with his footy.:thumbsu:

This is poor form by Ricky. Not sure why he has come out and said it - perhaps wanting to keep his foot in the door since his Channel 7 role is gone.

The excuse 'I'm only saying what someone else has - but I can't tell you who it was' is like b1tching at an all girl's high school.

When is the Ben Cousins madness going to end. Whether it's true or not, he's damned if he does and damned if he doesn't.

If it true its true, the real deal is that if Ben isnt going to be around, BIG ****ING DEAL!!!, when it comes to what and where this club is trying to head.
****ing sick of this BS, who gives a flying ****? there are bigger fish to fry than worrying about ********s like Olleranshaw and their 10 ****ing % commission. ;)

I reckon there is more to the story than the club is letting on. Now I know I am going to draw some heat on this, but Ricky Olarenshaw may well have some of the facts right. To me his "knee injury" sounds a bit suss to me. I'm calling "Where there's smoke there's fire" on this one, whether he's relapsed (which I doubt), injured or just not interested in playing AFL anymore, (I think the latter) I hope the issue is resolved quickly.

I feel worried for Cousins, because I feel there is something not right where's he at the moment. Just the feeling that I get

If it true its true, the real deal is that if Ben isnt going to be around, BIG ****ING DEAL!!!, when it comes to what and where this club is trying to head.
****ing sick of this BS, who gives a flying ****? there are bigger fish to fry than worrying about ********s like Olleranshaw and their 10 ****ing % commission. ;)

Coggs you're right in that in the bigger picture of the club, Cousins wont be there. But, the point of the thread is why would someone who has connections within our club (Daniel Jackson), come out and publically say what he said with no real validation. It defies logic. It's just a discussion thread (much like a Tambling thread;)).

my neice's boyfriend has a friend whose girlfriend knows ben (i am not making this up). He swears blind that he is back on the drugs. thing is, he is a collingwood supporter. there are rumours flying all over the place right now. might be nothing, but where there is smoke...

The think that has me stuffed is Gale has stated he's being tested 3 times a week. If it's true, how could he not be picked up?

That's the thing. If Ben gets back on it, it WILL get picked up. Ben would just quit. Gale has said he should be available this week and Ben himself said he should play this week.

That's what I can't understand either.when I got told all this a couple of weeks ago, that was one thing that led me to believe it far fetched, and the other was why would people have info on this and that yet nothing from the media?
I wouldn't be surprised at the retirement bit, but staggered by the other.

Last year the AFL stated that Ben will be tested, at the moment Ricky and co have no proof he is back on drugs. It' s just gossip to create a story and get attention. It's easy to sell a story if the media mention Ben.

Poor form from a player manager and "journalist" to start some gossip. They might as well work for Woman's Day.

Coggs you're right in that in the bigger picture of the club, Cousins wont be there. But, the point of the thread is why would someone who has connections within our club (Daniel Jackson), come out and publically say what he said with no real validation. It defies logic. It's just a discussion thread (much like a Tambling thread;)).

whatever has been said has been said....at the end of the day whatever comes out in the wash comes out. The club is bigger than anyone individual and especially in this case. He owes the club gratitude for giving him a chance, the club owes him nothing. ;)

i think you will find that the afl are abit more relaxed on the drug testing of ben this year it was 3 times a week last year not so sure it is this year, and there are certain drugs you can take to cover up other things taken. ben isn't in the right head space at the moment and i am sure people with their big mouths arent' helping the situation, i am sure this will be his last year playing. richmond are not going to come out in the media and tell anyone that he has a problem even if he does they will keep it very much inhouse. not sure whether the gf is back in perth or not, he seems to be abit more settled when she is in town.

Very poor form from Olarenshaw to go so public on this... HOWEVER... let's not be so insular that we discount the possibility as well.

Cousins last few months:
- Pre Christmas 'personal issues' & he had a poor week or two. Confirmed by Gale.
- 2 visits to hospital just prior to season with no confirmed cause. (gastro was never confirmed)
- less than 100% turn-out in game 1
- late withdrawl from week 2 despite training OK
- plenty of rumoured 'sightings' of Ben out & about

Lot's of smoke there!!!
To douse the flames he needs to be selected this week and play well OR his knee soreness needs to be properly diagnosed and a more detailed media release issued by the club.

Let me say that if it is indeed true that he's back on the gear and it's made public I will be filthy on the club for not sacking him immediately. Pretty sure this is a condition on his contract.

The comforting thing is he can't slip through the net given all the tests he goes through with the AFL. Don't stuff this up RFC.

Well i reckon Ben just found a source of income after his football days finish as if it's not true, the word litigation comes to mind.
you reckon? they may find for the plaintiff in a defamation suit, but there has to be material damage to one's reputation. Cousins made his bed. Finding for the plaintiff and awarding token damages of $1.

Let me say that if it is indeed true that he's back on the gear and it's made public I will be filthy on the club for not sacking him immediately. Pretty sure this is a condition on his contract.

The comforting thing is he can't slip through the net given all the tests he goes through with the AFL. Don't stuff this up RFC.
club owe him some duty of care. I would be more disappointed for them to throw him onto the street. Don't want him played, but don't want the club wiping their hands of him. They bought him, they own him, definite responsibility here.

you can get around drug tests. They are not infallible. Ask any Olympic athlete that makes the finals in his/her discipline.

:confused:I'LL ask you? You seem to be an Olympian of note and an expert on how to beat the testing system?????
Simple fact is more athletes get caught these days then ever before.
Watch how many get done in this year's Tour de France?
Beating the system, while not impossible, is not that easy and I know Cousins is tested routinely!! If he were to test positive again, he would be a first-class idiot!!