Robbo's goal

Awesome for Robbo to get one last goal. Nice of Brocky to handball it to him. Also fantastic to see Wheatley get one more goal, a trademark 60m bomb on the run. And his big torps from full back were a delight to watch.

McLean would have been lynched if he hadn't handballed that.

Crowd was baying for it.

I loved those torps and the goal.

I said before the game that I wanted a Wheatley bomb from 60, a Robbo hanger and a Whelan spear tackle, preferably on Milne. We got one of them but the Robbo goal was great too. Whelan just went quietly about his business.

I feel sorry for Yze, White and Holland who got a farce of a send-off game last year in comparison.

I loved those torps and the goal.

I said before the game that I wanted a Wheatley bomb from 60, a Robbo hanger and a Whelan spear tackle, preferably on Milne. We got one of them but the Robbo goal was great too. Whelan just went quietly about his business.

I feel sorry for Yze, White and Holland who got a farce of a send-off game last year in comparison.

Whelan got a spear tackle.
Start of the last quarter.
wasnt his biggest but i still liked it.

Wanted Robbo to take that mark right at the end so badly.

Robbo went for a hanger with only three seconds left, & though he didn't get the ball it is perfect that his last act possibly ever on the football field was something he was originally drafted for.

And Wheatley bombing that 60m punt just had everyone nodding their heads.

Robbo went for a hanger with only three seconds left, & though he didn't get the ball it is perfect that his last act possibly ever on the football field was something he was originally drafted for.

And Wheatley bombing that 60m punt just had everyone nodding their heads.
Anyone else think it was entirely fitting that Robbo didn't end up getting anywhere near that last mark? :D

As good a mark as Robbo has been, his hit to miss ratio was always pretty low.

Anyone else think it was entirely fitting that Robbo didn't end up getting anywhere near that last mark? :D

As good a mark as Robbo has been, his hit to miss ratio was always pretty low.

his singing career is proof of that.

still would have liked him to take the mark but at the very least he got a final goal and his scarf collection grew today

I enjoyed seeing Robbo, Wheaters and Wheels but the real highlights for me today was putting a fiver on Miller for first goal :D

Definately brought a smile, paricularly in the manner Robbo and Wheats got their goals.

Wheatley was able to use his signature long kick, and watching the TV, the crowd cheered it early so it must of never been missing. And then the boys to get around him was awesome.

And for Robbo to be able to drill an easy one and embrace the supporters was great. Uncannily reflected the type of players they are I thought.

I was screaming at the TV 'GOOOO ROBBBBO!' Really happy McLean gave it off, was a nice moment and relief on his face was golden.

Thanks for the memories Russell Roberston

Too many people prefacing their comments with 'while watching on tv'!

Get out there and support em live gents! :)

Was a fitting tribute for Robbo and Wheatley- would've loved to have seen Wrecker absolutely SMASH someone (Milne as others have said!

The highlight of my day was when Milne tried to play on and missed and then the crowd started a "you are a w***er" chant. classic :D

Or when he tried to give the dummy to Bennell and got pinged? :thumbsu:

The highlight of my day was when Milne tried to play on and missed and then the crowd started a "you are a w***er" chant. classic :D

Yeah, that was awesome.

Milne was chuckling in the square when it started :D

Need footage of Milne "Your a w***er", Robbo's goal and Wheatley's bomb. The Melbourne crowd was awesome and really getting into it. It was awesome and great to be apart of:D

Hoping we keep that going next year - our crowd can be seriously LOUD when we want to be... even 20 of us behind the goals at the Gabba (and 10 of us on the wing at Carrara) were pretty damn loud ;)

I almost went through the roof when Wheata banged in that goal...

Hoping we keep that going next year - our crowd can be seriously LOUD when we want to be... even 20 of us behind the goals at the Gabba (and 10 of us on the wing at Carrara) were pretty damn loud ;)

I almost went through the roof when Wheata banged in that goal...

welcome back good sir :thumbsu:

Cheers mate - I've become a mod over at TAE during this time by the way, and will stay very active over there in addition to posting here. I'm using the same name over there.

Working up some juicy plans for those WCE fans and their hangers-on as well, along with a few of our other guys ;)

My resurgence on the Bay is yet to happen though... *grins evilly*

Or Brisbane ;)

Yeah... sometimes all I've got up here is the UStream - hope Freo does as well for us next year!

Tough from Perth champ.

Excuse accepted. ;)

Still irks me that we have tonnes of members, tonnes more supporters, 30-40 thousand odd MCC members who support the Dees and still get mediocre crowds.

I know we're bottom of the ladder etc etc but would love to see some of the passion from our fans shown last Sunday, doubled and coming from a bumper crowd!

Well I suspect we have a fair number of interstate/overseas fans too though 86, although not quite as many as North Melbourne.

Still, I know what you mean mate... we have too many bandwagoners for my liking at the moment, but hopefully that's a problem that will go away over time as our membership increases and our base in Casey grows...

Do you guys think that there is still a glimmer of hope for either Paul Wheatley or Russell Roberston getting snagged in either that national or pre season drafts?
I still think Robbo has something to offer, look how passionate he is. No offence but i reckon if he was in a good team at the moment/next year he would still be a gun. I understand your reasoning for moving him on but can't fathom how someone like Michael Newton or Brad Miller will be any more value, even if they are younger.
Sure, Robbo stuffed up a few times (on field) throughout his career, even as recent as this year v Hawthorn when he took the selfish approach after taking a ripper on 'Littlemans' head by playing on whilst lying on the ground... but hey that's Robbo!
What i don't understand is after sustaining a career threatening achilles injury last year and coming back after doing all that rehab and playing reasonably well, Dean Bailey sees fit to give him his marching orders and not even letting him get even fitter over the next pre season and keep him on the list even as insurance. Surely if you got 16-18 games out of Robbo you would get at least 40 goals and take some of the pressure off the likes of Watts, Jurrah, Aussie, etc.... and quite frankly i think that not having someone of his quality around the footy club anymore or as much will really test this current crop of young guns that the Melbourne Football club has coming through.
He and David Neitz held up your forward line for many a year and i really do hope that another club sees fit to give him another crack! The question is, will you as supporters feel upset or happy for him? Would seeing him in another clubs jumper really cut deep?
Cheers good luck next year.