Toast Robbo, Yarran, Bower

• Thread starter Thread starter DamianBis

Dumb post.
Okay!

If you class yourself as a genuine football follower you'd have to accept that the ball movement of Carlton was dreadful. There was no direction and the fact that you initially claimed that your mob was playing "play on at all costs football" is laughable.
Err, that's exactly how play on at all costs football works out sometimes. Just turning around, wheeling wide of the mark and hoping for the best. Tonight it didn't come off. We wheeled around, or handballed to the runner, only for the runner to look up and see nothing.

I'm not sure why it's so hard for you to understand.

We were then under pressure and decided to chip sideways or backwards - rather than taking the time picking an option, working it up the wing a la Collingwood last night.

The reason for the dreadful ball movement was a lack of any options across Half forward, and when you did get there it was a kick in hope to the top of the goalsquare.
There were several reasons - not one. Our kicking was woeful from the outset, which lead to a drop in confidence, and resulting in less frequent leads, or leads without conviction, leading in turn to less space in and around the F50, meaning less options

If you class yourself as a genuine football follower you'd have to accept that several factors lead to this lack of options... Wow, that was really quite witty of me.

Sydney on the other hand moved the ball by hand very well through the middle and created their own space via the flood.
That's exactly what my previous posts have been saying. But why specifically quote parts of my post you haven't been able to understand?

wasnt that bad considering it was our first real game with new structures and what not.

if yaz snagged a couple more we wouldve won and we would be glossing over some of the ares we still need work in.

generally im happy with the way the boys looked tonight esp the younger ones.

bryce needs to cut his hair.

People are way too defensive on here. dontwant2baboer has raised a valid point. Our forward is pretty bad, so we need to get the ball ASAP.

Matthew Pavlich would do a better job in the forward line, by himself, than Carltons entire forward rank.
Pav would do so much better if he was not giggling at Frodo Ballantyne buzzing around like a mozi. Ans I am sorry but Pav has not exactly lead you to the promised land. We will be just fine!

What?

Again what?

Dumb post.

If you class yourself as a genuine football follower you'd have to accept that the ball movement of Carlton was dreadful. There was no direction and the fact that you initially claimed that your mob was playing "play on at all costs football" is laughable.

The reason for the dreadful ball movement was a lack of any options across Half forward, and when you did get there it was a kick in hope to the top of the goalsquare.

Sydney on the other hand moved the ball by hand very well through the middle and created their own space via the flood.

Finally the Swans have realised the benefit of pacey mids/hff, these players one out with space in front of them will be very dangerous, as we saw from Jetta's burst in the third quarter.

Carlton had problem kicking into their forward line because the crowd of Swans players back there ...only an idiot would not have realised Sydney had a huge flood going for most of the contest ..hence why they looked good running the ball back out of defence ..they had plenty of numbers to do so .
Carlton never handled the flood very well..i suggest you stick to the purple haze board where your lack of football intelligence won't be noticed so much .
The Swans will be a pretty solid outfit this year and will be just another of the sides that reguarly flog your mob .

Matthew Pavlich would do a better job in the forward line, by himself, than Carltons entire forward rank.

So what's his excuse at Freo? On the basis of your comment, Freo should have been playing finals throughout Pav's career. Perhaps they haven't because Pav has 'bombed' a number of match-winning kicks, including the one he hit the post with at Etihad Stadium a couple of years ago which allowed Carlton to win the game (he choked on match-winning kicks more than once that season & has continued to do so).

I heart Yarran.

That pick up in between two defenders and then the acceleration away from them was pr0n.

A shame he didn't convert, but geez, that kick on his wrong foot on the run makes him look like a southpaw and not a right footer.

Was that the play involving Garlett kicking to Yarran?

A quick kick to the likes of Henderson, O'hAilpin, Waite, Austin, Hampson and Kreuzer in space and a one on one contest with Yarran, Garlett or Betts snapping at their heels will put the fear of God into defenders.

The way I see it the improvement of Bower helps us in that he can take over from Waite in the backline, Austin can play back and Waite can go forward.

