randy_stote

What do you think of Ross Lyon?

Personally I think he is an ordinary coach and a real flog

His comments about last nights game that the skills or lack there of kill them amaze me because I was at the game and thought that the skills were consistently bad by both teams all night and the fact that the saints where up by 20 points at ¼ time and playing better ATTACKING football should have been continued throughout the match. But it was not until the last quarter when west coast got in front before Ross decided to let the boys play the style that got them up in the first place

A worse human being?

Bit harsh. Of course a coach is going to focus on the errors his players make. Poor decision making and composure cost us last night and I'm surprised if he didn't mention it (haven't heard it).

I agree both teams made many sill errors but the Eagles were cleaner when it counted. They missed some easy shots too.

As for Ross, I don't doubt he can coach. I'd question some of his calls but for the most part i don't think you would expect more from a first year coach.

Well traditionally first year coaches don’t perform all that well due to the fact that they usually don’t get to coach a good playing list as the previous coach has been given the flick because of a or many poor years and this simply is not the case with the saints. Ross has one of the best lists in the league in my opinion and should have done a lot better

I was worried about 8 weeks ago with the ultra negative game plan.

I think it has evolved over the last month or so. We are a lot more attacking whilst not being too "OVER" defensive.

We need to get a full pre-season under the belts of all players. Get them to be able to run out the game. This fading crap they were at witnessing at this stage of the season is flat out disgusting.

What do you think of Ross Lyon?

Personally I think he is an ordinary coach and a real flog

His comments about last nights game that the skills or lack there of kill them amaze me because I was at the game and thought that the skills were consistently bad by both teams all night and the fact that the saints where up by 20 points at ¼ time and playing better ATTACKING football should have been continued throughout the match. But it was not until the last quarter when west coast got in front before Ross decided to let the boys play the style that got them up in the first place

If you think we weren't making terrible costly errors all night your mistaken. Something ring a bell like when Fiora kicked the ball in the third quarter. He was all on his own 15m out from goal, he kicked, straight to a WCE player. Goal.

Or something like the endless kicking mistakes players like Gilbert, Clarke were making; even when Dal-Santo ran too far and had his kick smothered. We had 10 more critical errors than WC (63-53), Every opponent Sam Fisher or Maguire played on kicked goals.

But the most damning fact is our effectiveness. This year at Telstra dome we've had 26% of our I50's converted to goals, WC had 30%. Last night, we had 53 I50's for 14 goals (Whaddya know, 26.4%) and WC had 51 for 16 goals (31.3%...Hmm).

Lyon is an unreal coach just look at those out of bounds kicks from the saints they where not good. He has had a hard draw for a coach first up SYDNEY and WESTCOAST played twice and we are 1n1 for both. If i remeber correctly they where in both the last to GFs.

Umpiring was poor in this game while generally being quite good for saints games up till now, maybe it was the Robert Harvey factor missing for us.

Fraser is not up to scratch he should have been the one to lay the big hits and get suspened to earn some more respect from players. He is not getting protected by the umpires while being more heavily tagged in the marking contest than any player i have every seen.

Fraser needs Milne to rove everything coming his way and he should be out on the 50 aswell.

In collingwoods game tonight a very heavy sheperd was laid on Matty Clark by Bucannen 7 weeks for Sydney now!!!!! the FOOTAGE IS VERY %$%^% CONVINCING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mate you should worry about your own backyard. Alistair Clarkson is the biggest wank in football. What has he done?!?!?! Nothing. Look how many poor years he has had, with a good list. Hooray, hawthorn actually became competitive! With a list of first round draft picks, it is about time!!!

Firstly i am not a hawthorn supporter but i do acknowledge that i am using a hawthorn supporter’s bigfooy user.
But as for first round draft pick the sainters had 9 running round on Friday where as the hawks had 8 today. And the hawks had a good list you’re kidding yourself, they had a terrible list that’s why they had three first round pick in the 2005 draft Roughhead, Franklin and Lewis.

Alistair Clarkson is not nearly as much as a flog as Ross Lyon. Lyon is smug, arrogant and treats the media with contempt when really he has nothing to be smug about. He got the position by default because of the disagreements between Thomas and Butters. He has taken and side that was beaten by 18 points in a elimination final after finishing 6th to one that’s looks to be a fast finishing 9th.

Grant Thomas should never have been sacked. Butthead should have sacked himself!!!

I have been a football club member for over 20 years, a social club member for 10 years, and have had a reserved seat ever since we moved to the Telstra Dome. I will not be re-newing next year. In fact, I will not buy a membership again until Butthead has left the St.kilda Football club.

