jmain14

just thought I'd ask you boys what training drills you think work well. just that I have got a mate who has recently been appointed coach of a side competing in a nsw league and their first run in scheduled for this week and hence we're after a few ideas. any input would be appreciated. my personal fav's are the 5 star handball and the shuttle runs.

Kooley said:
kick to kick and circle work
thanks for that, don't think the league he is coaching is that strong although I think they may be more advanced than circle work. that's not to say that circle work isn't a good drill though. I believe it was one of wayne 'crowbar' williams' favourite drills especially on wet nights when he gets the players to launch onto torps. the torps, however, never seemed to hit their targets with the exception of ryan 'skita' anderson as he was apparantly pretty good at it.

.... and if they get bored with circle work Mainy, get 'em to go back the other way. Tell your mate to get himself a book of footy drills, they're all a bit hard to describe verbally without the ability to draw them .....

After an insipid flogging, have the group run laps. Twice per lap, place a ball on the ground 15 metres diagonally in from the left forward pocket. As the players pass the pointpost, call out a name - this player must run in and pick up the ball. The coach or gorilla assistant comes in 15 metres from the opposite direction with the big hip and shoulder - no foxing allowed from the player called.

Saw Blighty do this on a Monday night at Woodville (I believe he got it off Barassi) - I went home after at least half an hour of this. Blighty himself was doing the hip and shouldering. Another Blighty Monday night gem was the Findon Hotel. :D

ahhh training drills... I love em.. U gotta make sure u make them complicated so no one understands them... My favorite is groups on the four points of the square and then a group in each goal square... Kick on the diagonal to teh furtherest group on the point of the square, the opposite corner then runs past for a handball and kick to the goal square...

Then u can do all sorts of variations... Blokes getting front and square and stuff like that...

Basically just chuck some cones on the ground and see what happens :)

My fave goes as follows!!!!

...............(a) X ..............................(e) X

(b) X ..........................................................(f) X

(c) X ..........................................................(g) X

..............(d) X...................................(i) X

(a) Kicks the ball to (d) who leades towards (a) then (c) times his run to receive the handball off (d)...(c) kicks it the (g) who leads towards (c) and (i) receives the hands off (g) and kicks to (e) i think you get the point...

you'd need 4 per group however

ps sorry bout the dots, i dont know how to do it anyother way

Hope you can follow this :D

Six groups in an arc around one side of the ground. First group is in the goal square, second group near the boundary on the 50m line, next 4 groups spread out evenly with the 6th group about 40m out from goal at the other end. Then have a few in the goal square at that end.

Group 1 in the goal square kicks out to group 2 who lead across from the boundary. They play on and rather than kicking to the next group, kick past them to group 4. The 3rd group gets into position to take the handpass and kicks to the 6th group. Group 5 gets the handpass off 6 and kicks for goal. (As per usual, you go to the group you gave it to.) The group in the goal square at that end gets the ball, jogs up to the starting end before having a shot at goal.

Damm, it's so much easier to demonstrate the drill on the field than describe it with words. Plenty I could mention as I know many others could, it's just trying to describe them so you can understand them.

And don't discount circle work. It might seem like a simple drill, but you make sure you follow rules like only giving the ball to someone who calls for it, to make sure blokes are making themselves heard and demanding the ball.

Great tackling exercise, where you have to try to run past about four blokes separately,spaced around 5 metres apart. To add to the drill get a tape of Mike Whitney saying "Gladiator Ready" over the club's PA system before each turn

jmain14 said:
. . . don't think the league he is coaching is that strong although I think they may be more advanced than circle work.

So how did a guy who has someone else troll on BF for coaching drills get a coaching job??? I think we need to adopt this team - unless of course it's Richmond.

....................a....................

...c....................................e

...f.....................................b

.....................d....................

6 POINT HANDBALL OR KICKING DRILL

(a) h/balls to (b) who h/balls to (c) to (d) to (e) to (f) to (a) and so on ...

KICKING DRILL :

(a) kicks to (b) on lead to centre (space), (b) h/balls to (c) who kicks to lead from (d), (d) kicks to (e) on lead to space who h/balls to (f) and )f) kicks to lead from (a) and so on .....

works on front and squares, timing, kicking to space and man running diagonals and straight leads, vision, talk and shepherds .....

PS : very difficult to do these on this format Mainy, please do not post a thread similar again ..... other drills are too difficult to explain and/or draw on here !! :eek:

purple hills said:
Great tackling exercise, where you have to try to run past about four blokes separately,spaced around 5 metres apart. To add to the drill get a tape of Mike Whitney saying "Gladiator Ready" over the club's PA system before each turn

We do a drill of 3 blokes onto one... One has the ball, two block / shepard and the other has to chase and try to tackle the one with the ball..

One i used a long while ago was a very simple one involving circle work it only differs from normal in the fact that the person who kicks the ball then sprints to the person he kicked it to and tags him.A short burst off this tires players out if they are having a dip so you can easily pick out the bludgers for laps or sprints or both.
cheers :)