Browne: Jamo: Thorton
Russell: Bower: Austin

Gartlett/Carrotts: Waite: Betts
Yarran: Henderson: Hampson

:thumbsu:

Yarran's run down on Jetta that pushed the Swan off his kick was sensational.

Carrazzo is fitter, but couldn't catch Jetta.

Unlike last year, Yarran has some serious toe and the motor to support it when he has to go.

Yarran chased Heath Shaw hard last year, but only fell short by a metre and a bit with the last second lunge.

Clearly a lot fitter after an uninterrupted pre-season and no off field distractions.

Should get a rising star nomination this year.

That guy who kicked a grand total of 28 goals and won the goal kicking at Freo last season? You are aware that we have midfielders who approximated or bettered that in 2009, yes?

From the data in the first paragraph, one could rightfully say that Carlton's outside midfield is a better scoring option than the entire Freo forward line.

Food for thought. Indeed, I'd like to pull up goal scoring stats of our halfback line and see how it compares with Freo's forward line just for shits and giggles, but I believe my point has been made.

Have a nice day :)

I have to say Yarran looked great last night getting the pill, but he just seems to want to do too much once he has it. His kicking skills are usually excellent but he missed his set shot and only slotted the one at point blank. I caught myself thinking that maybe he wanted every shot to be a ripper and as a result put to much pressure on himself to kick it.

There's plenty of ways to interpret a player 'having proven' himself.
I think Bower has a few of these interpretations to tick off.

It's not difficult to know when the time has come. In the vast majority of cases a player has proven himself when he is rated outside the Club. Close followers of the game among Carlton ranks might get the scoop by a short while, but then again the same folk are a little prone to wishful thinking, too.

But hats off to Bower. I questioned his use of the ball in 2009 - an apparent lack of confidence to take or deliver the ball forward. Very different display from him this time around.

...only an idiot would not have realised Sydney had a huge flood going for most of the contest.

I suggest you stick to the purple haze board where your lack of football intelligence won't be noticed so much.
Tell me about it BM...

He doesn't notice the obvious contradiction in his posts
The worse your forwards are, the faster you get the pill in there
Very apt words for Carltons current situation.
So we didn't move the ball in there quickly, but an apt description of the situation on Saturday night would've been Carlton getting the ball in fast to our forward line.

Bizarre.

I'm still pretty confident to say we had a 'game plan' (whatever that is) or directive to think first to play on - not push back behind the mark. And watching the game again yesterday suggested as much to me. Yes, at times we just couldn't move the ball around and our gameplan went to shit - but that's to be expected this early on in the year, and perhaps with an oval that appeared quite narrow.

Anyways, I think that game style is pretty standard fare in most games nowadays, and something that really brings out the best in Bower, which the petulant purple pelican didn't notice was the main point of the post. But it really doesn't work against the flood. The flood requires patience to break it down, and numbers behind the ball as an insurance policy.

Robbo looks bigger and meaner this year. His attack on the footy is outright violent. Almost feel sorry for anyone in a one-on-one contest with Robbo, because you know there's going to be some serious pain. Just love the intensity he brings to the game, and this was a MASSIVE contrast to several other midfielders last Saturday- Carrazzo, Mclean, Grigg and Gibbs. Robbo has booked himself a Round 1 selection for the Bleakmond game.

:)

Really wished Yarran kicked that goal in the last, after outsmarting his opponent to get a relatively easy shot on goal. He's doing all the hard things with ease, but just not finishing off the easy stuff. When all clicks, he's the sort of player who can kick 5 goals in no time.

:)

Extremely hard to have an efficient game plan when you absolutely balls up so many kicks and drop so many simple marks.

Some of the disposal going forward on saturday night was akin to watching Oak Park 3rds. It was deplorable and had me shaking my head numerous times.

I'll put it down to the first real hitout but will be hoping for major signs of improvement over the coming 4-5 weeks.

I was really excited by what I saw of Yarran. Our key forwards are going to take significant time to click so Yarran is going to be a crucial cog in the set up. For all the crap Hughes has copped last year I for one would prefer to have Yarran on our list because our forward line is really going to need the unpredictability and talent that he provides.