Knocking on the door of the eight with horrendous injuries all year, went in to the game v WC without four of our best team (admittedly WC in same boat), just lost and now we've all decided Ross can't coach. A lot of people on this site are so short-sighted it's laughable: what really made me laugh was the "Xavier Clarke" thread. After the Sydney game where he was ordinary, everyone thought he couldn't play, should be delisted etc and then after his blinder against Freo the next week he was the bees knees.

After a shocking first half beset by injuries, we've bounced back well but under pressure we show the kind of brittleness that you'd expect from a team that's hardly ever played together and is getting used to a new game plan.

You people need to get online and order a big tub of perspective.

Grant Thomas should never have been sacked. Butthead should have sacked himself!!!

I have been a football club member for over 20 years, a social club member for 10 years, and have had a reserved seat ever since we moved to the Telstra Dome. I will not be re-newing next year. In fact, I will not buy a membership again until Butthead has left the St.kilda Football club.

I agree that GT should never have been given the flick, and I cant believe how Rod could make that call when he had personal issues with him, rather than rating him on performance. Most saints supporters have been very happy with the last 3-4 seasons, I dont think there are many that are happy with this year. Next year imo is do or die for Ross & Butters.

When we have something good, we seem to f*ck it up, shattering... sigh. Im sure we would of been up the top of the ladder with GT but I'll never know :(

All I know is Collingwood have to beat Adelaide friday night or forget about it.

Weak as water Nexus Helen:mad:

I've moved on re: Thomas sacking, however Nexus Helen has a valid belief which I know is held by others. That being that Butterss should be held accountable for his actions.

If we are to believe him, he sacked Thomas pro-actively to minimise the damage that may result if he wasn't up to the task.

The supporters are aware that there have been some bizarre circumstances resulting in harm to the club through points loss, players not protected and players victimised by the AFL penal process.

Rod Butterss has not stood up for the club firmly enough in many peoples eyes, and he has allowed us to become a victim of external forces. If he doesn't stand up for the club, the supporters and most especially for the players then we need to get someone else in who can and will do so !!!

Those who live by the sword often die by the sword.

The members must decide if his spineless leadership has been contributory towards our being bent over by the AFL. If they do then an alternate must be sought.

Weak as water Nexus Helen:mad:

You are an idiot panthers!!!! I am not as week as water. I have stuck with St.kilda trhough thick and thin....mostly thin!!!! It's that same old same old. Just when you think we have got the ship right and we are going to do something speacial, that's the precise moment when St.kilda will let you down.

We had the world at our feet at the end of 2004. We had it all....heaps of young guns, heaps of experience, we were at team that everyone acknowledged would be challenging Brisbane. Fast forward 2 years to the end of 2006. Butthead sacked the coach for personal reasons and the Saints will probably miss the top 8.

This is a similar pattern that has alway plagued the Saints. A pattern that would NOT have repeated itself if Grant Thomas was still our coach. I am too young to remember what Allan Jeans was like, but he must have been pretty good. Since Jeans, every time we have had a good coach, Sheldon, Alves, St.kilda have always gone on and sacked him. The next 4 years following have always seen the Saints crash down to the bottom of the ladder. Unfortunately I see this happening again. Next year we will be nowhere near the top 8.

Because of Butthead's personal vendetta against Thomas, he has cost us a premiership. He should be held accountable for this and dismissed asap. We need a President that will put his club first all the time, not just when it suits him. Rod Butters has destroyed the fabric of our team and I will not be buying memberships again until he has gone!!!!

If you think that is week panthers then so be it.

A lot of people on this site are so short-sighted it's laughable

I have to agree with fehring on this one. I for one am extremely happy with Ross Lyon at the helm. Up until the mid season break the side was playing terrible footy and it reflected in the results however i think we can attribute some of this to the vastly different game plans between Grant and Ross and we can attribute MOST of those results to the fact that we didnt have our 2 first line KP backs available (goose and Max). Since the break, quoting the commentators on friday night we are something like third on the ladder and have some real run and flair out of the back half. What I like about Ross Lyon as opposed to Grant Thomas is the accountability factor. Under Grant it was all out attack, which looks fantastic when you are playing a weaker side or a side that is playing into your hands, but as soon as you come up against a side which pushes numbers behind the ball we looked hopeless. Against Geelong last year in Harveys record breaking game last year was a perfect example.

