Universal Love Ricky Petterd

• Thread starter Thread starter tigs2010

Lets not get carried away Newy must go as we have enough guys who can perform at the same level
We need to move fwd and keeping Newy is doing us zip . We get sucked in all the time with junk time ninth placed wins. We were a moral today and I financially benefitted from it ,but lets not get carried away as another season has gone to waste
Newy is no world beater at this stage of his career and can be easily upgraded

We need him. He is one of few with leadership, even if he does a Gia in 2015.

So to must we be too of an actual good side....

Sure you can laud your Petterd in a team that is 6 and 10. But then again, I want more than that.

I enjoyed the win. I was there. I celebrated with the few who turned up and it was a great performance. But the carry on is laughable.

The flower power sniffers are gloating like a Premiership has been won. This is the sad reality of a Tiger supporter. This, this meaningless game was a grand final for us.

Come back at me when we win a final. With Petterd in the best 22 and Hardwick coaching us.
Nobody is getting carried away.
People are just enjoying a few wins.
This is the thing I don't get.
You can't go from last week to a premiership team the next .
There are people at the club now and that's what we have.
Many won't be there when we becoming a truly great team (if ever) but they are here now and that's the way it is.
Some are absolutely thieving the oxygen at Punt Rd and the money we pay them.
Ricky Petterd is not.
He's doing the absolute best he can and a pretty good job of it.
To say he's not an AFL level player is a gross exaggeration Bob and you know it.
I find it highly amusing that many of the same posters( not you I'm not sure of your stance)who put so much shit on Petterd pull themselves over Miles.
Not a lot of difference there skill wise whatsoever.
You and I have seen enough shit footy for many a long year to know where we are at but I don't have anything but the highest amount of respect for someone like Ricky Petterd.

the best kicking efficiency? bulldogs, show me!
Oh man!!!
I knew you'd ask that.
I don't know how to!
Today's footy record has all the yearly stats.
He's at 71.2%
Cotchin 55.6
Martin 63.5
Ellis 67.1
Lids 69.1
The real telling one is Grigg at 57.4 that's horrible for an outside player.

We need him. He is one of few with leadership, even if he does a Gia in 2015.
Don't be gullible over a win
It's 2015 we need to think about
He was just ok today and seriously McDonough could do the same
Our leaders are now Martin lids cotchin Jacko and Chappy . We have to let go and think of the club first. Newman has been rewarded for his services we now need to progress otherwise history will repeat

Oh man!!!
I knew you'd ask that.
I don't know how to!
Today's footy record has all the yearly stats.
He's at 71.2%
Cotchin 55.6
Martin 63.5
Ellis 67.1
Lids 69.1
The real telling one is Grigg at 57.4 that's horrible for an outside player.

wow i stand corrected, he still pisses me off though...............and i was trying to find it on footywire.

Nobody is getting carried away.
People are just enjoying a few wins.
This is the thing I don't get.
You can't go from last week to a premiership team the next .
There are people at the club now and that's what we have.
Many won't be there when we becoming a truly great team (if ever) but they are here now and that's the way it is.
Some are absolutely thieving the oxygen at Punt Rd and the money we pay them.
Ricky Petterd is not.
He's doing the absolute best he can and a pretty good job of it.
To say he's not an AFL level player is a gross exaggeration Bob and you know it.
I find it highly amusing that many of the same posters( not you I'm not sure of your stance)who put so much shit on Petterd pull themselves over Miles.
Not a lot of difference there skill wise whatsoever.
You and I have seen enough shit footy for many a long year to know where we are at but I don't have anything but the highest amount of respect for someone like Ricky Petterd.

A lot are getting carried away.

I'm not interested in the people at the club now that don't make us a success when in the honest truth should never have been recruited in the first place. The recruitment of Ricky Petterd is the poster of what has happened that has gone wrong.

This emergency recruitment bullshit for the rookie list is everything that's wrong with Hardwick. Same with Thomas. They were never emergency players. Hardwicks fascination with hacks meant he wanted them but spun this crap to have them on the list and playing in front of more talented players.

Ricky Petterd offered up for trade would fetch us what? Exactly.

Don't be gullible over a win
It's 2015 we need to think about
He was just ok today and seriously McDonough could do the same
Our leaders are now Martin lids cotchin Jacko and Chappy . We have to let go and think of the club first. Newman has been rewarded for his services we now need to progress otherwise history will repeat

I understand and I've been saying it all year long. I just think having Newy around for another year over someone like Foley would be more beneficial.

