10k Posts
Crows cut rookies cut, upgrade Smith
1:10:38 PM Wed 8 September, 2004
Sportal
The Adelaide Crows have released three of the club's rookie listed players - Aidan Parker, Tim Hazell and Brad Dabrowski. All three will be eligible to go into the National Draft.

Matthew Smith has been upgraded to the senior list while Rowan Andrews has accepted a second year as a Rookie with the Crows.

In a prepared statement, the club has declared that it will make no decisions on its primary list until after the trade period.

Parker a bit unlucky I reckon. Seems to have done everything right in the SANFL since crossing to the Bays. Have not seen much of him play, can someone who has let me know what his weaknesses are as there are quite a few posters on this board with a high opinion of him?

And judging by the last paragraph, it looks at though just about everyone is on the trade table.

For heaven's sake...

We all agreed Parker should have been upgraded instead of second-chance-Skipworth in the aftermath of 2003, and after a very good (by all reports) season in the SANFL now he's cut from the rookie list and will go into the draft, probably to be picked up by Freo for a 4th or 5th round draft pick.

Another excellent decision by the powers that be.

Strange that we didn't even try Parker before delisting him. I gather the club has decided with the improvement of Smith & Rutten consolidating his place at FB that there was no need for him. Got the feeling that West Coast will pick Parker up & I wish him all the best at getting a crack at the AFL.

The Eagles have got Darren Glass who is coming along swimmingly as a fullback - I'd say Freo would be more of a chance to nab Parker late, especially with a slightly better draft order than WCE.

crows98 said:
Crows cut rookies cut, upgrade Smith
1:10:38 PM Wed 8 September, 2004
Sportal
The Adelaide Crows have released three of the club's rookie listed players - Aidan Parker, Tim Hazell and Brad Dabrowski. All three will be eligible to go into the National Draft.

Matthew Smith has been upgraded to the senior list while Rowan Andrews has accepted a second year as a Rookie with the Crows.

In a prepared statement, the club has declared that it will make no decisions on its primary list until after the trade period.

Parker ??? Surely they must be having a laugh??? Stiffy, now can you see why some supporters get peed off with this lot??

Fair dinkum, the only two questions now remaining about Matthew Smith are:

1. Which club official does he have comprimising photos of? and
2. With which farm animal?

SpringChoke said:
Parker ??? Surely they must be having a laugh??? Stiffy, now can you see why some supporters get peed off with this lot??

Goodluck to Parker if he in fact does make it in the AFL.

He's a bit stiff, but i think the correct decision.

I guess the question is, Parker or Smith???? I havent seen enough of them play to make an informed judgement on them...

SpringChoke said:

Maybe he just asked to go back to WA as I think this would be the only reason for the AFC to let go of such a promising youngster.

SpringChoke said:
I think people who have been here longer would say that I have been PRO Parker since last year. I thought he would make it and his improvement in transforming from a spoiling FB into a rebounding CHB has been astronomical.

However, he has had some weaknesses in his game that he hasn't improved it. He is still a tight checking, rebounding defender BUT one thing that he really needed to improve in was his disposal and decision making under pressure. When deep in the backline and under pressure he does some stupid things like kicking across the face of the goal to a 50-50 contest which results in a goal more often than not.

We might pick him up again in the draft. Whatever happens, best of luck to Aidan in where ever he ends up. I sincierly hope he makes it.

I agree with Kane, that maybe we saw Parker as surplus to our needs given that we have Rutten, Smith, Bock, McGregor and Bassett playing as tall dfenders. Add to that the likes of Hentschel and Stevens and you have more than enough options for tall backmen.

Stiffy_18 said:
However, he has had some weaknesses in his game that he hasn't improved it. He is still a tight checking, rebounding defender BUT one thing that he really needed to improve in was his disposal and decision making under pressure. When deep in the backline and under pressure he does some stupid things like kicking across the face of the goal to a 50-50 contest which results in a goal more often than not.
Surely those are flaws that can be ironed out with a bit more experience.

What's your take on Smith being re-promoted?

