Robert Walls

Goggin Our Best

Wallsy been in the news abit with the Dawson thing. Personally i think he is a terriffic commentator .

Multiple premiership player and coach -that gives him credability -bit like to listening to Nick Faldo and Johny Miller at the golf -both major winners etc.
Why i like Wallsy is i believe he is totally unbiased and everyone and every club is fair game -including Carlton . Sure he would love the Blues to do well -but he has got stuck in to them when they have dissappointed -and in Carlton games i have never picked up in the call that he is barracking for them
What i dislike about alot of commentators is that they have a conflict of interest -and as such should not be getting paid to commentate
If there were any ethics in football media the following would be sacked immediately
Jason Dunstall -will not criticise anything to do with Hawthorn -Clarkson -Kennet -the players -so why is he in the media -its ridiculous-total conflict of interest
Liam Pickering -manages several of the players -Kosi Buddy -Ablett so wont criticise them -should be sacked immediately
Alastair Lynch-another player manager -gave Merrett of Lions a tremendous rap in a recent game -guess what he manages him -
Bill Brownless -will not rock the boat at Geelong -not that theres much to rock at the moment -but to show im not a hypocrit -he has to go immediately as well.

Other commentators i like are Tony Shaw and Luke Darcy -both of them have got stuck into Pies and Dogs when they thought it was relevant to do so

i hate paid commentators who wont constructively criticise their former clubs -and player managers should not be in the media fullstop.

Walls doesn't commentate, he provides "special comments". Which largely consist of him stating play by play descriptions of what happened less than 10 seconds ago, and then proceeding to waffle on about some relic Carlton happening from the 70s. His strategy suggestions are limited to "give him a run in the ruck" and overall he contributes nothing to the call. Luke Darcy is a horrible barracker for the dogs and appears to have modelled his calling style on Kelli Underwood, and Tony Shaw seems to say the opposite thing to reality at any given time. Ironically Dunstall provides the least biased insight of any ex-Hawthorn player now in the media, unlike Brereton or Crawford, who are the most smug old boy's club getting around.

No strong opinions on any of the others, but Walls should retire from the calling business and stick to writing his directionless drivel in the Age where nobody has to read it.

Whateley is clearly the best commentator/ analyst in today's media (and I'm pretty sure that's not bias).

Walls has improved a lot in my eyes, maybe because he likes us now. He seems to genuinely admire the Geelong style of play and the direction the club is taking with or young player development.

I like Robert Walls

He really had it in for us a few years ago, and maybe took a bit long to recognise the quality of our team, but once the Cats won in 2007 he has been onboard

He is not a true hater like Tim Lane

I'm going to miss him

I loath Robert Walls as a commentator.

I'm biased but he so far up Judd's rectum it's ridiculous and takes every chance he gets to bag Ablett because he feels it threatens Judd as the greatest player in the game today.

He has a disliking for Geelong which irks me probably because we decimated Brisbane Bears with him as coach.

But more than that it's rare that he come out with a truely insightful comment. I think he is hands down the worst special comments commentator on tv.

I like Robert walls, I think he adds to the conversation / commentry. He is the sole reason I watch 1 week at a time. I also like the ch 7 commentry team (Mcavany and Commetti). They seem to have a good rapour and call without bias.

Cannot stand D Brererton (Stated the other week Buddy should get off for his elbow on Weller and Joel Corey should be suspended for his sling tackle because "Joel wanted to hurt him"). Too bias.

Bloke I really can't stand, Quartermain. Could not be more bias if he tried.

I like Robert Walls

He really had it in for us a few years ago, and maybe took a bit long to recognise the quality of our team, but once the Cats won in 2007 he has been onboard

He is not a true hater like Tim Lane

I'm going to miss him

Heard Tim Lane on 3AW radio yesterday proclaim that the Collingwood of 2011 is the most dominant team he has ever witnessed. When taken to task by Rohan Connolly that Geelong's 2008 home and away season was much more dominant in terms of wins and average winning margin, he dismissed it and stated that it didn't do them much good as they lost the grand final.

Flog.

i honestly don't mind walls either, or darcy or lloyd.

one of the things that sometimes gets under my skin is guys like Tim Lane expressing their opinions on teams and players on national TV when no one really cares. He is a play by play commentator and should stick to calling the game as it happens, leaving the opinions to the ex-players who actually have the "street cred" so to speak.

bias is the other thing that gets annoying too. The Eddie Maguire calling Collingwood games disaster was pretty obvious in the end, even to him and i was a bit disapointed in him as i honestly think he is a great commentator. scott cumming's s#!+s me on "the game plan" a bit with his allegiance to collingwood like he was actually a valid contributor there and i agree with the whole conflict of interest thing with the OP. I must admit Billy would sicken me if i werent a cats fan. he just comes across as an over the top cheerleader who is desperate for attention. off camera he's a great bloke as i've met him a couple of times but his whole act at times on camera gets a bit embarrassing.

I loath Robert Walls as a commentator.

I'm biased but he so far up Judd's rectum it's ridiculous and takes every chance he gets to bag Ablett because he feels it threatens Judd as the greatest player in the game today.

He has a disliking for Geelong which irks me probably because we decimated Brisbane Bears with him as coach.

But more than that it's rare that he come out with a truely insightful comment. I think he is hands down the worst special comments commentator on tv.

I thought I was the only one who thought like this. Because Judds' football talent isn't near Abletts he brings up shit like "he's the best leader", "he just wills himself to win contests" etc to make Judd sound better than he is.

Ablett> Judd, Walls.

Wallsy been in the news abit with the Dawson thing. Personally i think he is a terriffic commentator .

Multiple premiership player and coach -that gives him credability -bit like to listening to Nick Faldo and Johny Miller at the golf -both major winners etc.

