Prediction Round 9, 2024: Changes vs Collingwood

Would love to see Hall get a run as I don't think getting smashed in the WAFL for another week will help him in any way.

Get him into a proper setup and see how he goes, can't be worse than Sheed.

Hmm so no standouts from the WAFL game supposedly apart from Edwards apparently did well in a position we don't need to replace.
Seems like a chook raffle to decide who comes.
Feels like we are at at 2023 levels with possibly gifting players games with far less injuries atm but with no real competition for spots.
In: Maric, Hall (for Simmo's sub experience), Dewar
Out: Long, Yeo, Waterman (if injured)
Johnston to start of course.

Would love to see Hall get a run as I don't think getting smashed in the WAFL for another week will help him in any way.

Get him into a proper setup and see how he goes, can't be worse than Sheed.
100% agree.

Reckon he would develop a million times quicker lining up with TK, Harley and co

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Out: Waterman, Yeo, Long
In: Maric, Hunt and a rookie - Dewar or Hall - doesn’t matter, they’ll be out as Sub either way and get 15 minutes of footy.

Johnston may as well stay in and start, actually see what he can do.

Also how s**t must Essendon be for us to serve up whatever that was and only lose by a goal?
Yet they just beat Melbourne who in turn just beat Cats, and Freo sit below them at #6, and we flogged them, go figure, a crazy mixed up ladder...?

Schoey interviewed Yeo after the game, he was still having a laugh and didn't sound too dejected so hopefully it's just something minor. Really need some others to start contributing on ball so all the heavy lifting isn't left to him, Reid and Kelly all the time
Yep, heavy lifting back on TK's shoulders again...but Yeo didn't seem too concerned, before the scans? But it is a concern you'd think going forward and given how bullish he's been in recent games, you wondered how long he can sustain that for without an injury recurring. We've been quite lucky with injuries so far....

Can we stop putting our best FB or CHB to FF. It's like digging one hole at one end of ground to fill it with another hole

Gov hasn't even been having set shot practice. He may come out with a score of 1 goal 4 behinds. Nor has he practiced leading as a forward which is different from defending.

There's nothing to indicate Gov would be an above average key forward which is the bare MIN we want as a return out of shifting out ELITE defender FWD

Can we stop putting our best FB or CHB to FF. It's like digging one hole at one end of ground to fill it with another hole

Gov hasn't even been having set shot practice. He may come out with a score of 1 goal 4 behinds. Nor has he practiced leading as a forward which is different from defending.

There's nothing to indicate Gov would be an above average key forward which is the bare MIN we want as a return out of shifting out ELITE defender FWD
Besides, in other threads there’s discussion about the dilemma of having too many KPFs. And who’s gonna have to miss out when Oscar comes back especially with Flynn pushing BW into the forward line?

That said, I reckon HR9 would make a great back pocket. 😀

Hard to know on changes just yet as there could be other players pull up sore - it was a pretty physical match and we looked pretty spent at the end of the game.

There’s also a couple of potential replacements who may or may not be available

Based on what we do know -

• Maric should be over his illness so comes in for Waterman
• Hunt, if fit, replaces Yeo in the midfield which would require a reshuffle of roles with Ginbey, or maybe Chesser, spending more time at CBAs
• Brockman looks the most like for like replacement for Long. Dewar another option.

That covers the forced changes but there’s other unforced changes that might be looked at
• Ryan I think they’ll persevere with despite two underwhelming return games so far
• Sheed probably also gets a reprieve due to the Yeo injury and no outstanding WAFL player pushing for selection
• Luke Edwards spent a lot of time at half forward. Wouldn’t mind seeing him as sub and give Johnston a full game to add some pace. Alternatively replace him with Trew and push Sheed to the high half forward role

Match committee will need to get creative this week to mix things around if we’re going to be remotely competitive with Collingwood

Edwards played well today. As Waterman is out, the suggestion of Gov to the forward line and Edwards down back might work.
Gov looks to be the rock that our attack is built in and critical to our defence. Enticing prospect but the cost is far too high. We need to be more creative. We have tall options. Maric should be available. J Williams is growing in confidence and needs to be persevered with. Can Harry act as a tall post to give the pies something to watch. Darlings grunt work is un rewarded but valuable in this mix.

Hunt for yeo
Brockman for long
Maric for waterman
Johnston for sheed

Gaff or sheed for sub.

Hunt goes back line.
Duggan goes middle.
Chess has more minutes inside with Johnston playing on the wing.

Whatever the forced changes are please for the love of God and things holy get sheed and witherden out of this side and ship them to whatever God forsaken country will take them.

Edwards in for witherden
Johnston in for sheed.

Hall sub
Play the kids and reap the rewards later