I can't believe people are making a big deal about this. I thought we wanted to see an end to mediocrity at this club. Parker is a guy who has been a rookie listed player for two years and has not improved enough to get a game, despite the fact that we played just about everyone on our list. He may be unlucky, but it's like debating the merits of having Skipworth on our list. It means nothing to the long term success of our club because neither will be around to see it anyway. If he was good enough to make an impact at AFL level, he would have shown more by now and been retained by us. The cream rises to the top. Honestly, it's no big deal. He was the 38th man on the list, not good enough to worry about.

I'm more concerned that we saw fit to retain Smith when he should be in the same boat.

DaveW said:
Surely those are flaws that can be ironed out with a bit more experience.

What's your take on Smith being re-promoted?
He has had 2 years on the rookie list to iron those things our. Now if he is making those sort of mistakes under pressure in the SANFL then imagine what he would be doing in a pressure cooker in the AFL.

Smith promotion was on the cards IMHO and if you talk to anyone at Crows and Sturt they will tell you that he has improved out of sight. Those involved with the club say that he is by far our most improved player this year. Worth a shot for a year. We will see if he takes another step.

IMO Parker was the stand out CHB in the SANFL in the second half of the season. Geez, I'd love to see him at the Bay next year but fear there's f'all chance of that happening.
I can only remember him kicking across the face of goal to a 50-50 contest that resulted in a goal and that was the norwood debacle.

Stiffy_18 said:
He has had 2 years on the rookie list to iron those things our. Now if he is making those sort of mistakes under pressure in the SANFL then imagine what he would be doing in a pressure cooker in the AFL.

Smith promotion was on the cards IMHO and if you talk to anyone at Crows and Sturt they will tell you that he has improved out of sight. Those involved with the club say that he is by far our most improved player this year. Worth a shot for a year. We will see if he takes another step.

hope you're right Stiffy - this is the first "promotion"/addition for 2005 and already I'm nervous. 4 years around a footy club (either main or rooky listed) is a long time without playing 1 game. Sure he has improved for Sturt - but as we all know this doesn't automatically convert to AFL success - see hodges,beinke etc etc
There is no question that the difficulties that saw Aiden transfer to the Bays midseason are still plagueing him - maybe they'll redraft with their lowest pick if he is still available

I am extremely ********ed off at hearing that Parker has been cut :mad: Not happy at all. Much better option than blokes like Stevens and Bock.

I hope he gets picked up by someone else and comes back and gets BOG everytime against us.

Definitely worth a spot on our list

I think we all know that we have a solid, promising backline. We have the likes of Hart, McGregor, Rutten, Reilly, Doughty, Hentschel, Bock, Basset, Torney, Begley, Smith, etc.

So perhaps, it was the right decision to delist him. It is the forward and midfield we must build upon, and I'm safe in saying that Parker would probably not fit into our team easily (bar injury).

However, the kid has a bright future and deserves to make it to AFL level.

And good luck to Hazell and Dabrowski in their future football endervours.

Mad Dog said:
hope you're right Stiffy - this is the first "promotion"/addition for 2005 and already I'm nervous. 4 years around a footy club (either main or rooky listed) is a long time without playing 1 game. Sure he has improved for Sturt - but as we all know this doesn't automatically convert to AFL success - see hodges,beinke etc etc
There is no question that the difficulties that saw Aiden transfer to the Bays midseason are still plagueing him - maybe they'll redraft with their lowest pick if he is still available

I can see where you're coming from, but SANFL success is a pretty good starting point also. Plenty of players haven't developed well enough to dominate at SANFL level and go to become serious AFL players. However if a guy is the right size, and going about his business the right way, SANFL success is not a bad place to start.

Also re: Hodges & Beinke, I am not sure I agree with yoru examples.
beinke had plenty of talent, and played some great games for us, injury seemed to be holding him back.
Hodges, turned into a bit of headcase, with plenty of distractions, but I will say this - no bad player has ever kicked 11 goals in an AFL match. I don't think he lacked for talent.