This year i have seen the change to be a far more adaptable side and our defense has been shored up. Not to mention the improvement in Milne (who still has the occasional brain fade - but his options are vastly improved), fiora, Gilbert. We all know that Riewoldt and Hayes are stars, but if we are to win a flag it is going to come from improvement in these players

I have to agree with fehring on this one. I for one am extremely happy with Ross Lyon at the helm. Up until the mid season break the side was playing terrible footy and it reflected in the results however i think we can attribute some of this to the vastly different game plans between Grant and Ross and we can attribute MOST of those results to the fact that we didnt have our 2 first line KP backs available (goose and Max). Since the break, quoting the commentators on friday night we are something like third on the ladder and have some real run and flair out of the back half. What I like about Ross Lyon as opposed to Grant Thomas is the accountability factor. Under Grant it was all out attack, which looks fantastic when you are playing a weaker side or a side that is playing into your hands, but as soon as you come up against a side which pushes numbers behind the ball we looked hopeless. Against Geelong last year in Harveys record breaking game last year was a perfect example.

This year i have seen the change to be a far more adaptable side and our defense has been shored up. Not to mention the improvement in Milne (who still has the occasional brain fade - but his options are vastly improved), fiora, Gilbert. We all know that Riewoldt and Hayes are stars, but if we are to win a flag it is going to come from improvement in these players

You are delusional to say the least. We have gone backwards this year and in fact our gameplan is pathetic. You said that we are more accountable...that's BS. If flooding means we are more accountable then I would rather not be more accountable!!!! I would rather kick 16 goals every week rather than be more accountable.

Ross Lyon is a very shy person. Many of you don't know that and take it as though he isn't interested in his job. He in fact is doing a great job. You guys might play in finals next year if you guys don't have players getting reported and a shit load of injuries.

You are delusional to say the least. We have gone backwards this year and in fact our gameplan is pathetic. You said that we are more accountable...that's BS. If flooding means we are more accountable then I would rather not be more accountable!!!! I would rather kick 16 goals every week rather than be more accountable.
Harsh. No need to be rude about the coach. I would like to see your players not get themselves reported and/or injured.

IVe been a lot hapier with our game plan in the last 6 weeks ro so.

We have been trying to kick more goals nd be more offensive orinetated, whilst maintaining astrong work ethic anda huge amount of pressure on the ball.

A bit like the Swans (urgggghhh) when they decide to try and outscore an opponent. They can really turn it on every now and then before going back into their shells. We should be like that, the first part .. lol .. the free flowing style, but tight when we have too.

Wow - a long time between posts - great to have you back.

P.S. if you need any help to put your club (Saints) proudly in your profile, I'll gladly assist.

Thanks StKildonan ... I worked out how to put up my club. I think we all know that the world needs another StKilda supporters opinion :)

Although i hadnt posted in quite a while, I still have been an avid reader of posts and while i was a very harsh critic of GT towards the end, I do believe Ross Lyon is on the right track and success is around the corner. I think my optimism is based around the fact that i can see Ross actively trying to address areas that we as a club are/were lacking, whereas i felt the GT administration were turning a blind eye to such issues

Thanks StKildonan ... I worked out how to put up my club. I think we all know that the world needs another StKilda supporters opinion :)

Although i hadnt posted in quite a while, I still have been an avid reader of posts and while i was a very harsh critic of GT towards the end, I do believe Ross Lyon is on the right track and success is around the corner. I think my optimism is based around the fact that i can see Ross actively trying to address areas that we as a club are/were lacking, whereas i felt the GT administration were turning a blind eye to such issues

This is the sort of mis-guided blind faith that has made the St.kilda Football Club the worst performed club in the history of the game. One hundred and ten years of pathetic failure. Then in 2004 we had the best group of young guns ever assembled yet thanks to BUTTHEAD we have failed to deliver. I hope Nathan Burke challenges the board and becomes president.....then he sacks Lyon and re-instatesThomas!!!!!

Okay Nexus, I'm going to suggest a compromise here. Say Butterss and Lyon stay on. How many weeks do we have into the season until memberships can be taken? Is it, what, about ten rounds in? Assuming you don't take our your usual memberships right off the bat, well, what about waiting until those last few weeks - how many games would we have had to have won by then for you to think that Lyon is really worth getting behind?

This is the sort of mis-guided blind faith that has made the St.kilda Football Club the worst performed club in the history of the game. One hundred and ten years of pathetic failure. Then in 2004 we had the best group of young guns ever assembled yet thanks to BUTTHEAD we have failed to deliver. I hope Nathan Burke challenges the board and becomes president.....then he sacks Lyon and re-instatesThomas!!!!!

How is saying i see Ross actively addressing issues translate to blind faith? If anything it is the exact opposite. Anyhoo, I think you find constantly looking in the rearview-mirror will get you nowhere other than in a car accident. If we keep worrying about the last 100 years, we wont move forward.