Foley yes
Newy no if we want to pay him for a service he can do some assistant role
Read all the other match day threads to remind yourself as he's past it and is easily replaced with younger talent and new leaders
As I've said before ,"it's not that I love Newy less, but I love the rfc more"

I'm not interested in the people at the club now that don't make us a success when in the honest truth should never have been recruited in the first place. The recruitment of Ricky Petterd is the poster of what has happened that has gone wrong.

This emergency recruitment bullshit for the rookie list is everything that's wrong with Hardwick. Same with Thomas. They were never emergency players. Hardwicks fascination with hacks meant he wanted them but spun this crap to have them on the list and playing in front of more talented players.

Hawthorn recruited simpkin, Spangler and Cheney and ceglar delisted from other clubs , what do you make of that and I reckon petterd performances at senior Level has all of them covered

I agree he'd fetch a late second round at the very best probably third.
But so what ?
I guess I just view him differently to you.
I couldn't care less how he got to the club .
To me he shits on half the list.

Hawthorn recruited simpkin, Spangler and Cheney and ceglar delisted from other clubs , what do you make of that and I reckon petterd performances at senior Level has all of them covered

What about our other recycles? Thomas, Hampson, Banfield, Knights

Sorry buddy I thought the thread was about petterd and he was used as an example of hardwicks flawed recruiting policy , I stand to be corrected if the thread was not about petterd :drunk:

You said he outperformed any of Hawthorns recycles to back up our recruiting. I was just reminding you of other recycles we have

He's playing well, should be applauded for his game no doubt.

We weren't in Hawthorn's position, that's why it hasn't worked.

Just not true.
His kicks aren't pleasing to the eye but he doesn't kick it to the opposition that often at all actually.
Lot of 50/50's and kicks a bit too high but there are heaps of blokes that cough it up more than he does.

Just watched the replay...among other things I noticed better on TV than live was the intensity of RPs attack on the ball. Bone crunching.
Ultra impressive.

Comparing us to Hawthorn. Nice one. When we win two flags, or even one, or even get into a position to win one. Then talk about what they are doing in comparison to us.

We were in no way ready for the recruiting Hardwick put us through. If we didn't take Petterd, he'd be playing somewhere in the Sunshine coast.

I agree he'd fetch a late second round at the very best probably third.
But so what ?
I guess I just view him differently to you.
I couldn't care less how he got to the club .
To me he shits on half the list.

Late second or third? Laughable. Call some clubs and ask them what they would give us to take him off our hands. If laughter is not the answer I don't know football or the industry at all.

Wish all our players had a heart like his, the desire he has to make an impact on the contest is second to none and for that I'm happy to have him in the yellow and black keep playing and bleeding for the jumper ricky

Comparing us to Hawthorn. Nice one. When we win two flags, or even one, or even get into a position to win one. Then talk about what they are doing in comparison to us.

We were in no way ready for the recruiting Hardwick put us through. If we didn't take Petterd, he'd be playing somewhere in the Sunshine coast.

Late second or third? Laughable. Call some clubs and ask them what they would give us to take him off our hands. If laughter is not the answer I don't know football or the industry at all.
Like I said.
You and I have a vastly different opinion about it.

He was very good today and is building in confidence and he fills a role. Started in the midfield, and drifted forward and back at different stages. Won a really tough ball VS three PA players. I think he has earned his spot based on the last three weeks. I get the impression he has earned the respect of the players because he is fearless. I thing I noticed is that he ran into an open goal, but didn't celebrate with the cheersquad.

Actually Newman is best 81.7
4 of his 5 weekly kicks hit a target. :p

Can't deny he's a good kick. Would just be nice if we could use that to our advantage a bit more.

Ricky may not have the god given talent of a Ablett or a Judd (back in his hayday) but do you know what Ricky has in common with these to (as does Thomas)? They try their arses off each week no matter what. That is why Thomas and Pettard earn their spots in the side when they are fit. I think we need these roll players who are willing to go hell for leather each week. That is what King has done.

There is no point having a team full of Elites that are lazy or they view the game as just a "job". Success, in all walks of life, is really made from 90% hard work and 10% god given talent. I can tell you that Ricky gives us his all and that is all we can ask of him

Your response is a joke, if the premiership est an effective model that involves recruiting recycled players , that's called a precedent . Your argument is a hollow one as they have used it to advantage and won a flag.