Ryder and Hille

Liverpool, Nashville predators
G'day guys, I'm curious to get your thoughts on what is going to happen next year (yes I realise you still have this year to worry about) when Hille comes back. Ryder has been a revelation in the ruck this year, whilst Hille has been a captain of your club and probably a tad stiff to not be in AA contention last year.

How are you going to manage these guys next year. Both seem to thrive on work and being numero uno. Both have the capacity to play elsewhere, but Ruck is their main position, and with a forward line of Hurley, Neagle and possibly Gumbleton, and your defence looks strong with Pears and Hooker, how are you going to fit these two guys in??

more to the point........... how is the rest of the comp going to stop us if they all get on the paddock, fit and firing !!!

Please Lord all that and a quality IM in the draft is all I ask

HOWZAT

Ryder to ruck mainly with Hille more up forward i think but swapping at times......Imagine brown trying to intimidate Hille!:P lol sorry i had to

I think it will allow us to use each guy as no.1 ruck in different games. For instance when playing Fremantle I would use Hille because he at least has a bit of size. If we were up against someone like Jolly than Ryder would be good to jump over him. It will stop Ryder tiring out like he has in patches this year.

TBH i'm still not sure which way i am leaning.

Hille is still obviously a far better all round ruckman than Ryder, however Ryder probaly has the edge in pure ruckwork. I'm not sure if Ryder would be too happy playing in the backline again so my guess is we will see a Ruck/forward rotation between Hille and Ryder.

This will equate to the most dominent Ruck combination in the competition but it's a pity we don't have another Ryder because i also love the thought of him playing as the 3rd tall defender down back. He was developed as a FB/CHB by playing on the best forwards in the game week in week out. Imagine how good he would become playing a Fletcher type role, taking the 3rd best forward, running off his opponent, and also being 3rd man help to help his mates.

A lot will also depend on how Hurley develops. I have a feeling he might develop into a star CHF which will mean he will be too important to play in defence. Maybe Gumby can become a CHB? Is Hooker good enough to carry the load over the journey?

There are still a lot of questions to be answered but it is very healthy having so many options/possibilities.

We just need to draft a gun mid this year and i know who i want. ;)

G'day guys, I'm curious to get your thoughts on what is going to happen next year (yes I realise you still have this year to worry about) when Hille comes back. Ryder has been a revelation in the ruck this year, whilst Hille has been a captain of your club and probably a tad stiff to not be in AA contention last year.

How are you going to manage these guys next year. Both seem to thrive on work and being numero uno. Both have the capacity to play elsewhere, but Ruck is their main position, and with a forward line of Hurley, Neagle and possibly Gumbleton, and your defence looks strong with Pears and Hooker, how are you going to fit these two guys in??

I'm wondering how Laycock can fit in. I reckon Dapto will have the answer though.

I reckon we can't forget about Laycock. He'll be used mostly forward, I think. And say Paddy starts back most games (esp. if Neagle/Gumby/Hurley/Laycock/Lloyd are kicking goals): we could have Hille as No.1 ruck - when he rests forward Laycock can go into the ruck; when he rests on the bench Ryder can go into the ruck. We'll always be competitive at the stoppages, and we'll constantly be stretching defences. And all that's with Paddy down back (with Pears, Hooker and a guy called Dustin).

Obviously I have no clue, but the amount of permutations is incredible - barring an injury year like 2009. An inside/outside superstar mid and more mental toughness (i.e. sticking to gameplan, winning the hard ball, etc) and the Bombers are certainly flying up again.

I think that Ryder is good enough to develop into a rover style role. Sort of like Adam Goodes. Hille and Laycock both have the ability to put forward pressure on as well (from the ruck or resting forward)

Next year will be a nice chance to enjoy having ruck options... unlike this year...

It is going to be a really fantastic dilemma to be in.

I think most of us thought the year was going to be an extremely long one from the 2nd minute mark of the 1st quarter on Anzac Day. David Hille has been/is one of my favourite players but this unfortunate piece of luck has really opened many other doors. He is our reigning B&F winner and was very unlucky to miss out on an All Australian rucking spot last year - his importance to Essendon cannot be questioned. However Ryder has developed in an enormous way in 2009 and it has been the turning point of his short career to date - so much so that he is nearly the most important player to the Dons chances and will be missed in our finals campaign, however short or long it may be. Bellchambers cops his fair brunt of criticism but people tend to forget he is still very young and raw and the exposure he has received at the highest level this year is going to be invaluable going forward as well.

I'm expecting Hille to play a fair share of his football in the forward line in 2010 and has proven in the past he is capable of kicking matchwinning bags of goals. And of course we forget Laycock - who really knows what we are going to get with him in 2010? It's fair to say it is going to be his final year at the club to show his worth so I'm expecting a big one when he gets back on the park.

Rucking pecking order coming into 2010 -

1. Ryder
2. Hille
3. Bellchambers
4. Laycock
5. Hooker (hopefully he won't have to pinch hit in the ruck EVER again - but he is there, just in case)

Bock still needs to prove himself on the big stage - whenever/if that occurs.

1. Ryder
2. Hille
3. Bellchambers
4. Laycock
5. Hooker (hopefully he won't have to pinch hit in the ruck EVER again - but he is there, just in case)

I would have the ruck pecking order like this (assuming fitness):
1. Hille
2. Ryder
3. Laycock
4. Bellchambers

I'm expecting Hille to play a fair share of his football in the forward line in 2010 and has proven in the past he is capable of kicking matchwinning bags of goals. And of course we forget Laycock - who really knows what we are going to get with him in 2010? It's fair to say it is going to be his final year at the club to show his worth so I'm expecting a big one when he gets back on the park.

