Ricky Nixon

• Thread starter Thread starter Quadzilla

In light of recent allegations I was wondering if we have any Players managed by Mr Nixon?

... I think choco was :D

From the media reports of recent times, one could allege that Ricky is bit of a pee-pot, dirty old man - is he a good role model for the young footy players that he manages?

This was raised with Rucci this morning and he responded that the players he had spoken with are prepared to stick with Nixon because he is a hard negotiator and gets them a few extra dollars. This rated ahead of any loss of cred by association.

What I want to know is what do Peter Costello and Ljubo Milicevic think of Ricky Nixon and football player managers?

rickynixon-player.jpg
SOUL+GLO.jpg

Funny thing is - Nixon manages Riewoldt, Saints defender Sam Gilbert, who had a relationship with the girl, and on-baller Nick Dal Santo.

http://www.news.com.au/national/ric...oto-scandal-girl/story-e6frfkvr-1226008461686

not to mention Gwilt, Gram, Raf Clarke, Baker IIRC and others. His association with St Kilda is large.

I reckon the only Adelaide based player would be Tambling, there are a number of Tigers players in his ranks, including DUstin MArtin.

In around 2005 and then for a couple of years, a bloke used to regularly call up the 3AW Sports show with Healy and Russell during the week. He would always have a go at Jeff Farmer. I reckon his words can apply to Nixon.

The caller would say something like - I've told you before Gerard, ordinary footballer, ordinary bloke!

Nixon, Pickering, Stevens etc. etc, all parasites.
These are the scum of the earth.

Stevens... Max? ... of SA Cycling?

if so, he's in trouble - check today's cow-mail ...

He lost licence after 12 demerit points then drove unlicenced, DUI ... serving another 12 months from March 1st. Seen driving work vehicle last week!

He is a player manager? doh! :eek:

Max Stevens was Ricky Nixon's Flying Start Adelaide office CEO for a decade or so. He was Nick Steven's manager when he stuffed up his trade in 2003. He was still Choco's manager in 2004. Some time in the 3 years after the flag, he and Nixon parted way. Nixon definitely negotiated Choco's contract in 2007 and put in the 30 June clause for his contract that ended in 2009.

What I find amazing is that the AFL allows conflicts of interest to run football these days. Having a player agent commentating on football matches is simply ridiculous.

Why do you find it amazing? The AFL is a mate, mate, mate, industry so there have always been and will always be plenty of conflicts of interest. Obviously the AFL don't reckon they are material conflicts like a court might.

You guys aren't seriously suggesting that managers commentating is possibly an illegal act due to a conflict of interest - where, how, why?

It's inethical and unpalatable, but not illegal in anyway that I can see.

I wasn't refering to Nixon and Pickering commentating being illegal, I was making the point that there are so many of conflicts of interests the AFL doesn't really care about most of them. The odd one might be serious enough to end up in court, but the AFL is so used to turning a blind eye to conflicts, it probably will miss them.

Anyway they don't have to be illegal to cause damage.

This is my number one pet hate in modern day football. Can't stand it!

If the AFL is going to allow it, I think each time it occurs the commentators should have to disclose at the start of the match which players are on their books...

Why do you find it amazing? The AFL is a mate, mate, mate, industry so there have always been and will always be plenty of conflicts of interest. Obviously the AFL don't reckon they are material conflicts like a court might.
Because it's as overt as it comes. IMO Liam Pickering (besides the fact that he's a highly negative and terrible commentator) calling football matches is plainly ridiculous. Old Boys Club or not the AFL continues to harp on about protecting the integrity of the game when they stand by and watch such things occur.

I'm not much a fan of most callers these days as they sit there in the boxes and whack themselves to past exploits and tell stories that I have no interest in listening to with no relation to the game at hand.

True, but you can't scrape the bottom of a barrel and call it a random sample.

If all player managers were required to be as squeaky clean as say, err, liquor licensees, would players get as good a deal on average or would it just be the outliers - the G Abletts and M Westhoffs of the world who get deals arguably over the odds - who lose out ?