Wallsy has been with a number of clubs, so I think it's easier to sound unbiased by that, but I think he's hit an miss, he has some valid comments, but also says some things which are wrong. How many times was he saying about Collingwood not being able to win a Premiership playing around the boundary, that was wrong. I still remember a game against Freo a few years ago and Walls was praising Thomas on his hard work where he was doing the 1 percenters, only to hear him say 10 mins later at half time say he needs to lift his game because he hadn't had a lot of possessions.

I think he's finally giving Geelong credit, because he can't avoid it, they are doing no wrong.

Not sure where you think Johnny Miller has credibility, if the players aren't American he's not interested, I think he lost credibility when he squibbed it off the US tour.

i hate paid commentators who wont constructively criticise their former clubs -and player managers should not be in the media fullstop.

Matthew Lloyd is #1 on my hit parade. Was so bitter about getting the boot from Essendon he spent all his time sniping away at Knights and feeding the media with information directly from the club. A horrendously overrated footballer who offers nothing to the media and sounds as though he's taken too many hits to the skull.

Paul Roos is the best of the commentary team...love the way he just get's a beer, pours it on the floor and proceed's to pot anybody that needs a good potting.

Walls doesn't commentate, he provides "special comments". Which largely consist of him stating play by play descriptions of what happened less than 10 seconds ago, and then proceeding to waffle on about some relic Carlton happening from the 70s. His strategy suggestions are limited to "give him a run in the ruck" and overall he contributes nothing to the call. Luke Darcy is a horrible barracker for the dogs and appears to have modelled his calling style on Kelli Underwood, and Tony Shaw seems to say the opposite thing to reality at any given time. Ironically Dunstall provides the least biased insight of any ex-Hawthorn player now in the media, unlike Brereton or Crawford, who are the most smug old boy's club getting around.

No strong opinions on any of the others, but Walls should retire from the calling business and stick to writing his directionless drivel in the Age where nobody has to read it.

Unfortunately I had to stop watching the sunday footy show because Brereton gives me the absolute shits!!
His plain obvious hatred for Geelong is just laughable at best. If any of the other panel members say anything positive about the cats he will shoot them down and go against everything positive said!!

Absolute bloody tool!!

Having said that, I dont mind Crawf as much. I think he does give a pretty unbiased opinion, its just that because of his schoolboy antics on the footy show it makes it hard to take anything he says as credible - even if most of the times it is!!

And back on Brereton, the way the smug w***er sits on that panel leaning back on his chair like everything all of the other panel members says is rubbish.

Still a tool..... :D

Unfortunately I had to stop watching the sunday footy show because Brereton gives me the absolute shits!!
His plain obvious hatred for Geelong is just laughable at best. If any of the other panel members say anything positive about the cats he will shoot them down and go against everything positive said!!

Absolute bloody tool!!

Having said that, I dont mind Crawf as much. I think he does give a pretty unbiased opinion, its just that because of his schoolboy antics on the footy show it makes it hard to take anything he says as credible - even if most of the times it is!!

And back on Brereton, the way the smug w***er sits on that panel leaning back on his chair like everything all of the other panel members says is rubbish.

Still a tool..... :D

I think you'd actually be hard pressed to find somebody who likes Brereton. I cannot stand his commentary, he's the master of stating he knew what the player was going to do after seeing it on a slow motion replay 'and you could see there he turned his head to the left to throw a fake and he's deliberately put his foot at that angle so as to turn the other way'....come on Dermie...

I like Bruce:thumbsu: Anthony Hudson:thumbsu: - Although in recent times doesn't seem as genuinly excited as he once use too, Dwayne Russell:thumbsu:, Brian Taylor:thumbsu: - Although will bring Collingwood into a conversation from time to time, Gerard Whateley:thumbsu:, Clinton Grybus:thumbsu: - Was an excellent commentator until his untimely passing, Frawley:thumbsu:, Crawford:thumbsu: - when he talks footy is pretty good to listen to, Aker:thumbsu: - Honest and no false bullsh** that we get from everyone else on tv. Grant Thomas:thumbsu: - Don't mind him although sometimes seems completely uninterested and at times....drunk:eek:

Hate Watson:thumbsd: - Has a dislike toward the Geelong football club for some reason?, Darcy:thumbsd: - Too busy giving Quartermain a HJ under the desk, Stephen Quarterbrain - Terribly biased and glad to see his squinty wrinkly ageing face get made fun of in slow motion from time to time:D, Walls:thumbsd: - Always states the bloody obvious and seems to think it's still the 1980's, Lloyd:thumbsd: - Not the most intelligent past footballer (made references to the Demons when the topic was totally irrelevant, Bomber wasn't too happy early last year),Tim Lane:thumbsd:, Michael Christian:thumbsd: - sometimes he sounds like he's gargling mouthwash and yelling at the same time, Dunstall:thumbsd: - Too false and would be an angry bloke in public, never criticizes Hawthorn, Dennis Cometti:thumbsd:, - Too busy cracking jokes & one liners instead of doing what Bruce McAvaney does and focus on the bloody footy! Shaw:thumbsd:, Gary Lyon:thumbsd: - Get's flustered whenever his footy club is attacked and you get the perception he thinks he's pretty important and must listen when he's talking, Caroline Wilson:thumbsd: - Too busy finding everyone's negatives rather than a person's positives.

Gerard whateley is the best. Unfortunately much of the bogan public would cosider him a nerdy ***.

Lots of people around the footy scene correctly regard him as 'nerdy'. Haven't heard the '***' reference before though. Nor have his wife and two kids I'd suspect.;)

A top line caller and a thought provoking writer and commentator on sport generally.