1. Ryder
2. Hille
3. Bellchambers
4. Laycock

So after witnessing the rucking fiasco we have had to endure this season you reckon next seasons will be Laycock's last unless he steps up? Our ruck stocks are paper thin. Chook isn't going anywhere until we strengthen up in this department. Hille or Ryder go down again next season and we look shaky again. We really missed Laycock this season.

1. Hille
2. Ryder
3. Laycock
4. Bellchambers

So after witnessing the rucking fiasco we have had to endure this season you reckon next seasons will be Laycock's last unless he steps up? Our ruck stocks are paper thin. Chook isn't going anywhere until we strengthen up in this department. Hille or Ryder go down again next season and we look shaky again. We really missed Laycock this season.

Laycock has been on our list since 2003. He has averaged 8 disposals, 3 marks and 0.6 per game since then. Do you really think he has shown enough in that space of time that deserves another contract extension into 2011? I'm a subscriber to the 'big men take longer to develop' theory and I hope for his sake he can run riot in 2010 and really cement his spot in the side - but until that happens let's not rush into hasty decisions just yet.

Laycock has been on our list since 2003. Do you really think he has shown enough in that space of time that deserves another contract extension into 2011? I hope for his sake he can run riot in 2010 and really cement his spot in the side - but until that happens let's not rush into hasty decisions just yet.

Have you heard of a thing called list managment? On current form he does not deserve an extension but he will get ones unless Bellchambers dramitically improves or we find another ruckman elsewhere. The fact of the matter is he is still quite comforably the 3rd best ruckman on our list regardless of what you think about him.

Don't kid yourself Macca ... Hille is numero uno in our ruck stocks.

Ryder's impact this year has been from centre bounces and that's it as far as rucking is concerned. Anything else he's done has been around the ground as a drifter in a kind of free role. His impact will mostly be in the air as a link up player through the middle, as a target up forward or loose man in defence (a la Fletcher's aerial dominance).

What if we were two have both of them at stoppages with Hille bodying the ruckman and Ryder then jumping up as the third ruckman, we would win alot more hit outs to advantage than the other team and we could have one of them push forward in general play as they are both dangerous around goal. This would mean Ryder could play as another midfielder, if he can get his fitness base up i cant see why he couldn't be as he is athletic enough, good skills, has a defensive side, fast and would hurt in attack.

As somebody mentioned previously Hille cannot be expected to be at peak fitness until perhaps the middle of next season so Ryder will again be expected to do a majority of the rucking work, hence I have placed him at number one in the rucking order for 2010.

Ryder's 'position' if Hille returns to peak form next year is going to be fascinating.

ACL's are very very cruel injuries to do... I only hope that Hillie is 75% the man he was last year. If not then I think Ryder will become the no 1 ruckman.

If Hillie can recapture his brilliance, then I would like to see Ryder ruck roving. I have suggested this before, & Duckworth mentioned it now - that he's got a great capacity ( tank needs to grow massively ) to be Goodes like in the way he plays. He could also play 3rd man up as Bombersrbest05 suggested. We could then play main rucks in Hillie & Laycock along with sub rucks Ryder & Hooker.

Both Hillie & Laycock can take a good grab, so either can rest at FF / HF / CHF along with Neagle/Hurley. Or they can fill space in defence in front of the FF.

Didn't Adelaide's play a 3 ruck system for part of the year... Tippet, Maric & some other guy.. any one know who that was ?

A lot of what we do will depend on both Hillie & Gumby recovering from injuries.
If both recover well then I think we should play like this;

1. Hillie
2. Laycock
3. Ryder ( if 1 & 2 is working then he can ruck rover or replace either as needs be )
4. Belchambers
5. Hooker ( only if we have too )

This could mean that Ryder would actually be our main ruckman again. I hope not as I think he could have a bigger impact as a ruck rover, centreman given a license to thrill & kill

IMO ryder is our best ruckmen at the centre bounce and hille is our best around the ground. But overall hille is a better ruckmen.

Laycock will need to regain confindence after missing so much footy. you keep him on your list though cause hille wont be here forever.

Belly is doing a reasonable job at the moment but if you consider his age.... you'll never know what to expect from him. He may just have one of those years where he explodes in to a quality ruckmen like Hille did last year (hopefully he wont be injured the whole next year as hille is this year). I was really looking forward to seeing how Hille would back up last years purple form this year, but it wasnt to be. However its been good seeing Ryder's development. :thumbsu:

What if we were two have both of them at stoppages with Hille bodying the ruckman and Ryder then jumping up as the third ruckman, we would win alot more hit outs to advantage than the other team and we could have one of them push forward in general play as they are both dangerous around goal.

A few problems with this:

1. Teams would quickly figure this out and send their own 3rd man to compete with Ryder.
2. As said by many, Hille may not be at full fitness and needs to gradually work into games.
3. The chance of getting injuries to one or both Ryder and Hille with this tactic is higher than conventional rucking.
4. It seems a bit of a waste. Hille (providing he gets back to where he was) is not just a big body, he is a smart and skilled ruckman. To use him purely to outbody an opponent is not using his full potential.